We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hairs in my food - avoid this place!!!!!”
Review of The Sands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Sands Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Tramore
Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

Went for dinner here and walked into the restaurant. No one in there which is never a good sign! Restaurant was dirty, tables needed a good wipe and floor needed cleaning too! Looked like if hadn't been cleaned in days! Gave it a chance and ordered lasagne. Went to bathroom and again the toilets were filty! As I was washing my hands a member of staff walked in to check the toilets. She just flushed the toilets and walked out again - despite the obvious fact the place was in need of a deep clean!! When I sat back down I actually said to my partner I hope the food is ok because this place is disgusting! Out comes my food with two hairs on it! Plate also wasn't clean! Waitress didn't really acknowledge it and barely mumbled an apology. On way out I asked had the manager been informed and she said no just the chef. She told the manager and he was so rude and arrogant! A warning to all avoid this dirty hotel!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Maryi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (70)
There are newer reviews for The Sands Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2013

I visited Tramore in August & had a meal there & also visited the bar in the evening for a social night out. I have to comment on the service.the waitress service was fantastic & very obliging as were the bar staff. Paul the bar manager couldn't do enough to please and would defenatilty recommend for a great night out. Keep up the good work its great to visit Ireland & receive such a great service

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

My family and I stayed at this hotel during the summer in July. When we first entered our room it was very nice, although I decided to have a peek through things. As I went to have a look in the drawer in which there was a cigarette. I suspected it to be Weed. Although things got worse throughout the night. After I came home from the swimming pool and went to have a nice hot shower the water seemed to be cold. When we went to sleep we constantly heard people downstairs in the bar that were drunk and the nightclub also. This made it very hard to get asleep. The Fire alarm also went off once or twice which alarmed me although there was no fire.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Yasmine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Stayed in this hotel on the 15th & 16th August for a short break. Have tried for years to book into this hotel but was always booked out in August. Last year it was closed down completely which was a great loss to visitors to Tramore. It only reopened 3 months ago and i presume we only got the booking because everyone thought it was closed. The room we got was a double and for Euro 75 per night was very good value. Breakfast was not included. We did have breakfast which we paid for seperately but would skip it next time. Have breakfast in O'Sheas.The Sands is very central to everything and I would recommend it. The night we arrived we were warned about the noise of the disco but the rain was so bad and the wind so noisy we didnt hear a thing. will stay there again

Room Tip: We stayed in room 319 which was on the 3rd floor. A spacious room with sea views.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clairemarkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Its great to see Sands Hotel open again to the public. This has been a favourite haunt of ours for many years. We just keep going back for the great service, and friendly staff.
Bar food is excellent value. Music on weekends in the bar with a great athmosphere. Great location, and a very helpful owner. Well done to The Sands Hotel. Keep up the good work, and hopefully the sun will shine soon.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank planner108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2010

Tramore is a beautiful friendly place and fantastic beach but I stay in The Sands hotel regularly. I keep going back there because of a lot of reasons. Its friendly down to earth staff is the jewel in its crown, once you go to check in a girl Steph is welcoming and friendly and you go to the bar and regular barman Steve is a great personality behind the counter and you would never feel like your on your own sitting at the bar Once you visit once they will remember your name and always make you feel welcome. It has a lovely resteraunt and 2 bars and a modern trendy nightclub which would be a massive venue in a major city all under one roof so you never need to leave the the premises. Its location is perfect only minutes from shops, ammusments, and beach. A lot of the staff are long term so customer service is consistantly at a high standard and the manager Ann-Marie is always very friendly and helpful. Would totally reccomend this hotel to stay wether its business or pleasure and is family friendly

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DerekSull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2010

I had room 318 this year which is situated right over the nightclub so you won't get any sleep until 2.00 am at weekends so beware of this. The hotel is however good value for money with excellent bar food and friendly staff. I would have preferred a better choice on the breakfast table including some fruit and yoghurts however the full Irish however is hard to beat.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank roseoftramore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tramore
0.1 mi away
O'Shea's Hotel
O'Shea's Hotel
#2 of 4 in Tramore
195 reviews
0.1 mi away
Majestic Hotel
Majestic Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tramore
305 reviews
7.0 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Viking Hotel Waterford
Viking Hotel Waterford
#9 of 12 in Waterford
510 reviews
7.2 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,347 reviews
7.2 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
1,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sands Hotel

Address: The Sands Hotel Strand Road, Tramore, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Tramore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Tramore
Price Range: £82 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Sands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Irish Sea, The Sands Hotel is just 100 metres from the beach. An en suite bathroom and TV are included in each room at The Sands Hotel, and some feature views of the sea .Food and drink can be enjoyed in the on-site bar, which features live music on weekends. Waterford city centre is just 11 km away and the Comeragh Mountains are less than an hour’s drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Hotel Tramore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing