We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Forgettable!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bunratty
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Myself and my husband are just back from our honeymoon from this hotel, we spent two nights here and I have to say it would have been so much nicer and more enjoyable if the reception and bar staff were friendly and polite. We found some of the staff to be very unprofessional. The breakfast wasn't great either. Hotel itself is really nice and they had the Christmas decor up so that was lovely. As for the spa this is amazing and the two girls in there are so nice and professional. I would highly recommend the spa.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre2011, Director of Sales at Bunratty Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Dear Tripadvisor Member,
Please accept my sincerest apologies for your disappointing experience. I will bring this to the attention of each department’s manager; this issue will be addressed very strongly. However I am delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed our Angsana Spa. I do hope that if you return to the Bunratty Area that you would consider staying with us here at Bunratty Castle Hotel.

Regards,
Sales & Marketing Dept,
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty
Co Clare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,452)
There are newer reviews for Bunratty Castle Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

845 - 851 of 1,452 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2013

Overpriced for the accommodations. Pub staff bar keep was rude to Americans. Only benefit was location to the castle and Durty Nellys. No wi-if in rooms. Television very limited.taxi to airport will tell you a fare is involved when it is not.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre2011, Director of Sales at Bunratty Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Dear Tripadvisor Member,
Thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay here at Bunratty Castle Hotel, I am sorry to hear that you felt that our accommodation was overpriced, we feel we offer very competitive rates and often run accommodation offers on our website www.bunrattycastlehotel.com , we offer all local channels here in Ireland on our in rooms televisions, I will have a word with our Bar Manager about staff training however all of our bar staff have been here with us a number of years and we feel have high customer satisfaction ratings. We hope that if you return to the Bunratty Area you would consider us again.
Regards,
Sales & Marketing Dept,
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty
Co Clare
Tel 061 478 700

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

This hotel is close to the Bunratty Castle and woolen mills, very nice decorated with lovely furnishings and comfortable beds. They had just finished decorating for Christmas which just added to the overall experience. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Candy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre2011, Director of Sales at Bunratty Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Dear Tripadvisor Member,
Thank you for taking the time to review Bunratty Castle Hotel following your stay, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Regards,
Sales & Marketing Dept,
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty
Co Clare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

Excellent staff who were kind and considerate to my senior companion. He loved the spa and the kind ladies who run it. Special thanks to Ray who went over and above.
Breakfast in the library upstairs was a treat. Keep it there. Relaxing spot all in all.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank surego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre2011, Director of Sales at Bunratty Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a delightful review. I'm delighted that enjoyed their stay with us. Your comments in relation to the staff especially Ray, and the hotel are very much appreciated and these will be passed on to each department.

Regards,
Sales & Marketing Dept,
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty
Co Clare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Room was a good size, bathroom was adequate, beds were great. Location was great being close to the Durty Nellies pub for quick pint in the evening.
Breakfast service was adequate with a small buffet.
The hotel grounds and setting were really superb.
Also next door to the actual Bunratty castle and woolen shop.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gjmartin428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre2011, Director of Sales at Bunratty Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Dear Tripadvisor Member,
Thank you so much for your kind review on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and all the facilities on offer both within the hotel and close by.

Regards,
Sales & Marketing Dept,
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty
Co Clare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

This hotel is warm, friendly, clean and comfortable. lovely breakfast.
It has a lovely pool and a nice gym. The hotel is across the road from Bunratty Castle which is a great place to visit especially if you catch the guided tour.
Only bad point with this hotel was that children cant use the pool before breakfast/10am
to allow for locals to swim lengths of the pool?

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jim o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre2011, Director of Sales at Bunratty Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Dear Tripadvisor Member,
Thank you for taking the time to write the experience you had at Bunratty Castle Hotel, we are delighted you enjoyed our facilities in our leisure complex .Thank you again for your kind remarks.
Regards,
Sales & Marketing Dept,
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty
Co Clare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We had mixed experiences but mostly good. The appearance of the hotel and lobby is very welcoming and cozy as were the rooms. We had 3 single beds (there were 3 adults in our party) and the beds were prepared nice and comfy and the room was big enough and the bathroom was "modern" and spacious too. Everything was in working condition in the room and appreciated the US voltage outlet too! The staff was available but not overly welcoming except for Dave, the bellman who went above and beyond the call and duty. He brought us a temporary heater as the room heater didn't see to be doing the job on the cold day and he offered to pick up some medicine for my sick husband - he was amazing with his commitment and delivery. The wifi thing is a pain, you can only get it in the lobby but not a big deal. The attached restaurant, Kathleen's was just perfect for us, for a refreshment or bite to eat. The continental breakfast and wait staff was blah - not friendly and food was just ok. We enjoyed the Creamery restaurant (great lunch) and Durty Nellie's across the way for dinner and evening entertainment as well as the near by shops - quality merchandise. I'd stay again as it is very close to Shannon airport and got the "job" done for us.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amsandbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre2011, Director of Sales at Bunratty Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Dear Tripadvisor Member,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at Bunratty Castle Hotel and for your kind comments in relation to Dave. I will pass your kind words on to the attention of our General Manager. WiFi is soon to be available throughout the hotel. I have noted your comments regarding the continental breakfast and wait staff I will bring this to the attention of our breakfast supervisor.
We do hope that you will have an opportunity to return to Bunratty Castle Hotel for another break in the future.
Regards,
Sales & Marketing Dept,
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty
Co Clare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bunratty
0.2 mi away
Bunratty Manor Hotel
Bunratty Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bunratty
416 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Oakwood Hotel
The Oakwood Hotel
#2 of 3 in Shannon
821 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
1,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
4.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Shannon Airport
12.3 mi away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
1,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bunratty Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bunratty Castle Hotel

Address: Shannon to Limerick Road, Bunratty, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Bunratty
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bunratty
Price Range: £98 - £632 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bunratty Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bunratty Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing