We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great View and Nice Room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bunratty
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great View and Nice Room”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

We booked this hotel because of its view of the Bunratty Castle and it did not disappoint. A very nice hotel with helpful staff. The room was sizable and comfortable. Just a quick walk to the Castle and Folk Park.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank parfleche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre2011, Director of Sales at Bunratty Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Member,
Thank you for choosing to stay at Bunratty Castle Hotel, I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. We have limited number of rooms with a view of the Castle & I am so pleased you were not disappointed. We do hope you will return to Bunratty Castle Hotel again

Kind Regards,
Sales Team
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty
Co Clare
Tel 061 478 700
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    432
    487
    265
    114
    63
See reviews for
355
508
51
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
97 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Ideally located for visiting the folk park
Room very spacious clean
Nice hotel stayed here before so knew what to expect
Very comfortable present stay right across the way from the folk park and dirty nellys pub
Lots to see and do here very close to limerick as well

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobbyOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre2011, Director of Sales at Bunratty Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review about your recent stay at our hotel. We are delighted to hear you are returning guests. We are pleased to hear you had a comfortable stay & looking forward to welcoming you again to Bunratty Castle Hotel.

Kind Regards,
Sales Team
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty
Co Clare
Tel 061 478 700
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portadown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 night break (2 nights would have been enough.
Plus points location couldn't fault right near folk park and castle (folk park is brill), the leisure centre was excellent to.
Rooms ok bit outdated but clean, breakfast was adequate bit could've done with fresh fruit and some yogurts which they did'nt have.
We didn't use restaurant or bar for food (as there are a couple of lovely pubs nearby (the creamery bar was excellent) the reason we didnt use the bar for food was service very slow we ordered drinks on one night had to wait 20 mins plus for a cocktail very short staffed.
Not a bad place to stay bit it is more catered for coach tours prob would stay agay if in area but for no more than 2 mights










Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank 70beckyboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre2011, Director of Sales at Bunratty Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review about your recent stay at our hotel. we do hope you will return again

Kind Regards,
Sales Team
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty
Co Clare
Tel 061 478 700
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
137 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

If you're looking to stay near Shannon on business, then the Bunratty Castle Hotel is a good bet. The staff is friendly, and the rooms clean and fairly modern. There are a number of places to eat within close walking distance, a small pool, sauna, steam room, hot tub and gym. Food in the bar is tasty and there's a fair number of different beers and stouts available.

Something to watch out for: during the tourist season, there are lots of coach parties who come through. You want to be on the Executive Floor: you'll be able to eat breakfast in peace in the Library, and you're out of the way on the top floor. The other rooms may be fine, and I've never had problems with the coach parties (mainly from the US), but if lots of people traipsing through the public areas of the hotel bothers you, then watch out.

There's now wifi in the rooms (I believe this is quite new - Internet access was previously wired), and throughout the hotel. There have been teething problems, and it sometimes goes down: I'd expect this to be ironed out soon.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the Executive Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeCamel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre2011, Director of Sales at Bunratty Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review about your recent stay at Bunratty Castle Hotel. Thank you for your kind remarks regarding our staff. Also, we’re glad to hear you were pleased with your dining experiences both for dinner and breakfast. We are looking forward to welcoming you back upon your return. Thank you again for your review.

Kind Regards,
Sales Team
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty
Co Clare
Tel 061 478 700
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosemount, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Stayed from the middle of May to the beginning of June on a business trip. Close to Shannon airport where we were working and has the advantages of being close to the castle and park, Durty Nelly's, and a number of decent restaurants close by.

I was in a room on the Executive Level and the room had a nice sitting area where I was able to do some work. The desk in my room wasnt' provided with a desk lamp but it didn't slow me down. Understood that it's not designed to be a "business hotel" like those in major cities. There was a noticeable lack of outlets though so I had to unplug the TV and use that power source.

Breakfast in the Library was decent, nice to see all of the old books on the shelves. Eggs to order if you wanted those, and much like many hotels the daily buffet could have used an occational change. All in all it was pleaseant.

Staff was nice as could be and it was great to see that so many wedding receptions were being held there. Even though my room faced the parking lot it wasn't overly noisy.

Can't wait to stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre2011, Director of Sales at Bunratty Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Member,
Thank you for your recent review of your stay at Bunratty Castle Hotel. We’re pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and delighted you are looking forward to returning, it is the highest possible compliment. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review, and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards,
Sales Team
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty
Co Clare
Tel 061 478 700
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schaumburg, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

My husband and I found this hotel on trip advisor and went directly to hotel website. There they have a "golden holiday special" for 55 and over which is not listed on any of the booking websites It is fantastic. We booked it for 3 nights and extended for 1 extra night, included 4 wonderful Irish breakfasts~3 dinners from a fixed menu, including coffee and dessert, and 1 tea service which was wonderful. The total price was just over 500. US dollars```you cant beat it!
The staff is FANTASTIC--Special kudos to Sinead, she helped us find just the right tour agent for our Cliffs of Mohr trip. She always was there to help and was happy to see us when we walked through the door.
Getting into Limerick is so easy. There is a bus just to the left of Bunratty Castle (a mere 4 min walk from the hotel) is 5 Euro and takes you to the center of town. Sinead can give you a schedule for the return! The hotel has a free ride back to the airport-saves a 28 Euro taxi.
Would stay here again in a heartbeat-it is a very personal, old world hotel. Loved it!

Room Tip: Staff is very helpful--just ask them for special request--if they can help you, they will.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PattyPat1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre2011, Director of Sales at Bunratty Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for your sincere review of your recent visit to Bunratty Castle Hotel. We’re pleased to hear that our staff were friendly especially Sinead, and helpful as we pride ourselves on delivering excellent service. Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your experience at our hotel.

Kind Regards,
Sales Team
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty
Co Clare
Tel 061 478 700
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

This hotel is in the shadow of Bunratty Castle and the perfect place to stay when enjoying the Bunratty Banquet. The interior is well maintained, however there is noise in the first floor hallway with other guests. The rooms are large and well appointed with antique style furniture, desk, wardrobe and clean large bathrooms. Only issue would be the mattress was in very poor shape and needs to be replaced.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank J O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre2011, Director of Sales at Bunratty Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your experience at our hotel. We do hope you will return again
Kind Regards,
Sales Team
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty
Co Clare
Tel 061 478 700
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bunratty
0.2 mi away
Bunratty Manor Hotel
Bunratty Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bunratty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
7.1 mi away
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Dromoland Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,073 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Oakwood Hotel
The Oakwood Hotel
#2 of 3 in Shannon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,070 reviews
12.3 mi away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,480 reviews
4.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Shannon Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bunratty Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bunratty Castle Hotel

Property: Bunratty Castle Hotel
Address: Shannon to Limerick Road, Bunratty, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Bunratty
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bunratty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bunratty Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bunratty Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing