We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE BEST B&B I HAVE EVER STAYED IN!”
Review of Bunratty Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bunratty Villa
Ranked #12 of 23 Bunratty B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York, New York, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“THE BEST B&B I HAVE EVER STAYED IN!”
Reviewed 17 July 2013

My wife and I are from New York City and have taste for expensive restaurants and hotels. We traveled around Ireland in March 2013 for 10 days staying at Bed and Breakfasts along the way because this is what was recommended by many people (Which seemed odd because we always make reservations in advance). We had a Rick Steve and Frommers guide for Ireland to help us along the way as we traveled throughout the country and have taken their recommendations for Bed and Breakfasts and I can say that this B&B was far better than the one's recommended by them with the highest stars.
The location is excellent if you want to see the Bunratty Castle. The Castle had a banquet dinner in the castle which was a great experience ( How many times can you say you had dinner in a castle?) This Bed and Breakfast was the closest one to the castle and seemed very nice from the curb appeal. We passed this location and kept driving for about 5-10 minutes to see if we found any other B&B with a nicer curb appeal and did not. There were about 100 B&B's on that road.
We stopped in and the owner Phyllis is a nice elderly lady who stated they were not open for the season yet but will open up just for me and my wife. She was very sweet and showed us her rooms. Her B&B was METICULOUSLY maintained! The rooms were of good size and comfortable, all with their own restrooms and yes they were very very clean! The towels and linnens were extremely soft, clean and luxurious which I have not seen in any B&B. The B&B we stayed to prior to this, the towels could cut you they were so hard.
Phyllis and her daughter Jackie were so sweet, Jackie made fresh scones for my wife because she knew she liked them (We told Phyllis the night before). The restaurant was very quaint and lovely. Phyllis did the cooking and the food was absolutely Delicious!!!. These were some of the nicest people we have met and I would go back to Ireland and keep Bunratty as our main resting area just for this Bed and Breakfast! I assure any traveler that they will be satisfied with the hospitality, rooms, food and service they receive from Phyllis and Jackie!

Room Tip: A room facing the rear of the property was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    16
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
54
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
528 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 294 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

The location of Bunratty Villa means that you need your car to go anywhere as it is a very long walk to the town where the castle and restaurants are located. The setting is rather bland with no garden as such. The double room was a good size and the shower was larger than normal for Ireland. Breakfast is generous and excellent. This family owned and run business is clearly focused on delivering a quality guest experience. We were looking for directions to a laundrette in the town, and next thing we knew our laundry was being taken care of by the family. When we returned from our sightseeing we found that small wet items of laundry left to hang in the bathroom had been put through the clothes dryer.

Room Tip: We had room 1.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avidtraveller195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edison, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Of the 6 B&B’s we stayed at during our 21 days in Ireland Bunratty Villa will have the most memories for us. We picked Bunratty Villa because it was close to Bunratty Castle & Folk Park and a good choice it was. We were greeted by a mature Woman who turned out to be one of the Owners Mothers, she led us to a room out front that had a king size bed, we told her the room was nice but we weren’t crazy about the bed, she then led us to the rear of the building and showed us a room with a regular sized bed and we agreed it would be fine. Upon opening the curtains we found out that our room faced a large Horse Ranch, it was a lovely view. After we finished unpacking we went to check out the Guest lounge and met Jackie who owns Bunratty Villa with her husband Jack, the older woman we had met earlier was Jackie’s Mother, Jackie then brought us a Pot of Tea and Cookies and we had a nice sit down, Jackie is the type of person who makes you feel instantly at Home. Upon arising the first morning we opened the curtains and were greeted by about 8 Horses and a Foal, when we were in the room we would watch the Horses out in the field. The Breakfast room is spacious with a large Buffet with cereal, fruit, yogurt, very good coffee, there was a Menu on the table listing what was available in a hot breakfast and contemporary Irish music playing softly in the background, Bunratty Villa served probably the best Muesli that I have ever had, lots of nuts and seeds in it. On one afternoon while we were staying there we came on around 3:30 in the afternoon and decided to sit in the Guest with our Tablets and read some email, we were there about 15 minutes when Jackie popped in and asked if we were going to be here for a while and we said yes, she disappeared and came back with a Pot of Tea and Chocolate for us, it was such a nice treat and we felt spoiled. On the day we checked out Jackie told us that her Mother wanted to say goodbye and we had hugs all around. What a great experience.

Room Tip: Ask for Room #4, it has a Regular Size Bed, is away from the rest of the rooms and has a great view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cong, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

My wife and I usually stay in a local B&B and when we called they did not have a room and recommended The Bunratty Villa. It was right down the street. We called and they did have a room available. When we arrived we met Jack the owner. He was just right down to business but at the same time very warm and friendly... He got us settled in and was also chatting to other guests at the same time so they didn't feel neglected. He was a good multitasker... Well done Jack. In the morning we had a great breakfast and I the 2 ladies that served us were great 1 was the lady who answered the phone for us the day before and again very warm and friendly... service...must run in the family... Great Irish hospitality... Thank you Penny from the other B&B for your great recommendation!!!

Room Tip: All rooms were great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skydiver18000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

Lovely accomodation. Very clean and very comfortable. The owner was very welcoming and friendly and along with other family members made our stay a delight. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble for them. Great selection and food quality at breakfast. No hesitaion in reccomending this accomodation

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 56789190757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2012

We had a lovely stay at Bunratty Villa, the owner was so welcoming and friendly and made us feel at home straight away, nothing was a problem and helped us with the information we needed.
We had booked to go to Bunratty Castle medieval buffet dinner ( which was fantastic) and even though it was just down the road, another lovely lady who worked there, drove us because it had started to rain. So nice. We were leaving early the next morning, before breakfast was served, but they left everything out for us so we could help ourselves because they did not want us leaving without having breakfast. Recommend highly, very comfortable, beautifully furnished, and very friendly.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindymac1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012

We booked the night before our morning arrival so we could go to bed after our flight from Boston. This B&B was very comfortable and the breakfast was excellent with many choices. Very quiet spot as well. Would definitely come here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cherylsid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bunratty
0.5 mi away
Bunratty Manor Hotel
Bunratty Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bunratty
407 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bunratty
1,417 reviews
6.8 mi away
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Dromoland Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
3,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Oakwood Hotel
The Oakwood Hotel
#2 of 3 in Shannon
804 reviews
4.7 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Shannon Airport
2.3 mi away
Shannon Springs Hotel
Shannon Springs Hotel
#3 of 3 in Shannon
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bunratty Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bunratty Villa

Property: Bunratty Villa
Address: Low Road, Bunratty, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Bunratty
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Bunratty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bunratty Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing