We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Convenient”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bunratty
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Castle Gardens Holiday Homes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

My husband and I and two of our daughters (ages 24 and 17) visited Ireland in early July. The Bunratty was part of out vacation package and I must say it turned out to be a wonderful place to stay. Don't let first impressions turn you off. When driving in the place looks deserted. Our townhouse was very comfortable. Having 3 bedrooms and 3 bathrooms gave us all of the space we needed. And it was nice having a kitchen and living room. It was clean and the management was very accommodating. The manager even checked on a day trip to the Aren Islands for us. The location was perfect for us in keeping the driving to less than 2 hours each way for the sights we wanted to see. The beds were comfortable and I especially liked being able to open my window at night.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travel 05 mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2011

We are staying here now. It's great. I agee with all the recent positive comments so I'm not going to re-post. It is very clean and close to Shannon, and restaurants. We especially like that after long day of touring we can always eat here. Sometimes we just didn't find a place for dinner because we didnt want to randomly stop. We knew we had Durty Nellys, JP clarkes, Gallaghers and the Creamery here. All are a 2 minute walk away. The short walk is nice too after sitting in the car for a few hours. The food is great at all of them and there is something for all eaters-even picky ones.
Tips: bring a wash cloth-they supply towels but no wash cloth
Laundry washer is very small like 1 jeans and 3 t-shirts per load
They supply dish detergent, sponge and 2 loads of dishwasher and laundry detergen
They dont supply a blow dryer. They did supply a coffee pot. You may want to bring your own coffee.
There is a food store nearby by car. Not a huge selection but we are spoiled in America.
Could not find paper towels, napkins or paper plates! We did survive.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be the same. We were in the far back. It was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sbhalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2011

i totally disagree with all of the negative reviews. the townhouse is a great value for the money. we went in may with another couple who had kids. it was a really great central location in western ireland ideal for day trips to the north or south. the townhouse was very clean, comfortable and modern, and the reception folks were lovely and very accommodating. ok so the showers were a bit small but so what, obviously this is not a 4 star resort but the price does not suggest that it is! i really do not understand all the negative reviews at all. my only complaint is the loud crows that live in the trees at the closed shannon shamrock hotel next to the townhouse complex. there are also 3 nice bars within walking distance of the townhouses as well. great place to stay with family as the bunratty castle park is right down the street. we very much enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to a friend.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elizabeth33ellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2011

Two adult couples stayed in one of the 3 bedroom townhomes. We knew in advance to bring our own hairdryers and toiletries. We also knew we'd have to do some shopping to get the kitchen basics (paper towels, coffee, filters, wine, beer, etc.). Have to admit that finding the place took us a few minutes extra, but remembered reading from another TA member review to look for the "red door" - wah lah! After we checked in, I believe it was Elaine (?) who came over and walked us through the townhome and how it functioned. We asked her for a coffee pot and she graciously brought one over for us to use for the week.

The townhome fit us perfectly. We used the top two rooms for sleeping, the bottom room for luggage storage, coats, extra shoes, etc. We also spent long days driving but the fortunate part was the days were long (didn't get dark until 10pm) so we were able to stay out and enjoy the country more. We loved the living room area, as we were able to play cards on the table, spread out maps, plan the next days trip, all with either a cup of coffee or a cold glass of wine/beer. We also had free WiFi - which was a plus for emailing friends/family, planning the next day's adventure, etc. The refrigerator and dishwasher worked great, though I have to admit the washer/dryer combo was new to us (what do you mean it washes AND dries?) Had never seen such a thing. Convenient though.

Townhome issues were minor - the shower faucet came off early in the stay, we stopped by the office on the way out and mentioned it. When we returned that evening, it was fixed.

One thing to keep in mind, and it's just more of an awareness. The doors are locked (by key) either from the inside (at night before bed) or from the outside (when you depart) and are quite tricky to figure out the locking. Inside at night, just be aware that if an emergency happens (and the door is locked), you won't be going out the doors. Just be aware of it and plan out your escape prior. Just a tip.

We enjoyed the townhome, it was quiet, though towards the end of our stay, we noticed the townhomes filling up more. The pubs were definitely walkable - and all offered good food, good drink, and relaxation. The Creamery is a nice place to eat fish/chips, JP Clarkes is a more modern type pub (good food), Durty Nelly's is fun but can get crowded and is definitely touristy. The rundown hotel in front is unfortunate, but never did we feel unsafe - in fact, we cut through their parking lot many times to get to the pubs.

All in all -- nice above average place to stay -- worked great for the 4 of us --

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brit63izzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2011

We just returned from a stay at Bunratty Castle Gardens Townhouses arranged through Sceptre Tours. The price was good and the accomodation was clean and that is it for any positives about this particular accomodation. The host, Joan, was rather brusque when we arrived tired from an overnight flight and the place is veyr difficult to find within the welter of lodgings near the Castle. There is no adequate signage for the reception building for Castle Gardens and we learned after finally finding it and moving in that the posted hours for the staff are subject to change with no notice.

This is the only place I have stayed in 30 years of travel where we had to go to the reception office and request a hair dryer as Joan 'checks them out' we were told. We shared the dryer among us in the 3 BR/3 Bath cottage.

If you stay here, bring your own tools as the coffee maker and t.v. did not work and we finally had to transfer a fuse from the microwave to the coffee maker plug to get that working. Although fewer than half the townhouses were occupied we were told when we requested two ooffee makers for our group to accomodate those who can only drink decaf, that it is strictly one maker per unit. We were also frustrated by the fact that there were no clocks of any sort in the townhouse.

There was adequate hot water and the location is very good, near Shannon airport and within walking distance of the Castle, good shopping and three pubs with good food. Staff were friendly at all the surrounding establishments.

Herme010

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hermes010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2011

Joan the receptionist is fantastic. She went the extra mile time and again. We had a 4 BR cottage with every modern convenience. We had a package from Sceptre Tours so I do not know how much we paid for the 7 nites. The entire package from Boston to Shannon/Dublin with self drive was $1,800. The Bunratty area has several pubs/restaurants that are all quite good. The only negative I can post is that staying here for 7 nites meant many miles of driving everyday. By 11 pm we were exhausted and could take take advantage of the music and craic available at Durty Nellys. Wish they had a chain of cottages throughout Ireland. Safe, quiet, great beds. Just too much round trip traveling time.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mochilero2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2011

We traveled there last week with my mom, 65, and two children, 13 and 10. When we were trying to find the place, we went ot the old hotel, which is closed down and several windows broken, and were frightened. But the townhouses behind were very nice and a good price fo rthe week. Three bedrooms all with a separate bath, and a full kitchen with washer and dryer. The beds were nice and there was a TV with several stations in the living area. Quiet, easily accesible to lots of great things, and great to be able to stay in pne place with a family instead of repacking every night at a different B&B.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulietheCruiseDir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bunratty hotels
0.2 mi away
The Courtyard
The Courtyard
#1 of 23 in Bunratty
275 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bunratty
1,489 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bunratty Manor Hotel
Bunratty Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bunratty
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Avarest Bunratty B&B
Avarest Bunratty B&B
#12 of 23 in Bunratty
227 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bunratty Castle Mews
Bunratty Castle Mews
#5 of 23 in Bunratty
324 reviews
1.1 mi away
Innisfree B&B
Innisfree B&B
#17 of 23 in Bunratty
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Gardens Holiday Homes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Gardens Holiday Homes

Address: Bunratty Shannon Shamrock Hotel | Limerick-Ennis Road, Bunratty, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Bunratty
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Bunratty
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Gardens Holiday Homes 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
Castle Gardens Holiday Homes Hotel Bunratty

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing