We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice Lodging Near Bunratty Castle” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bunratty Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bunratty
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
111 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Very Nice Lodging Near Bunratty Castle”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

This is a large hotel located on the hill just across from Bunratty Castle. It is very comfortable and roomy. And you can't beat the price. We paid 99 euros for their Deluxe Double and found it very comfortable met our needs. Our view was of an old church ruin and grave yard.

They have a good restaurant and bar on site and there are several excellent restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre2011, Director of Sales at Bunratty Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Member,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at Bunratty Castle Hotel. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.
Thank you for all your comments in relation to your to our bedrooms & Fibber McGees Steakhouse. . We look forward to welcoming you back to Bunratty Castle Hotel.

Kind Regards,
Sales Team
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty
Co Clare
Tel 061 478 700
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    432
    479
    262
    112
    62
See reviews for
351
500
51
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed here on our honeymoon last year and were treated so well we had to come back for our anniversay.On both occasions we were upgraded to a suite with compliments from the most friendly receptionists you could wish to meet. The Angsana spa is without doubt the best we have come across. Got couples massages both times and the relaxation room is a perfect addition to the experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dc28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre2011, Director of Sales at Bunratty Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Member,
Congratulations on your first anniversary, we are delighted you spent your anniversary with us at Bunratty Castle Hotel. Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Bunratty Castle Hotel. We are delighted that our receptionist was able to upgrade you complementary especially when you celebrated your honeymoon with us.
Thank you for all your comments in relation to your recent stay. We look forward to welcoming you back next year for your second anniversary.

Kind Regards,
Sales Team
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty
Co Clare
Tel 061 478 700
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

The hotel exterior is nice, charming. The staff was helpful and accommodating. However, even though the rooms were spacious, they were extremely outdated and worn. Our sheets and comforters were stained, the toilets wouldn't flush properly, the television was old and not a single channel came in properly or got proper reception. Rooms seem to have little insulation, could hear every noise in the hall and room doors almost seem to slam closed, extremely loud and disruptive. The breakfast buffet was decent but did not provide many options.

Room Tip: Tip: Request a room on the 4th floor, executive level. From what I have heard, these rooms are muc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KEL062014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre2011, Director of Sales at Bunratty Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Member,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at our hotel. Thank you for all your comments in relation to your recent stay, I have passed all your comments & review to our management team. We do hope you will choose to visit us again, and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,
Sales Team
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty
Co Clare
Tel 061 478 700
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We booked three rooms and were given three really good sized bed rooms. The rooms were clean and very comfortable overlooking a small garden and fountain. Breakfast was excellent with a great deal of choice. The staff were very friendly. We would definitely stay there again. Great sized car park which is not always the case with some hotels.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzanneReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre2011, Director of Sales at Bunratty Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Member,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Bunratty Castle Hotel. Thank you for your compliments regarding our breakfast. I’m also pleased. We do hope you will choose to visit us again, and we look forward to welcoming you back. Thank you again for taking the time to post a review.

Kind Regards,
Sales Team
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty
Co Clare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Britain, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

My family of 6 recently stayed here. We had 3 rooms (2 adjoining); they do have triple/family rooms, but none were available at the time we were there. This was the 5th hotel we stayed at on our trip, and I believe they have the most comfortable beds in all of Ireland! Our rooms were on the first floor, each with a king-sized bed, and overlooked the courtyard. When our window was open we could hear the water fountain which was very nice. Each room has it's own doorbell, which I thought added to the charm. The hotel is located directly across the street from Durty Nelly's and Bunratty Castle & Folk Park (we had reservations at the famous Traditional Irish dinner at the Folk Park).They have a restaurant, pub, pool (you need to wear a bathing cap), a spa and exercise room. They also offer free wifi, but this is extremely slow, if it works at all. When I asked about this at this front desk, the girl said her wifi was working fine and to try another location. I tried several locations in the hotel, without success. This was just a minor issue for me; however, if you absolutely need to be connected, keep this in mind. You may use computers near the lobby for a cost (I believe it is 1 euro for 8mins). We stayed here on our last night in Ireland; we were flying home from Shannon airport, which was only 15mins away. If I had known the hotel would be so comfortable & relaxing, I would've flown into Shannon and started our vacation here. Since we would be leaving before the start of their included breakfast, the lady at the reception desk arranged to have a continental breakfast ready for us at 5am in the dining room! That was very thoughtful. This hotel is elegant but comfortable. Do not hesitate to book here, but do it early if you are travelling in a busy season!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre2011, Director of Sales at Bunratty Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Member,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Bunratty Castle Hotel. We’re delighted to hear that you found your stay with us very enjoyable.
Thank you for your compliments regarding our bedrooms and our courtyard. I’m also pleased our location was convenient for you. We do hope you will choose to visit us again, and we look forward to welcoming you back. Thank you again for taking the time to post a review.

Kind Regards,
Sales Team
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty
Co Clare
Tel 061 478 700
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plantsville, Connecticut
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

The Bunratty was a very comfortable hotel. Staff was nice and accommodating. Convenient to the Shannnon airport. Walking distance to Bunratty Castle and Durty Nellie's. Also shopping across the street. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre2011, Director of Sales at Bunratty Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Member,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Bunratty Castle Hotel and your recommendation. We hope you will return to Bunratty Castle Hotel again.
Kind Regards,
Sales Team
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty
Co Clare
Tel 061 478 700
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

I've stayed at the Bunratty Castle Hotel several times and will continue to stay there anytime I visit the area or just passing through Co. Clare. The staff has always been very accommodating and helpful. The rooms have always been spotless and very spacious. If you need a hotel near and convenient to the Shannon Airport, I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre2011, Director of Sales at Bunratty Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Member,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Bunratty Castle Hotel. We’re thrilled to hear you are a returning guest. Thank you again for your review and recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you to Bunratty Castle Hotel again.
Kind Regards,
Sales Team
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty
Co Clare
Tel 061 478 700
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bunratty
0.1 mi away
Bunratty Manor Hotel
Bunratty Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bunratty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Oakwood Hotel
The Oakwood Hotel
#2 of 3 in Shannon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,456 reviews
4.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Shannon Airport
13.5 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bunratty Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bunratty Castle Hotel

Property: Bunratty Castle Hotel
Address: Shannon to Limerick Road, Bunratty, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Bunratty
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bunratty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bunratty Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Bunratty Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing