We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Townhome with Terrific Hostess”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bunratty
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Castle Gardens Holiday Homes
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Townhome with Terrific Hostess”
Reviewed 12 November 2010

Our first trip to Ireland began in a sweet townhouse in Bunratty Village Castle Gardens, close to Shannon Airport and home base during our week-long automobile tour of western Ireland. Our townhouse, which slept six, was clean, with comfortable beds, soft sheets, and warm comforters, and a kitchen fully equipped with new appliances, including dishwasher, small refrigerator, and washer/dryer – a necessary perk because we pack little and wash lots. In Bunratty, we mingled and sang with the locals over a Guinness at Durty Nelly’s Pub after a terrific salmon dinner, had dessert and great Irish coffees there another night, and did most of our shopping across the way at the well-stocked Blarney Woollen Mills – for ourselves and for all those people back home we wanted to remember with tokens from our trip. One of the best parts of the Bunratty stay was the lovely and responsive proprietress, Joan, whose cheery and helpful demeanor couldn’t have been more delightful and who managed the village – and our stay -- with efficiency and charm. The same day we arrived, we visited the Cliffs of Moher and the village of Ennistymon. Each day after, we headed south to visit “K” towns – Kinsale, Killarney, Kenmare – staying overnight in Dingle to explore the entire peninsula, and made a day trip north to Galway. The trip was short, but our memories of the thousand miles of countryside we traveled are long. Thank you, Joan, for making our trip such a success. And thanks, Dooley Vacations, for the travel package we booked through www.travelzoo.com. We’d do it again.

Jakki Savan and Jeff Young
Denver, Colorado
October, 2010

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jpyslc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    15
    0
    3
    1
See reviews for
18
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 September 2010

I stayed here in August with my family and we throughly enjoyed our stay.
The location was excellent just 5 minutes walk to Bunratty Castle.
We stayed in 1 of the 3 bedroom houses which was very clean, all mod cons. The living area was a little small for the 6 of us but bedrooms were big with 3 bathrooms, so everybody was happy. The staff were very nice on check-in & the housekeepers called to our house the following day to see if all was ok. We wil definitely be returning next year, the rate was great.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ducksCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2010

My sister and I, and 5 children stayed from 10 - 17 July in a three-bed house. The location of these houses behind the dilapidated and now disused Shannon Shamrock Hotel is unfortunate. As far as the general exterior of the development is concerned, the grounds are poorly maintained, pavement edging in timber is rotting and breaking up; there is no playground for children which was surprising, although the lack of moving traffic around the houses is good, so children can play outside.

The houses are reasonably new - maybe 4/5 years old, but our house was poorly maintained. There was evidence of leaks, and an actual leak, which had to be fixed (in a very roughshod way) during our stay. The washing machine had been attached to the water system, but for a few days we had to deal with unbelievable noise and jumping around the kitchen of this machine, until we pulled it out eventually, and discovered the transit screws had not been removed by the installer. Luckily there was no damage done to the machine, but we couldn't believe this had happened.

On the evening we arrived, the house was not especially clean. Clearly no supervisor had checked the kitchen, as there were absolutely no pots and pans, and there was a rotten potato in one of the cupboards. At 5.30 I called the manager, but she finishes at 5, and had told us to contact the staff at the Leisure Centre if we had any problems. We did this on Sunday morning, and also asked for a clothes horse, which should have been provided but was not. The staff there told us there was nothing they could do for us, and we would have to wait till Monday. We had to buy pots and pans, but were reimbursed at the end of the holiday. We were surprised that the manager had not sought to repay us immediately, which she most certainly should have done.

We have stayed in lots of self-catering accommodation over the years, but never in quite such a slipshod place. There seems to be no inventory of equipment that the staff can refer to when preparing the houses for guests. We had 12 eggcups, and no wine-glasses (this is 2010, not 1950). There were lots of very small cups, but no mugs; dozens of knives, forks and spoons, but no eggflip, slotted spoon or corkscrew, and no small sharp knives. Underneath the washing machine and fridge were absolutely filthy.

The leisure centre is not particularly clean, and the staff seem to be left to make up rules on their own, not alone about whether they co-operate with the management of the accommodation, but also whether they allow underage children to swim unsupervised or not. We had 2 (very competent) 13-year-old swimmers who were sometimes allowed by the staff to swim alone, and sometimes not, depending on who was working at the time.

Incidentally, we left a message at 5.30pm on Saturday regarding the lack of pots and pans. A member of staff called to the house on Monday morning (not first thing I might add), but was at pains to tell us that she only worked during the week (for this read: it's not my fault). When we spoke to the manager, the first thing she did was to query why we did not contact the leisure centre (which we had). Someone should have trained this person in customer service, not to ever lay the blame for faults in the hospitality sector on the client.

This place was not unpleasant as a place to stay, but let down badly by poor management. We had a fantastic holiday, as Co. Clare has so much to offer the tourist. We had never been to Clare before, but will definitely be back. We could have stayed another week, and still not run out of things to do with the children.

My lasting impression of this accommodation is that as a development thrown up in a hurry and poorly finished and maintained, it will be as derelict as its neighbouring hotel in a few years time. As it was, at the height of the season, it appeared to be seriously under-occupied.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank czerwony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, MO
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2009

My husband and I traveled with another couple this past February and had an excellent stay. The townhomes were quaint and cute. They were clean and featured three bedrooms and bathrooms. It was great to have some common spaces(living room and kitchen) to share as we were traveling as two couples as well as the separate bathrooms. Also, with the kitchen we were able to pick up some supplies at the local grocery store and have breakfast at the townhome before heading out each morning.

We did spend two nights in dfferent cities as they were too far to travel there and back in a day without being too rushed (Dublin and Killarney via Adare on the way there and Dingle Peninsula on the way back).

All in all it was an excellent value for the money.

P.S. Don't let the Shamrock Hotel scare you off. The hotel does seem to be in a bit of disrepair, but the townhomes are great and there's really no need to visit the hotel besides checking in and out.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hulagirl99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, VA
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2009

Returned on 3/26/2009
The Townhomes are clean, simple places to stay while in Ireland. At first, they seem smalish, but you get used to that quickly. There is a nice living room area with an electric fireplace (really puts out some heat!) and 26" TV and a dining area with a nice big table that could seat 6. Kitchen has washing machine, dishwasher, fridge, microwave. No clothes dryer. The best part is the location. It is walking distance to 3 pubs, Blarney Woolen Mills and, of course, Bunratty Castle and Folk park. It is also within 10-15 minutes drive of major shopping areas. A Tesco grocery store in the direction of Limrick and SkyCort shopping mall toward Shannon.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank imerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2009

My family (eleven of us) stayed in two townhouses Jan. 10-17, 2009. We were conveniently located right around a corner from each other. The townhouses were great! 3 bedrooms in each- two upstairs -each with its own bathroom, one BR downstairs with the bath in the next room. One has a double bed & the other two each had two twins which worked great for us. Each has a Kitchen,eating area & TV/sitting area. Kitchen has a cooking stove/oven, microwave,washer/dryer, iron & ironing board. No daily housekeeping, but I only change linens once a week at home, so that was no problem. We washed our towels, but there were more available at the hotel. (Bring your own washrags- nowhere in Europe seems to use them!)Also, although we never used it, the pool at the hotel looked great! Clean, quiet, convenient! I loved them. Much better than a cramped hotel and we had space to sit & gab, play cards, plan the next days adventures. I would definately stay here again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — trash pick up could have been more regular
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irish2Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2009

We stayed for a week during the "low season" so the complex was pretty empty. The townhouses are right next to the Bunratty Shamrock hotel (where you go to check in/out). There is parking near, but not adjacent to, the townhouses and the roads are very narrow. We initially had a problem with heating and this was attended to promptly and courteously by the staff.

The townhouse itself looked fairly new and was furnished well. It was nice and comfortable for our party of four. Our place was a three bedroom, three bath. The living room had a TV (limited channels-- we stuck to Sky news and CNN) and DVD player (we did not use it). The dining room had seating for six. The kitchen was stocked with silverware, pots/pans, microwave, teapot, plates, cups. There was also a small minifridge and a washer/dryer combo in the kitchen. The only essentials missing were paper towels, dish soap, sponge, and laundry detergent, which we easily were able to get at either Lidl or Tesco (local supermarket chains). To get to LIDL, get on the N18 headed towards Shannon; to get to TESCO get on the N18 towards Limerick. Both are within 10-15min drive with LIDL being slightly closer. For both, be sure to bring your own bags to transport groceries and one euro coin to "rent" a shopping cart. LIDL did not accept our American credit cards but TESCO did. We figured all this out the hard way!
There were two bedrooms (queen bed and two twins) upstairs and one (two twin beds) downstairs. Towels and toilet paper were supplied, as were blankets. All showers.

The townhouses are within walking distance of the Bunratty Castle (beautiful sight!), Durty Nellie's (the oldest pub in Ireland), and shopping. We rented a car from the Shannon airport and drove EVERYWHERE! If you draw a line from Galway to Dublin, we traveled everywhere south of that. My top pics are the Blarney Castle near Cork, Guinness storehouse in Dublin, Cliffs of Moher, and Killarney National Park. We didn't get to the Ring of Kerry in Killarney, but I hear it is not to be missed.

Also, I cannot say enough about the kindness of everyone we met on our numerous roadtrips. The Irish are warm, curious, and gracious. We had a great time on this trip and hope the same for you!

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank trippinAtlantan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bunratty
0.2 mi away
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bunratty
1,415 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bunratty Manor Hotel
Bunratty Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bunratty
406 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Oakwood Hotel
The Oakwood Hotel
#2 of 3 in Shannon
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Courtyard
The Courtyard
#1 of 23 in Bunratty
254 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gallows View
Gallows View
#11 of 23 in Bunratty
129 reviews
0.5 mi away
ParkHouse Bed & Breakfast
ParkHouse Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 23 in Bunratty
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Gardens Holiday Homes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Gardens Holiday Homes

Property: Castle Gardens Holiday Homes
Address: Bunratty Shannon Shamrock Hotel | Limerick-Ennis Road, Bunratty, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Bunratty
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Bunratty
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Gardens Holiday Homes 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
Castle Gardens Holiday Homes Hotel Bunratty

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing