We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Extremely nice hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bunratty Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bunratty
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Extremely nice hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

I've stayed at the Bunratty Castle Hotel several times and will continue to stay there anytime I visit the area or just passing through Co. Clare. The staff has always been very accommodating and helpful. The rooms have always been spotless and very spacious. If you need a hotel near and convenient to the Shannon Airport, I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre2011, Director of Sales at Bunratty Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Member,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Bunratty Castle Hotel. We’re thrilled to hear you are a returning guest. Thank you again for your review and recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you to Bunratty Castle Hotel again.
Kind Regards,
Sales Team
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty
Co Clare
Tel 061 478 700
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    431
    477
    262
    112
    62
See reviews for
350
498
51
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
122 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

I stayed here one night only...I travelled here to see the famous Banquet at Bunratty Castle. Somehow it has been running for years but I have never heard of it..Some blogger and traveller!
Anyways, now I can write away as the hotel, the village and everything else here was amazing. It highly recommended. Service at breakfast was great. People in the hotel are extremely friendly. Bar played good music and in general very pleasant atmosphere. Plenty of tourist. I must say I did not have a night like this in a very long time...and this was Wednesday...So you if want to go some place and feel like it is a weekend...Come here...Stayed 4th floor..executive...Large Large Room. See pics.

Room Tip: Executive floor for sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IrlandeRussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre2011, Director of Sales at Bunratty Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Member,
Thank you for sharing the details of your recent stay at Bunratty Castle Hotel. We’re thrilled to hear it was an enjoyable visit and that you enjoyed our music in Kathleen’s Bar. Thank you again for your review and recommendation. We hope you will return again to Bunratty Castle Hotel.
Kind Regards,
Sales Team
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty
Co Clare
Tel 061 478 700
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarksville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

This hotel is very accomodating, nice clean rooms just 15-20 minutes from Shannon airport in beautiful county Clare. The cost is excellent for the quality of rooms and its unique location. The hotel has its own restaurant as well as The Creamry and Durty Nelly's pub are within 5 minutes walk. While the nearby castle is frequented by many tourists the hotel is able to accomodate guests' needs in an effecient manner while avoiding any sense of uncomfortable waiting on groups. The staff on check-in was most gracious and helpful - exceeding the norm for most hotels. The staff responds as if you are the only guest they will attend at that moment; yet, they are very comfortable as if this is the norm.

The service alone would bring me back here. And, the beautiful west coast of county Clare with the cliffs of Mohr and the muisc of Doolin pubs are an hour's drive away. It's a great location while int transit at the Shannor airport or doing a bit of touring in the Emeral Isle..

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hurleyec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre2011, Director of Sales at Bunratty Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Member,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay on trip advisor.
I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us and that you would have no hesitation in returning to Bunratty Castle Hotel.
I have noted your comments with regard to the staff on check-in and I was delighted to read how highly you rate them.
Thank you once again, I do hope to see you back at the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Sales Team
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty
Co Clare
Tel 061 478 700
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

We booked this hotel because of its view of the Bunratty Castle and it did not disappoint. A very nice hotel with helpful staff. The room was sizable and comfortable. Just a quick walk to the Castle and Folk Park.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank parfleche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre2011, Director of Sales at Bunratty Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Member,
Thank you for choosing to stay at Bunratty Castle Hotel, I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. We have limited number of rooms with a view of the Castle & I am so pleased you were not disappointed. We do hope you will return to Bunratty Castle Hotel again

Kind Regards,
Sales Team
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty
Co Clare
Tel 061 478 700
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
96 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Ideally located for visiting the folk park
Room very spacious clean
Nice hotel stayed here before so knew what to expect
Very comfortable present stay right across the way from the folk park and dirty nellys pub
Lots to see and do here very close to limerick as well

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobbyOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre2011, Director of Sales at Bunratty Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review about your recent stay at our hotel. We are delighted to hear you are returning guests. We are pleased to hear you had a comfortable stay & looking forward to welcoming you again to Bunratty Castle Hotel.

Kind Regards,
Sales Team
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty
Co Clare
Tel 061 478 700
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portadown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 night break (2 nights would have been enough.
Plus points location couldn't fault right near folk park and castle (folk park is brill), the leisure centre was excellent to.
Rooms ok bit outdated but clean, breakfast was adequate bit could've done with fresh fruit and some yogurts which they did'nt have.
We didn't use restaurant or bar for food (as there are a couple of lovely pubs nearby (the creamery bar was excellent) the reason we didnt use the bar for food was service very slow we ordered drinks on one night had to wait 20 mins plus for a cocktail very short staffed.
Not a bad place to stay bit it is more catered for coach tours prob would stay agay if in area but for no more than 2 mights










Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank 70beckyboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre2011, Director of Sales at Bunratty Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review about your recent stay at our hotel. we do hope you will return again

Kind Regards,
Sales Team
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty
Co Clare
Tel 061 478 700
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
134 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

If you're looking to stay near Shannon on business, then the Bunratty Castle Hotel is a good bet. The staff is friendly, and the rooms clean and fairly modern. There are a number of places to eat within close walking distance, a small pool, sauna, steam room, hot tub and gym. Food in the bar is tasty and there's a fair number of different beers and stouts available.

Something to watch out for: during the tourist season, there are lots of coach parties who come through. You want to be on the Executive Floor: you'll be able to eat breakfast in peace in the Library, and you're out of the way on the top floor. The other rooms may be fine, and I've never had problems with the coach parties (mainly from the US), but if lots of people traipsing through the public areas of the hotel bothers you, then watch out.

There's now wifi in the rooms (I believe this is quite new - Internet access was previously wired), and throughout the hotel. There have been teething problems, and it sometimes goes down: I'd expect this to be ironed out soon.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the Executive Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeCamel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre2011, Director of Sales at Bunratty Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review about your recent stay at Bunratty Castle Hotel. Thank you for your kind remarks regarding our staff. Also, we’re glad to hear you were pleased with your dining experiences both for dinner and breakfast. We are looking forward to welcoming you back upon your return. Thank you again for your review.

Kind Regards,
Sales Team
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty
Co Clare
Tel 061 478 700
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bunratty
0.1 mi away
Bunratty Manor Hotel
Bunratty Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bunratty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Oakwood Hotel
The Oakwood Hotel
#2 of 3 in Shannon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,452 reviews
13.5 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
4.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Shannon Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bunratty Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bunratty Castle Hotel

Property: Bunratty Castle Hotel
Address: Shannon to Limerick Road, Bunratty, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Bunratty
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bunratty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bunratty Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Bunratty Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing