We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bunratty Accomodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bunratty
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Visit Ireland a lot so I get around the place. Pretty good standard accommodation. Great part of the country to be in. Didn't eat here so cannot comment on the food. Service was quite good and charming. Great whiskey selection in the bar and good Guinness! Only needed a place to sleep before early airport departure but would use again if flying out of Shannon.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rufus D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre2011, Director of Sales at Bunratty Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Dear Tripadvisor Member,
Thank you for taking the time to post this review. The location and scenery is our unique selling point and attracts many of our guests to Bunratty Castle hotel in the first place.
Thank you for your positive comments
I hope that you all will be back with us in Bunratty soon again
Regards,
Sales & Marketing Dept,
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty
Co Clare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,482)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

884 - 890 of 1,482 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2013

Bunratty Castle Hotel is NOT in the castle, but is across the street from the castle. This is a luxury hotel and we had a Jr. Suite, room 436 which was very quiet with a king bed and couch seating area. We only stayed one night., but it is a great location for visiting the castle, the Bunratty Folk Park and it is close to the Shannon airport. The well-known pub, Durty Nellies, is across the street where we had a nice afternoon snack. The front staff was extremely accommodating and friendly. This hotel has a great feel with a lovely old world exterior. Our room was tasteful and comfortable after over an hour's wait to get into it. We ate lunch at the adjoining restaurant and thought it was very good. We booked ahead for the banquet, which I will review separately, but will say here that it is a real tourist experience and the food is terrible! The Angsana Spa was one of the best experiences we have ever had. That says a lot! We definitely recommend staying here if you are visiting the castle and the Folk Park, but I would think twice about the banquet!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gypsies-on-the-go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre2011, Director of Sales at Bunratty Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Dear Tripadvisor Member,
Thank you for taking the time to post this review. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at Bunratty Castle Hotel & our facilities. We pride ourselves on our customer service. I am delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed our Angsana Spa. I do hope that if you return to the Bunratty Area that you would consider staying with us here at Bunratty Castle Hotel.

Regards,
Sales & Marketing Dept,
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty
Co Clare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We stayed here with our tour group. I came in a day ahead and spent the night previous to the tour's commencement. I was sent to the wrong room on check in. There was a problem with the bill on check out. The property is showing signs of needing to be kept up better. The bathroom ceiling was covered in mold and the room A/c unit didn't function well, as examples. I would never go so far as to say that my stay here was tragic, but it was not fantastic either.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kmarrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre2011, Director of Sales at Bunratty Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for taking the time to post this review as all of our guest feedback is greatly appreciated. All issues mentioned have been forwarded onto our Head of Housekeeping department. Hopefully you will return to Bunratty Castle Hotel in the future

Regards,
Sales & Marketing Dept,
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty
Co Clare
Tel 061 478 700

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Very nice, spacious room with a window looking out onto a courtyard. We were there for only 1 night to visit Bunratty Castle across the street, however, if were were to stay longer, I would have no reservations staying at the Bunratty Castle Hotel. Friendly staff, comfortable accommodations. Would definitely come back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the view of the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evaccaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre2011, Director of Sales at Bunratty Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for taking the time to post this positive review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Bunratty Castle Hotel. It's positive to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay; we hope you will return to Bunratty Castle Hotel in the near future.

Regards,
Sales & Marketing Dept,
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty
Co Clare
Tel 061 478 700

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

The Bunratty Castle Hotel is a large hotel with very long hallways, branching off in several directions. Numbering for the rooms is frequently displayed along the corridors. My room was attractive, clean, spacious and had a nice view.

It is a short walk to the Folk Park, which is mainly an exhibit of life in Irish villages in times gone by. There are souvenir shops and a couple of eating places close by the hotel. I never got to really sample the food in this hotel. The only meal I had was a 5:30 a.m. continental breakfast, as we had to leave early for the airport the next morning. I ate dinner at Bunratty Castle at their Medieval Banquet. It featured entertainment of the period, as well as a healthy portion of food. It is so neat to be able to sit in an actual castle and have a meal just like in the Middle Ages. This is an event not to be missed.

The Bunratty Hotel is not too far from the Shannon Airport. Taxi fare is 18 Euros. My stay here was too short. I would certainly have liked to have stayed another day.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderluster77143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre2011, Director of Sales at Bunratty Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to review the hotel. Hope to welcome back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Nice hotel although rooms a bit dated and tired (stains on chairs), Wi-Fi (Lie-fi as we call it!) a nightmare, Not working in upstairs rooms only in the lobby - not the end of the world except the lobby and bar were completely heaving with wedding guests 2 days in a row. (Wedding Reception in the lobby area which is lovely and comfortable with big couches chairs and open fire)
Hotel restaurant really good -busy as quite small so need to book. Lovely staff in the restaurant, but otherwise average - couple of younger staff in breakfast room ignored us when waiting to be seated/give room number

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WestSussexGooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre2011, Director of Sales at Bunratty Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Dear Tripadvisor Member,

I am disappointed to read your comments and would I like to apologise for any faults you experienced during your stay. I have also noted your comments regarding Wi-F I. This issue is being solved shortly.
Regards,
Sales & Marketing Dept,
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty
Co Clare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

I flew to Ireland for a wedding last weekend and stayed at the Bunratty castle Hotel. The service was great. We were in the bar at 1am and the manager came in and reopened the bar so we could watch a Pat's game. There are local pubs in walking distance and all the cultural shops you need for those special gifts to bring home. The Actuall Castle and folk village is a great take as well. The wolf hounds are marvelous. Everything you need for 48 hours in Ireland.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaptSunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre2011, Director of Sales at Bunratty Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Thank you so much for your kind review on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and all the facilities on offer during your quick trip to Ireland.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bunratty
7.1 mi away
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Dromoland Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
3,519 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bunratty Manor Hotel
Bunratty Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bunratty
427 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Oakwood Hotel
The Oakwood Hotel
#2 of 3 in Shannon
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
1,646 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
1,273 reviews
4.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bunratty Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bunratty Castle Hotel

Address: Shannon to Limerick Road, Bunratty, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Bunratty
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bunratty
Price Range: £97 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bunratty Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bunratty Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing