We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm, friendly & comfortable.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bunratty Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bunratty
Limerick
Level Contributor
175 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Warm, friendly & comfortable.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

Attended a wedding here recently. The hotel is lovely & the staff really friendly. We found the room warm, cosy, spotless & comfortable with lovely décor. Nice toiletries & plenty of towels etc.. the wedding reception was wonderful and the setting amazing. We really enjoyed the Irish music in the bar after the wedding had finished up. There is plenty to do close to the hotel - spa, wonderful food in the Creamery, shopping, the Castle & Folk park & of course Durty Nellys.. The only thing I didn't like were the sheets.. not sure if they are polyester or what but we were both saturated in sweat all night... this they could address fairly easily with cotton sheets. Other than that, a really lovely stay.. thank you.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EHMkm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre2011, Director of Sales at Bunratty Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Member,
Thank you so much for informing us of your recent visit to Bunratty Castle Hotel. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at Bunratty Castle Hotel, and had a great night at the wedding. I will inform the Accommodations Manager of this issue.
Regards,
Sales & Marketing Dept,
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty
Co Clare
Tel 061 478 700
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    432
    479
    262
    112
    62
See reviews for
351
500
51
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

Had a one night stay on a Dinner B&B package. The room was nice with a very clean bathroom. The staff where friendly and the Food was excellent. The steam room was broken in the evening but working again the following morning.
Had a lovely time Thank You

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddiefunf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre2011, Director of Sales at Bunratty Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Member,
Thank you so much for your kind review on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at Bunratty Castle Hotel. Apologises for the inconvenience of the steam room.
We hope you will return to Bunratty Castle Hotel.
Regards,
Sales & Marketing Dept,
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty
Co Clare
Tel 061 478 700
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

Checked in here for one night. First impressions the hotel lobby area looks impressive, but when we checked into our room it was really quite plain and simple and in need of a revamp. The TV was very small, old and really poor quality. When we tried to connect the wifi it didn’t work so I called down to the reception, the lady was quite rude, I guess she’s tired of getting the same phone call every day from guests who discover the wifi doesn’t work in their rooms. If it doesn’t work don’t advertise it.

The pool here is nice, clean but not very warm. Also the Jacuzzi had an out of order sign.
Did not eat at the hotel so can’t comment on the food. The air conditioning in the room was extremely loud, so loud i could not sleep until I got up and switched it off.

As we checked out we could hear another unhappy customer complaining about the wifi and the tv at reception.
I wont be in any rush back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dandoyler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre2011, Director of Sales at Bunratty Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for taking the time to review Bunratty Castle Hotel. I am disappointed to hear you didn’t enjoy your stay, we are updating our Wi-Fi, majority of the rooms have access, it is available in all public areas & there is no charge.
I also wish to apologise for the Jacuzzi being out of order, we did have an issue which has been fixed.
We hope if you do return to Bunratty you will have a much more enjoyable stay
Regards,
Sales & Marketing Dept,
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty
Co Clare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

Stayed at this hotel for 1 night in December, the hotel was busy with a wedding, the bathroom had no hot water which they fixed, the spa!!!! the jacuzzi was warm no bubbles, the sauna and the steam room were broken and the pool was tepid.
The room had a lot of dust under the bed on the wardrobe, TV was tiny, no safe, not sure what star rating this place is but not worth more than a B&B status, the bar staff were friendly and efficient, breakfast was ok but very busy.
We ate down the road in the Bunratty Manor and wish we had stayed there seemed more personal, we had got a special rate but still did not think it was worth it, feel this hotel is used as a place to stay before flying or after arriving in Shannon. if that is what you are looking for then you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre2011, Director of Sales at Bunratty Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for taking the time to review Bunratty Castle Hotel. I am disappointed to hear you didn’t enjoy your stay as you can see from previous reviews we rank very high with customer satisfaction.
We hope if you do return to Bunratty you will have a much more enjoyable stay
Regards,
Sales & Marketing Dept,
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty
Co Clare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

On this trip, we stayed in hotels in Dublin, London, Paris and Lyon, all comparebly priced to the Bunratty Castle Hotel. This hotel ranked at the very top for this trip! The rooms were spacious and elegantly decorated. Hotel lobby and grounds looked like a high end luxury hotel, as they were absolutely beautiful! Rooms were clean, beds were comfortable, and shower was fantastic! The dining room was gorgeous, and breakfast was delicious. Hotel was located directly across from Bunratty Castle, which is a must see!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre2011, Director of Sales at Bunratty Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for taking the time to review Bunratty Castle Hotel. We’re so glad to hear you enjoyed your time at The Bunratty Castle Hotel .We appreciate your compliments to our dining .Thank you again for reviewing our Hotel . We hope to see you again soon.
Regards,
Sales & Marketing Dept,
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty
Co Clare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Bend, Indiana
Level Contributor
87 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

Arrived from Wexford in the south east of Ireland to the Bunratty Castle Hotel on the afternoon of the 14th of May, 2013, We were allowed to check into our pre-booked room immediately upon arrival. One flight of stair up (elevator was present an into our room near the front of the building.
Very Large Ceiling, crown molding, wonderful bed and settee by the window. Great country view, room was very warm but cooled down quickly when we felt it was too hot. Large Bathroom, deep tub (filled quickly) marble and tile. The room was very clean and up to its 3 star standing. When we were checking in the young lady at the front desk was, very professional, friendly, and made sure every thing was well. Before we asked for extra towels, and within three minutes four very large, soft towels were delivered to our room. Our room was turned down when we returned after our scheduled dinner reservation at the Bunratty Castle Banquet (the second setting- 8:45 PM). a wonderful dinner and evening of entertainment, well worth the cost of $ 89.00 Euros. We visited the Blarney Woolen Mills Shop with 100 feet of our hotels front door, and the other high in quality Irish Shops available for the American tourist, to purchase and but that wonderful Aran Island Sweater., or fine china piece. So don't forget to visit the Irish Folk Park on Bunratty Castle grounds, a small price to see, touch and feel a bit of Ireland as if you were transported back in time, during the turn of the Century. The local Board responsible for the development of this "Folk Park" did it very well, we spent two hours their before our dinner that evening at the Castle.
The next morning, we went down stairs to our breakfast area. What a treat to behold, fresh fruit, eggs, meats, Irish sausage, ham slices, toast, cereals, milk, juice, ladles of Coffee, pastries, and fresh Irish Soda Bread. A feast fit for a king, great service, everything ready and hot. A great place to meet new friends, and o say goodbye to old ones. As we left the breakfast area we visited a wonderful old Irish cemetery, behind the Hotel, with a ruin Old Catholic Church in it. Wonderful trees, Marble Irish Crosses, winding paths, well cut grass, and beautiful monuments to friends and families gone by, pay a few moments there, say a prayer, and then remember the love ones that have left us during our lifetimes, some of theses crosses dated back to the turn of the 17th Century, a wonderful treasure. We had spent a lovely evening and morning at this wonderful old Three Star Hotel. Worth the $62.00 Euro's we paid for the room (which included the breakfast Meal), a great bargain, beautiful, well managed, clean, we look forward on staying there again when we next visit Ireland again, as you should!!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the west, above the second floor, and corner rooms are bigger, catch the sun in the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre2011, Director of Sales at Bunratty Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us at Bunratty Castle . We hope you do return again to Bunratty.

Regards,
Sales & Marketing Dept,
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty
Co Clare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
galway city
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

Stayed at hotel in nov'13 for 2 nights and didnt enjoy our stay at all. Located an old room the 1st nite, bed rock hard & very uncomfortable & telly didnt work properly either. Requested to be moved to a better room with a decent bed. The room they allocated to us the 2nd night was a room beside a generator. Bear in mind the hotel was not at all booked out as we were informed, so was extremely disappointed that this was the room they gave after such a bad night sleep the 1st night. Again had to request could we be moved as the generator
sounded so loud in the room & couldnt sleep with the constant drumming noise. It was an absolute nightmare. On checkout we requested to speak to the manager to explain our disappointment with the hotel. He informed us that he would talk to the general manager and took all our contact details. He assured us he would make contact with us once he spoke to manager. It is now 5 weeks later and no contact from the hotel. I even wrote to the general manager as i felt my complaint was not even acknowledged. To our dismay we didnt even get a response to that. So it really highlights what the hotel & management is realky like. It is extremely bad customer service. I certaintly would never stay in this hotel again & would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joesephbloggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre2011, Director of Sales at Bunratty Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear Tripadvisor Member,
I am disappointed to hear you had a bad experience with us, I will check with the general manager to see if he received the letter. If you have any further enquires please don’t hesitate to contact us.
Regards,
Sales & Marketing Dept,
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty
Co Clare
Tel 061 478 700
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bunratty
0.1 mi away
Bunratty Manor Hotel
Bunratty Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bunratty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Oakwood Hotel
The Oakwood Hotel
#2 of 3 in Shannon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,456 reviews
4.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Shannon Airport
13.5 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bunratty Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bunratty Castle Hotel

Property: Bunratty Castle Hotel
Address: Shannon to Limerick Road, Bunratty, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Bunratty
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bunratty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bunratty Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Bunratty Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing