We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location & Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bunratty
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel for one night as part of a Trafalgar Tour. The hotel was elegant and nicely furnished. Our room was average; we wished we had a safe and a fridge. Our t.v. remote also did not work, however, the hotel staff came to our room and tried to make it function. The hotel is extremely well-located. We attended the Medieval Banquet at the Castle and then went to Durty Nelly's pub. A good time was had by everyone in our group. I would certainly recommend this hotel for its cleanliness, convenient location, and hospitality.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank GoRdrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre2011, Director of Sales at Bunratty Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Many Thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay here at BunrattyCastle Hotel, I am delighted to hear that you found the place so welcoming , with a high standard of cleanliness and with a good location, located across the road from the Bunratty Castle.

I do hope that should you return to the Bunratty area, that you will consider staying with us here at Bunratty Castle Hotel.

Regards,
The Sales Team
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty
Co Clare
Tel 061 478 700

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,473)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

757 - 763 of 1,473 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Beautiful exterior. For the price, the rooms were decent sized and well laid out but the place is a little tired and worn. It needs better management.

Rips in the material on the headboard, torn seats with tape covering the tears in the breakfast room - just unacceptable and a bad reflection on the management.

The breakfast was adequate. All staff were very pleasant and welcoming.

Excellent location for Bunratty and the bars and Shannon airport. Nice pool (indoor). Bring a swimming hat if you are female - odd rule in Irish swimming pools.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank SUVG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre2011, Director of Sales at Bunratty Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Tripadvisor Member,
Thank you for taking the time to write about a review about your recent stay at our hotel. It is through our guest’s feedback that we can make improvements and any adjustments as needed; we do hope you will return to Bunratty Castle Hotel
Kind Regards,
Sales Team
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty
Co Clare
Tel 061 478 700

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The hotel is just next to Bunratty Castle for history and Durty Nellys for a meal. The rooms were spacious, the staff were friendly and service oriented. During our 2 night stay, there was a wedding party going on. We ate the hotel restaurant where the service and the quality of the food were excellent. Breakfast could be better though with more things to select from. There are som shopping facilities just outside the hotel. We were lucky enough to experience sunshine during our stay and had the chance to sit in the hotel garden with a glass of cider and a blue sky. The hotel has a spa and swimming pool facilities and the staff there are very helpful. It´s a place we would come back to.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 360Spi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre2011, Director of Sales at Bunratty Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Tripadvisor Member,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at Bunratty Castle Hotel .
I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back to Bunratty Castle Hotel
Kind Regards,
Sales Team
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty
Co Clare
Tel 061 478 700

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed here for one night and it's a pity it wasn't for longer. The hotel is lovely and even though we arrived quite late there was no trouble getting food in the bar. It was great value for money and I would recommend it as a base to explore the surrounding area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MBW24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre2011, Director of Sales at Bunratty Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Tripadvisor Member,
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at Bunratty Cattle Hotel. We do hope you will return again to Bunratty Castle Hotel
Kind Regards,
Sales Team
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty
Co Clare
Tel 061 478 700

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I had to be in Shannon for a couple of days and stayed one night in this very pleasant hotel. It's close enough to Shannon but it feels like being in the middle of the Irish country side, located in the medieval village of Bunratty. The room was very good, no complaints there. And staff was very friendly: although the kitchen was closed by the time I arrived, the woman at the bar prepared me a something to eat just the same.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoostWillemsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre2011, Director of Sales at Bunratty Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write about a review of Bunratty Castle Hotel. We do hope the next time you are in the area you will stay at Bunratty Castle Hotel
Kind Regards,
Sales Team
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty
Co Clare
Tel 061 478 700

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We stayed here for one night on a CIE Tour. This by far was the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. The common areas are nice looking,the room was a dump. Old dirty carpet literally bubbling up on floor, no working AC, hot water tap in bathroom sink broken and shower head had no downspout and water shot horizontally across shower. Disgusting poorly kept hotel. Do not stay here.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank kprince430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre2011, Director of Sales at Bunratty Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Tripadvisor Member,
Thank you for your feedback regarding your experience at the hotel. I would like to offer my apologies that you were disappointed in your stay. We will explore these issues and make adjustments where necessary.
Thank you again for your comments.

Kind Regards,
Sales Team
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty
Co Clare
Tel 061 478 700

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Stayed here one night, sole purpose was to meet up with friends and attend the banquet a few minutes walk away at Bunratty Castle. Vivienne at reception was very friendly and efficient, in fact went out of the way on hearing two of our party were on honeymoon, she insured everything was top notch. Our room was quite spacious as was the bathroom, wi fi sigmal throughout the hotel. We spent short while in Kathleens bar, observed others enjoying tempting food. You need transport if staying here, as is a few mile from Limerick but Is close to Shannon airport , if using this airport. Breakfast was buffet style, plentiful and tasteful. Considering the price we were very happy.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ontheroadagain567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre2011, Director of Sales at Bunratty Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Tripadvisor Member,
Thank you for taking the time to write about a review about your recent stay at Bunratty Castle Hotel.
I will be sure to pass your remarks along to our Manager at the front desk & Vivienne. We do hope to welcome you back to the hotel again soon. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review.
Kind Regards,
Sales Team
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty
Co Clare
Tel 061 478 700

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bunratty
7.1 mi away
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Dromoland Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
3,464 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bunratty Manor Hotel
Bunratty Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bunratty
424 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Oakwood Hotel
The Oakwood Hotel
#2 of 3 in Shannon
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
1,248 reviews
4.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
12.3 mi away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
1,626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bunratty Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bunratty Castle Hotel

Address: Shannon to Limerick Road, Bunratty, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Bunratty
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bunratty
Price Range: £93 - £505 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bunratty Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bunratty Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing