We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Welcoming, knowledgeable, helpful hosts”
Review of Fernhill House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fernhill House
Ranked #4 of 12 Tramore B&B and Inns
California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Welcoming, knowledgeable, helpful hosts”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

If you envision an isolated historic house perched on a cliff overlooking the scenic beach and lively amusement area of Tramore, this isn't quite what you are picturing. It is a contemporary house in a contemporary neighborhood from which you can glimpse the sea in the distance from Rooms 1 and 2. But if you envision modern and comfortable rooms, each with its own en suite, and hosts who have lived here awhile and think carefully about how to help you enjoy your stay, then this is going to make you very happy. They greet you with tea and maps and good ideas about how to make the most of your time here. They feed you a delicious breakfast and give you a good send-off, even offering to come fetch you if you get lost. It's kinda like going to visit family.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ImpulsiveTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    9
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
28
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Fernhill House is owned and run by a very good couple. everything is quiet planned and they are very courteous and helpful. breakfast was also amazing and would love to come back again. tramore is small town but you have got lot to do over there......

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aggarwal007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantwich
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

After booking no confirmation was sent although this was requested twice. This made the house very difficult to find! The landlady's knowledge of local restaurants was out of date and although we were offered tea and cakes when we arrived she sat and talked to us throughout about where we could walk to even though it was a very wet evening! The bedroom was good but the en -suite was extremely small in the roof space. Breakfast was satisfactory but we were not offered pancakes which had appeared on all our other B&B menus. Also the decor was looking tired in many areas. This will not be a place that we will be returning to!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Minicooperdogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna072, Owner at Fernhill House, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
This booking was confirmed by phone. Directions to Fernhill are clearly displayed on a number of websites - www. Fernhillhouse.com/Booking.com/B&B Ireland & Discover Tramore to name but a few. The co-ordinates are available on those sites so there is no reason to be lost.

Fernhill is one of the few B&B's who treat their cusomers to complimentary tea & coffee on arrival or at any time during the course of their stay. Looking after our customers is always our main priority and we take the time and trouble on arrival to greet each guest personally, serve refreshments and provide local information/maps etc. This is usually viewed as friendly, helpful, personal service and in the 17 years that I have been in business I have never had a customer complain that it was intrusive. The comment about the rain is clearly ridiculous and doesn't deserve a response.

Fernhill is known for the high standard of its breakfast with a very expensive fresh fruit salad, salamis, cheeses, smoked salmon and scrambled eggs, kippers, omlettes and the more traditional Irish breakfast as well as a range of pastries/croissants/scones, freshly brewed coffee and fruit and herbal teas. This is a standard breakfast for Fernhill and only varies slightly from day to day to avoid boredom for long-stay guests. We don't serve pancakes unless specially requested. They are in fact a cheaper alternative to what we do serve. The novelty of B&B's lies in the difference and individuality of each establishment.
I note from other reviews that this customer chose more commercial, expensive type operations for her stay rather than the more family orientated type of B&B we run. One was a hotel and one a 5 star B&B. Our last four reviews from BOOKING.com customers have all been 10/10 which puts us in the EXCEPTIONAL category. We are happy that we deliver high quality customer service at reasonable prices to all our guests but are aware that unfortunately, we cannot please all th people all the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the establishment. Our hostess, Ann, was gracious and attentive to every detail. The rooms comfy, clean and the beds provided a good nights sleep. The breakfast prepared by Ann is all you could ask. Ann provides all the directions, details and even rides if needed, for the areal. We will definitely stay here again.
Thank you.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daquitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Extremely clean and comfortable B&B with very nice breakfast options. The owners are friendly and welcoming, offering helpful local tips on amenities and things to do in the area. Tramore is a good base from where you can explore the Waterford coast. The B&B is located a 15-20 minute walk away from Tramore itself in a quiet housing estate, but has pathways all along the route.

Room Tip: We were offered a room with a sea view which was lovely to wake up to
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoldieOShea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013 via mobile

First B&B experience and very impressed. Traveling with family and wanted new experiences. Great location in sweet ' hood. Fantastic and so glad we skipped another "Marriott"-not that there's anything wrong with that.

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kimbrahay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Cork, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 September 2012

stayed here with my boyfriend, on arrival anne greeted us and showed us our rooms, which were really modern and very cosy. Anne showed us a map of Tramore and was extremely helpful and very welcoming.The breakfast was really nice and the scenic views were fantastic. not far to walk to the beach. we really enjoyed our stay here and would defiantly recommend to anyone staying in Tramore. Best B and B have stayed in by far.

Room Tip: Great views from each room..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cally C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tramore
0.8 mi away
O'Shea's Hotel
O'Shea's Hotel
#2 of 4 in Tramore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
1.0 mi away
Majestic Hotel
Majestic Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tramore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
7.9 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Sands Hotel
The Sands Hotel
#4 of 4 in Tramore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cloneen Bed & Breakfast
Cloneen Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 12 in Tramore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.0 mi away
Glenorney by the Sea
Glenorney by the Sea
#1 of 12 in Tramore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fernhill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fernhill House

Property: Fernhill House
Address: Fernhill 14 Newtown Hill, Tramore, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Tramore
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Tramore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Fernhill House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Fernhill House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing