We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place in Ireland”
Review of The Sands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Sands Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Tramore
Cork, Ire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best place in Ireland”
Reviewed 5 August 2010

Tramore is a beautiful friendly place and fantastic beach but I stay in The Sands hotel regularly. I keep going back there because of a lot of reasons. Its friendly down to earth staff is the jewel in its crown, once you go to check in a girl Steph is welcoming and friendly and you go to the bar and regular barman Steve is a great personality behind the counter and you would never feel like your on your own sitting at the bar Once you visit once they will remember your name and always make you feel welcome. It has a lovely resteraunt and 2 bars and a modern trendy nightclub which would be a massive venue in a major city all under one roof so you never need to leave the the premises. Its location is perfect only minutes from shops, ammusments, and beach. A lot of the staff are long term so customer service is consistantly at a high standard and the manager Ann-Marie is always very friendly and helpful. Would totally reccomend this hotel to stay wether its business or pleasure and is family friendly

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DerekSull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    16
    4
    3
    19
See reviews for
30
19
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
southampton
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2010

I had room 318 this year which is situated right over the nightclub so you won't get any sleep until 2.00 am at weekends so beware of this. The hotel is however good value for money with excellent bar food and friendly staff. I would have preferred a better choice on the breakfast table including some fruit and yoghurts however the full Irish however is hard to beat.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roseoftramore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2010

Had a wonderful stay in the sands was told on arrival that food was still been served, have to say food in the bar was excellent, We had room on the 3rd floor big room bathroom a bit small but spotless. Breakfast was served till 10.30 so was able to have lie in. Brekfast was lovely and plenty on plate and nice and fresh . Male served us very plesant . Went for a walk around beautiful beach went up the town and out to the new tesco. Arrived back to hotel to watch rubgy match sat beside a lovely open fire what more could you ask for . Also music their that weekend. If i had to complain it would be that no ramp at doors and think a menu at breakfast saves asking what they have.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovelylaoise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2009

Wow what a great experience. From the minute we checked in to the time of our departure, the hotel staff could not have been friendlier. The food was fabulous with an amazing carvery which is great for the kids as you can have your dinner immediately. They also did great bar food aswell and the Sands bar is very relaxing and very family friendly, however I would recommend this hotel for anyone - couples, families, it caters for everyone. Well done thanks for making our holiday so very enjoyable we will be back again soon

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SBGvoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ennis clare
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2009

great value for money , something for everyone attractions/ family shows for kids as well as bars nightclub and restaurants for older generations , would highly recommend

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janeclare68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
1 review
Reviewed 20 April 2009

I stayed at the Sands for two nights at Easter. The hotel is close to everything and is ideal for families as splashworld and amusments are on your doorstep.
I dont rate the food here, breakfast was left each morning and we had dinner on the first night and it wasnt the best so Id eat out if I stayed again. The staff were helpful and pleasant in particular the young lad serving breakfast. Oh request that you dont get the room that has the air con fans outside as you can hear the noise from these ! the receptionist was willing to move us but the other room was tiny and was all that was left so we decided to stay and bear it.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl24Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 February 2007

Lovely people at the hotel. Rooms clean and modern and the hotel is right next to the beach for walking (in the winter anyway!).

Thorougly recommend staying here.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank landpEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tramore
0.1 mi away
O'Shea's Hotel
O'Shea's Hotel
#2 of 4 in Tramore
191 reviews
0.1 mi away
Majestic Hotel
Majestic Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tramore
291 reviews
7.0 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Viking Hotel Waterford
Viking Hotel Waterford
#10 of 12 in Waterford
496 reviews
7.1 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
1,130 reviews
7.4 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sands Hotel

Property: The Sands Hotel
Address: The Sands Hotel Strand Road, Tramore, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Tramore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Tramore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Sands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Irish Sea, The Sands Hotel is just 100 metres from the beach. An en suite bathroom and TV are included in each room at The Sands Hotel, and some feature views of the sea .Food and drink can be enjoyed in the on-site bar, which features live music on weekends. Waterford city centre is just 11 km away and the Comeragh Mountains are less than an hour’s drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Hotel Tramore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing