We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Had a great family party and enjoyable stay. ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bunratty
Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Had a great family party and enjoyable stay. ”
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

I threw a surprise party for my husband here last weekend 9th August we also stayed two nights.
The reception staff members on saturday and Sunday were lovely and nothing was too much trouble on check out though the staff member just said that's all paid no did you enjoy your stay or any nice words like are you heading home or on to somewhere else.
The party was a complete success all food served was lovely and there was plenty of it. The room was a nice size and we had a great time. The only down side was I had booked food for 930 and the manager at 930 came to me when wouldn't like the food to be served so that was a little blip but wasnt a huge deal.
The room we had was quite and had air conditioning but some of our party group had none so ask for a room with it.
The food was ok the breakfast rashers were not cooked enough and the sausages were over done on both days. The pastries were not topped up either day we were there.
The dinners all seem to come with chips and salad for the children no option for veg now I didn't ask for them but it should be on the menu if available the first day we ate in the bar portions were good and food nicely done.
Second night we ate in the restaurant and the two adults had the meal for 30eur and the two kids meals. The food was good but I was disgusted when the bill came and I was charged 12 Eur per child meal ever though they only had a main course and Icecream was expensive at 12 Eur when I asked I was told you charged for the starter whether the kids have it or not. Felt this was a sneaky policy and not anywhere on the menu.
Overall the experience was good it would have been excellent except for the reception member on Monday morning and the charging for a starter the kids never had.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank annl27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre2011, Director of Sales at Bunratty Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 24 September 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at the hotel. We’re so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the food and service superb. What a wonderful compliment. I would like to offer my sincere apologies for any disappointment you felt due to the bill & also our front desk staff on checkout, these comments have been passed onto our management team. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Thank you again for your review.
Regards,
The Sales Team
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty
Co. Clare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,379 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    437
    494
    268
    117
    63
See reviews for
364
512
51
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

My wife and I just traveled for 10 days in Ireland (4 different hotel/bed & breakfast properties) and this was by far the worst experience. The exterior of the hotel is gorgeous but the pictures on Bookings.com misrepresent the overall quality of this property and it should be 2 star property... not luxury class. The rooms are spacious, nicely appointed and clean. However, If you like lots of drunk local wedding people on weekends and 5-6 bus loads of people departing each day at 6am, you may love it. The lobby & hallway carpets are worn and dated. The breakfasts are tolerable but bland tasting plus assortment of food is minimal. Staff seemed ok but not especially cheerful or happy to help. Free Wi-Fi service is AWFUL (turtle slow throughout hotel) and very difficult to log-in and stay connected. The main elevator is extremely slow and wait times can go at least 5-10 minutes. Parking is free but spaces are hard to find much of the day. Next time we will stay at a local B&B with better ratings.

Room Tip: Wi-Fi is free but useless since its hard to access and we couldn't download any of our emails or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre2011, Director of Sales at Bunratty Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 24 September 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at the hotel. My sincere apologies for your disappointed stay.

Regards,
The Sales Team
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty
Co. Clare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

we loved this hotel so near the airport but no noise, staff were mature and took time and let you relax, food excellent breakfast small but everything you need, very well attended by the americans which is a very good sign, we loved it
our family room was lovely requests were all accepted
poor wifi
terrible pool too warm not attended children running and jumping in on top of people and fully dressed adults in the pool taking pictures!!! an acident waiting to happen dont distroy your beautiful hotel. adults shouldnt be using cameras in a pool enviroment and parents shouldnt be sleeping on loungers while their children play havock
you need new carpet and some major redecorating just due to wear and tear -just shows how well used it is
definitely go to Kathleens bar dining room was ok, and durty nellies and the castle!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IrelandFailte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre2011, Director of Sales at Bunratty Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 24 September 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at the hotel. We’re so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the food and staff superb. What a wonderful compliment.. I would like to offer my sincere apologies for any disappointment you felt due to our leisure facilities, these comments have been rectified. We do hope you will return again
Regards,
The Sales Team
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty
Co. Clare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
249 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Stayed two night upon arrival from Canada. The charming hotel is host to many folks who stay one of two nights as part of tours. Staff are very friendly and courteous. The rooms was comfortable and well appointed. Enjoyed a light snack and drinks in the bar. The hotel is situated right across the street from the Bun Ratty Castle and other shops so this makes the visit extra special. Would recommend this hotel is you are in the Shannon area of Ireland.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mschmitt255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre2011, Director of Sales at Bunratty Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 24 September 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Firstly Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay here at Bunratty Castle Hotel, I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Bunratty Castle Hotel in the future

Regards,
The Sales Team
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty
Co. Clare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Beautiful hotel right across the street from Bunratty Castle we did the evening medieval dinner at the castle got there a little early and walked the medieval park which was also great the hotel was very well appointed and staff friendly rooms were big and well appointed nice outside area in front free wifi also not a bad price for the luxury

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DTC8187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre2011, Director of Sales at Bunratty Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Bunratty Castle Hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience of your stay with us. We’re so pleased to hear your kind remarks regarding the helpfulness and friendliness of our staff. Thank you again for your review, and we hope to be able to welcome you back should you return to Bunratty

Regards,
The Sales Team
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty
Co Clare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
106 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Loved staying here. A very charming hotel. The staff was friendly, comfortable beds, good food. My room was very spacious. It is located within a short walk of the Bunratty castle and folk park. The spa was also a great value. Would definitely recommend a few nights here.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lwr1818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre2011, Director of Sales at Bunratty Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Bunratty Castle Hotel, Thank you for your kind words. We do hope you will return to Bunratty Castle Hotel.

Regards,
The Sales Team
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty
Co Clare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oshawa, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

The staff was very helpful. When we arrived there was a wedding reception happening and the staff still accommodated our bus tour. No one seemed rushed and all the staff had smiles on their faces. The room was airy and bright and very comfortable. We had to get up very early so the staff accommodated the 8 of us with a buffet breakfast. They even brought out gluten free bread for my breakfast! Big thank you for that. I would recommend this establishment without hesitation.

Room Tip: There were some renovations going on so I would recommend that you inquire, before booking a room, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beverly589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre2011, Director of Sales at Bunratty Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for your kind words and your recent review of your stay at Bunratty Castle Hotel. We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. And thank you again for your review and recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel should you return to Bunratty.

Regards,
The Sales Team
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty
Co Clare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bunratty
0.2 mi away
Bunratty Manor Hotel
Bunratty Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bunratty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
7.1 mi away
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Dromoland Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,152 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Oakwood Hotel
The Oakwood Hotel
#2 of 3 in Shannon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
12.3 mi away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,510 reviews
4.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Shannon Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bunratty Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bunratty Castle Hotel

Property: Bunratty Castle Hotel
Address: Shannon to Limerick Road, Bunratty, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Bunratty
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bunratty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bunratty Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Bunratty Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing