We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“food at nellies”
Review of Durty Nelly's

Durty Nelly's
Ranked #5 of 12 Restaurants in Bunratty
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$34
Cuisines: Irish, Seafood, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Durty Nelly’s is one of Ireland’s most famous pubs and offers a truly unique Irish experience through its history and character. Often copied but never replaced, this truly unique piece of Irish heritage dates back to 1620. Enjoy the craic agus ceoil at the world-renowned Durty Nelly’s where we offer live Traditional Irish music every weekend, host festivals all year ’round, and even welcome a few celebrities on occasion!Durty Nelly’s is famed for our extensive and great-value menus in The Bar, Loft & Oyster Restaurants. Whether it be a quick bite or a special meal, our top-class chefs will cater to every taste and budget, providing an unforgettable dining experience.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Atmosphere good Service good Ordered a bowl of chowder fish soup very disappointed Tasted absolutely awful.Thin soup without any vegetables and no choice of fish For anyone who wants to know Chowder is a blend of vegetables and fish .Not in this case

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Wander57658825029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DurtyNellys1620, Manager at Durty Nelly's, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you wander57658825029 for your recent review. We were disappointed you didn't enjoy your chowder , if you had told a member of staff we would have changed for you . Our chowder is normally full of fresh fish we do apologise if yours was not . We do appreciate feedback and hope you will return again
Durty nellys

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,031)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 13 of 2,031 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Loved this old pub. First visited 50 years ago, then 20 years ago and the only thing that has changed is the sawdust missing from the floor.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank SUSAN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DurtyNellys1620, Manager at Durty Nelly's, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you Susan m for your recent review. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit . We do appreciate feedback and look forward to your next visit
Durty Nelly's

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2018

Very casual, down to earth and accommodating. When I say casual I don't mean unattentive, quite the opposite, service was prompt and efficient, but in a familiar way, like we were regular customers of the pub, and food was great pub food. The atmosphere of a true country pub, with all the banter, and the typical characters found in good pubs around the world

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank allancamer0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DurtyNellys1620, Manager at Durty Nelly's, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you allancameron for your recent review. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit and enjoyed the friendly service and great atmosphere.we do appreciate feedback and look forward to your next visit.
Durty Nelly's

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2018

Great atmosphere one of our favorite little places. Stopped in after the medieval dinner at Bunratty castle it was a cozy, friendly feel with good drinks and good music. Everyone in there was friendly and sung along with the music made you feel very welcome. Had a great bartender named John he was a lot of fun and even got pictures with us what a good sport! He gave us drink recommendations gotta try the american slammer if your ever there! Good times in a nice little place.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
Thank kcorb96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barrymca6969, Manager at Durty Nelly's, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2018

Thank you kcorb96 H for your recent lovely review. We are delighted you enjoyed your evening and friendly service. We will pass your kind words to John .We do appreciate feedback and look forward to your next visit.
Durty Nellys

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2018

Seven siblings and mom and dad walked into Durty Nelly's for a quick lunch before hitting Bunratty castle. They were very accommodating to such a large group and we were seated straight away. They were also handicapped accessible and able to accommodate a wheelchair which was wonderful. The service was very friendly and the food was excellent. I had my first Irish Coffee here. YUM! Our server Angela managed our large group like a rock star even bringing over a surprise birthday dessert for our Mom. Thanks for making our Irish visit such a joy.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TammySA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barrymca6969, Manager at Durty Nelly's, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2018

Thank you Tammysa H for your recent lovely review. We are delighted youand your family enjoyed your lunch and friendly service we do pride ourselfs in customer care , we will pass your kind words to Angela.We do appreciate feedback and look forward to your next visit.
Durty Nellys

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Durty Nelly's also viewed

Bunratty, County Clare
Bunratty, County Clare
 
Bunratty, County Clare
 
Newmarket-on-Fergus, County Clare
 

Been to Durty Nelly's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing