We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worst choice of accomodation in terrific area”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bunratty
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Castle Gardens Holiday Homes
st. charles, Iowa, USA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“worst choice of accomodation in terrific area”
Reviewed 13 May 2011

We just returned from a stay at Bunratty Castle Gardens Townhouses arranged through Sceptre Tours. The price was good and the accomodation was clean and that is it for any positives about this particular accomodation. The host, Joan, was rather brusque when we arrived tired from an overnight flight and the place is veyr difficult to find within the welter of lodgings near the Castle. There is no adequate signage for the reception building for Castle Gardens and we learned after finally finding it and moving in that the posted hours for the staff are subject to change with no notice.

This is the only place I have stayed in 30 years of travel where we had to go to the reception office and request a hair dryer as Joan 'checks them out' we were told. We shared the dryer among us in the 3 BR/3 Bath cottage.

If you stay here, bring your own tools as the coffee maker and t.v. did not work and we finally had to transfer a fuse from the microwave to the coffee maker plug to get that working. Although fewer than half the townhouses were occupied we were told when we requested two ooffee makers for our group to accomodate those who can only drink decaf, that it is strictly one maker per unit. We were also frustrated by the fact that there were no clocks of any sort in the townhouse.

There was adequate hot water and the location is very good, near Shannon airport and within walking distance of the Castle, good shopping and three pubs with good food. Staff were friendly at all the surrounding establishments.

Herme010

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hermes010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    15
    0
    3
    1
See reviews for
18
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2011

Joan the receptionist is fantastic. She went the extra mile time and again. We had a 4 BR cottage with every modern convenience. We had a package from Sceptre Tours so I do not know how much we paid for the 7 nites. The entire package from Boston to Shannon/Dublin with self drive was $1,800. The Bunratty area has several pubs/restaurants that are all quite good. The only negative I can post is that staying here for 7 nites meant many miles of driving everyday. By 11 pm we were exhausted and could take take advantage of the music and craic available at Durty Nellys. Wish they had a chain of cottages throughout Ireland. Safe, quiet, great beds. Just too much round trip traveling time.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mochilero2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2011

We traveled there last week with my mom, 65, and two children, 13 and 10. When we were trying to find the place, we went ot the old hotel, which is closed down and several windows broken, and were frightened. But the townhouses behind were very nice and a good price fo rthe week. Three bedrooms all with a separate bath, and a full kitchen with washer and dryer. The beds were nice and there was a TV with several stations in the living area. Quiet, easily accesible to lots of great things, and great to be able to stay in pne place with a family instead of repacking every night at a different B&B.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulietheCruiseDir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Plaines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 April 2011

I would rate this place between poor and average. If there were a "Not Great" option, that's what I would choose.
Value was good. You get what you pay for.
Cleanliness-just OK. There were cobwebs everywhere. Maybe we were the first there for the season?
Location-Bunratty has a castle and two pubs. Not a whole lot to do there. Our window faced a closed down and clearly broken into hotel. WIndows broken, weeds, etc.
Rooms- Hanging out with a group of 6 would be tough as the living room/dining room combo is probably 8x15. The kitchen didn't have a coffee maker or paper towels/napkins. When they say this place is self-catered, they mean it. If they expect people from other countries to come, I thought that they ought to provide a phone, coffee maker and perhaps a hairdryer? When the description said vacation home, I thought they would have at least what a hotel would.
Sleep Quality: AWFUL. Springs popped whenever I moved. Sore back after trip.
Service: When we arrived no one was at the reception desk. The manager seemed rushed and we didn't feel "welcome" after a long 24 hour journey. We were handed the keys and given some brochures. That's it. Our manager did come to the door an hour later to see if we had any questions.

Bottom Line: It's all about expectations. If you want a cheap place to stay with no frills and at least a 90 minute drive to everything, stay here. I would recommend staying at B&Bs during your travels. Next time.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keclm28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somersworth, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2011

We stayed at the Bunratty castle gardens townhouses with 12 friends, we found the staff (Joan) very courteous and the townhouses were clean, very reasonably priced and we all enjoyed the area.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Henbone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2010

Our first trip to Ireland began in a sweet townhouse in Bunratty Village Castle Gardens, close to Shannon Airport and home base during our week-long automobile tour of western Ireland. Our townhouse, which slept six, was clean, with comfortable beds, soft sheets, and warm comforters, and a kitchen fully equipped with new appliances, including dishwasher, small refrigerator, and washer/dryer – a necessary perk because we pack little and wash lots. In Bunratty, we mingled and sang with the locals over a Guinness at Durty Nelly’s Pub after a terrific salmon dinner, had dessert and great Irish coffees there another night, and did most of our shopping across the way at the well-stocked Blarney Woollen Mills – for ourselves and for all those people back home we wanted to remember with tokens from our trip. One of the best parts of the Bunratty stay was the lovely and responsive proprietress, Joan, whose cheery and helpful demeanor couldn’t have been more delightful and who managed the village – and our stay -- with efficiency and charm. The same day we arrived, we visited the Cliffs of Moher and the village of Ennistymon. Each day after, we headed south to visit “K” towns – Kinsale, Killarney, Kenmare – staying overnight in Dingle to explore the entire peninsula, and made a day trip north to Galway. The trip was short, but our memories of the thousand miles of countryside we traveled are long. Thank you, Joan, for making our trip such a success. And thanks, Dooley Vacations, for the travel package we booked through www.travelzoo.com. We’d do it again.

Jakki Savan and Jeff Young
Denver, Colorado
October, 2010

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jpyslc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 September 2010

I stayed here in August with my family and we throughly enjoyed our stay.
The location was excellent just 5 minutes walk to Bunratty Castle.
We stayed in 1 of the 3 bedroom houses which was very clean, all mod cons. The living area was a little small for the 6 of us but bedrooms were big with 3 bathrooms, so everybody was happy. The staff were very nice on check-in & the housekeepers called to our house the following day to see if all was ok. We wil definitely be returning next year, the rate was great.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ducksCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bunratty
0.2 mi away
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bunratty
1,414 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bunratty Manor Hotel
Bunratty Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bunratty
405 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Oakwood Hotel
The Oakwood Hotel
#2 of 3 in Shannon
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Courtyard
The Courtyard
#1 of 23 in Bunratty
254 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gallows View
Gallows View
#9 of 23 in Bunratty
129 reviews
0.5 mi away
ParkHouse Bed & Breakfast
ParkHouse Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 23 in Bunratty
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Gardens Holiday Homes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Gardens Holiday Homes

Property: Castle Gardens Holiday Homes
Address: Bunratty Shannon Shamrock Hotel | Limerick-Ennis Road, Bunratty, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Bunratty
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Bunratty
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Gardens Holiday Homes 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
Castle Gardens Holiday Homes Hotel Bunratty

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing