We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bunratty
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Stayed at this hotel for 1 night in December, the hotel was busy with a wedding, the bathroom had no hot water which they fixed, the spa!!!! the jacuzzi was warm no bubbles, the sauna and the steam room were broken and the pool was tepid.
The room had a lot of dust under the bed on the wardrobe, TV was tiny, no safe, not sure what star rating this place is but not worth more than a B&B status, the bar staff were friendly and efficient, breakfast was ok but very busy.
We ate down the road in the Bunratty Manor and wish we had stayed there seemed more personal, we had got a special rate but still did not think it was worth it, feel this hotel is used as a place to stay before flying or after arriving in Shannon. if that is what you are looking for then you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre2011, Director of Sales at Bunratty Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for taking the time to review Bunratty Castle Hotel. I am disappointed to hear you didn’t enjoy your stay as you can see from previous reviews we rank very high with customer satisfaction.
We hope if you do return to Bunratty you will have a much more enjoyable stay
Regards,
Sales & Marketing Dept,
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty
Co Clare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,502)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

885 - 891 of 1,502 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2014

On this trip, we stayed in hotels in Dublin, London, Paris and Lyon, all comparebly priced to the Bunratty Castle Hotel. This hotel ranked at the very top for this trip! The rooms were spacious and elegantly decorated. Hotel lobby and grounds looked like a high end luxury hotel, as they were absolutely beautiful! Rooms were clean, beds were comfortable, and shower was fantastic! The dining room was gorgeous, and breakfast was delicious. Hotel was located directly across from Bunratty Castle, which is a must see!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Kerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre2011, Director of Sales at Bunratty Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for taking the time to review Bunratty Castle Hotel. We’re so glad to hear you enjoyed your time at The Bunratty Castle Hotel .We appreciate your compliments to our dining .Thank you again for reviewing our Hotel . We hope to see you again soon.
Regards,
Sales & Marketing Dept,
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty
Co Clare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Arrived from Wexford in the south east of Ireland to the Bunratty Castle Hotel on the afternoon of the 14th of May, 2013, We were allowed to check into our pre-booked room immediately upon arrival. One flight of stair up (elevator was present an into our room near the front of the building.
Very Large Ceiling, crown molding, wonderful bed and settee by the window. Great country view, room was very warm but cooled down quickly when we felt it was too hot. Large Bathroom, deep tub (filled quickly) marble and tile. The room was very clean and up to its 3 star standing. When we were checking in the young lady at the front desk was, very professional, friendly, and made sure every thing was well. Before we asked for extra towels, and within three minutes four very large, soft towels were delivered to our room. Our room was turned down when we returned after our scheduled dinner reservation at the Bunratty Castle Banquet (the second setting- 8:45 PM). a wonderful dinner and evening of entertainment, well worth the cost of $ 89.00 Euros. We visited the Blarney Woolen Mills Shop with 100 feet of our hotels front door, and the other high in quality Irish Shops available for the American tourist, to purchase and but that wonderful Aran Island Sweater., or fine china piece. So don't forget to visit the Irish Folk Park on Bunratty Castle grounds, a small price to see, touch and feel a bit of Ireland as if you were transported back in time, during the turn of the Century. The local Board responsible for the development of this "Folk Park" did it very well, we spent two hours their before our dinner that evening at the Castle.
The next morning, we went down stairs to our breakfast area. What a treat to behold, fresh fruit, eggs, meats, Irish sausage, ham slices, toast, cereals, milk, juice, ladles of Coffee, pastries, and fresh Irish Soda Bread. A feast fit for a king, great service, everything ready and hot. A great place to meet new friends, and o say goodbye to old ones. As we left the breakfast area we visited a wonderful old Irish cemetery, behind the Hotel, with a ruin Old Catholic Church in it. Wonderful trees, Marble Irish Crosses, winding paths, well cut grass, and beautiful monuments to friends and families gone by, pay a few moments there, say a prayer, and then remember the love ones that have left us during our lifetimes, some of theses crosses dated back to the turn of the 17th Century, a wonderful treasure. We had spent a lovely evening and morning at this wonderful old Three Star Hotel. Worth the $62.00 Euro's we paid for the room (which included the breakfast Meal), a great bargain, beautiful, well managed, clean, we look forward on staying there again when we next visit Ireland again, as you should!!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the west, above the second floor, and corner rooms are bigger, catch the sun in the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre2011, Director of Sales at Bunratty Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us at Bunratty Castle . We hope you do return again to Bunratty.

Regards,
Sales & Marketing Dept,
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty
Co Clare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Stayed at hotel in nov'13 for 2 nights and didnt enjoy our stay at all. Located an old room the 1st nite, bed rock hard & very uncomfortable & telly didnt work properly either. Requested to be moved to a better room with a decent bed. The room they allocated to us the 2nd night was a room beside a generator. Bear in mind the hotel was not at all booked out as we were informed, so was extremely disappointed that this was the room they gave after such a bad night sleep the 1st night. Again had to request could we be moved as the generator
sounded so loud in the room & couldnt sleep with the constant drumming noise. It was an absolute nightmare. On checkout we requested to speak to the manager to explain our disappointment with the hotel. He informed us that he would talk to the general manager and took all our contact details. He assured us he would make contact with us once he spoke to manager. It is now 5 weeks later and no contact from the hotel. I even wrote to the general manager as i felt my complaint was not even acknowledged. To our dismay we didnt even get a response to that. So it really highlights what the hotel & management is realky like. It is extremely bad customer service. I certaintly would never stay in this hotel again & would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joesephbloggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre2011, Director of Sales at Bunratty Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Dear Tripadvisor Member,
I am disappointed to hear you had a bad experience with us, I will check with the general manager to see if he received the letter. If you have any further enquires please don’t hesitate to contact us.
Regards,
Sales & Marketing Dept,
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty
Co Clare
Tel 061 478 700

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

We stayed one night here last minute and, from the moment of arrival, we were blown away by the location (directly opposite the Blarney Wool Mills and a short walk across the road to Durty Nellies and Bunratty Castle and Folk Park). Simply stunning. Our room was wonderful, especially after coming from a tiny hotel room in London, as we were greeted by a HUGE space including work desk, TRIPLE KING bed (seriously! it was massive) and a large bathroom that had a separate shower and bath. One of the best nights sleep that I have ever had. Breakfast in the morning was delicious and our waitress was delightful. Would I stay here again? Absolutely!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jodie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre2011, Director of Sales at Bunratty Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Dear Tripadvisor Member,
Thank you very much for staying with us and for reviewing us on Tripadvisor. We are delighted you enjoyed yourselves
Regards,
Sales & Marketing Dept,
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty
Co Clare
Tel 061 478 700

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We stayed at the Bunratty Castle Hotel on November 5th, 2013 as part of a group tour. Our room (218) was massive compared to the other hotels we stayed at during the trip, and was very nice. The hotel's location is excellent; it was just a short walk to the Bunratty Folk Village where we spent most of our time.

The hotel pool was by far the best of the trip with friendly staff, convenient hours and very nice accommodations. I also enjoyed the drink/dessert I had at Kathleen's Bar. We didn't have dinner here, but the hotel restaurant served a good breakfast.

Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking to visit the Bunratty Folk Village or just passing through the area.

Room Tip: 218 was very nice and overlooks a fountain in the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheIridescentShadow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre2011, Director of Sales at Bunratty Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Dear Tripadvisor Member,
Thank you so much for your kind review on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and all the facilities on offer both within the hotel and close by.
Regards,
Sales & Marketing Dept,
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty
Co Clare
Tel 061 478 700

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Just had a beautiful meal in Bunratty Castle Hotel . From starters to main course everything was excellent , We had 17 in our group and staff treated us like we were the only one s there , everything was looked after and food was just fantastic , also staff so pleasant , we will surely use Bunratty Castle Hotel again for our next visit .

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hwife087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre2011, Director of Sales at Bunratty Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Dear Tripadvisor Member,
We are delighted you and your group had a fantastic meal with us. Thank you for the lovely message. Looking forward to welcoming you & your group back to Bunratty Castle Hotel
Regards,
Sales & Marketing Dept,
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty
Co Clare
Tel 061 478 700

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bunratty
0.2 mi away
Bunratty Manor Hotel
Bunratty Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bunratty
435 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Oakwood Hotel
The Oakwood Hotel
#2 of 3 in Shannon
843 reviews
12.3 mi away
Old Ground Hotel
Old Ground Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ennis
1,675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
1,328 reviews
7.9 mi away
Limerick Strand Hotel
Limerick Strand Hotel
#3 of 20 in Limerick
2,729 reviews
4.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bunratty Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bunratty Castle Hotel

Address: Shannon to Limerick Road, Bunratty, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Bunratty
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bunratty
Price Range: £82 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bunratty Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bunratty Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing