We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Fairy Tale Castle”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bunratty
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“No Fairy Tale Castle”
Reviewed 31 August 2014

We only stayed at this Hotel as we were attending a wedding there .We were given room 411 on the 4th floor which is classed as the executive corridor.The carpets in the corridor had been patched up and were fraying at the edges. There is nothing executive about this floor.
Three of the light bulbs were not working and although this was reported to the management nothing was done about it on the day of arrival.
The tv was located in the bedroom and as well as a poor choice of programs could only be viewed by sitting on the bed rather than the more comfortable seating area adjoining the bedroom..The furnishings were tired and the drawers in the desk had collapsed.
On the second day. after once again reporting the issue to management they sent in an electrician.notwithstanding this when we went to bed later that evening none of the electrics worked .we went to bed in the dark. as the electric master switch was heating up. Despite a complaint to the Manager no redress.
The bottom line is do not pay in full in advance at this hotel. On the plus side the staff are very friendly and helpful. I would still not stop here again.

Room Tip: Make detailed advance enquiries as to what is in the room .Do not pay in full before you stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chloedog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre2011, Director of Sales at Bunratty Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 24 September 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for taking the time to share the details of your recent stay at the hotel. We appreciate hearing guest’s feedback as we are continually aiming to improve. We’re disheartened to hear that you were disappointed in some aspects of your visit .Please know that I have passed along all of your comments to our management team I also like to offer my sincere apologies that you had a negative experience. Thank you again for your review and I do hope you will allow us another opportunity to redeem ourselves.

Regards,
The Sales Team
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty
Co. Clare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    441
    499
    275
    118
    63
See reviews for
369
518
51
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hemet, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014

We enjoyed our stay here, and the hotel and guest rooms were very nice, clean, quiet and spacious. The hotel is located within a short walk to the castle and village. I can recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a nice room convenient to the sights in Bunratty.

We visited Bunratty Castle and village which were so interesting. That evening we attended the dinner show which should not be missed.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank suitcase-in-tow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre2011, Director of Sales at Bunratty Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Menber

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Bunratty Castle Hotel. We do hope you will return to Bunratty Castle Hotel again if you are in the area.
Regards,
The Sales Team
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty
Co. Clare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Stayed here last night and I highly recommend it, the welcome you get and the friendly staff from the reception to the bar was second to none. Food was excellent and reasonably priced.
In the words of Arnie, "I'll be back "

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank damienhugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre2011, Director of Sales at Bunratty Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Menber

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Bunratty Castle Hotel. I am so happy to hear you’ll be back. Looking forward to welcoming you again to Bunratty Castle Hotel

Regards,
The Sales Team
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty
Co. Clare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014

What can i say about this place! The staff go above and beyond to ensure a great stay. They are so welcoming and helpful whether you want a ham sandwich or you have an issue that needs sorting.

The rooms are very tidy, clean and comfortable. I had 2 rooms whilst staying here. the first was a double room which had a huge comfortable bed , shower room and settee area on the 4th floor. the second room was a suite. That was amazing!

I stayed here for 2 nights. the second night was our wedding night, we had our reception at the hotel. The castle suite was incredible. The location, staff and great hotel made for an amazing experience!

Room Tip: 4th floor is best, however all the floors are still good. Away from lift shaft if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rich_uk1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre2011, Director of Sales at Bunratty Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Menber

Thank you for your lovely review which I will share with all the team at Bunratty Castle Hotel. I am so happy you shared your special day with us and hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to visit us again soon.

Regards,
The Sales Team
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty
Co. Clare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014

We were travelling with a large group so we had 4 different rooms. Everyone raved about how great the rooms were. We had an elevator, lots of space, great water pressure, large comfortable beds and lighting with a magnifying mirror in bathroom so we could see to put on makeup. The location was close to airport but you never heard any planes flying over. It was right across the street from great shopping, restaurants and the Bunratty Castle. Lots to do here and plenty to keep everyone busy and happy.

Room Tip: From what I could see, all of the rooms were great and they all had air conditioning and heat. Our r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mommac50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre2011, Director of Sales at Bunratty Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Menber

Thank you for your positive feedback.
We are delighted you loved our accommodation & our local amenities; we do hope we can welcome you back to Bunratty Castle Hotel again
Regards,
The Sales Team
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty
Co. Clare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3nights in a family room.can not fault a single thing about the hotel.spotless clean,well maintained,staff were so nice and helpful and made the kids feel welcome,specially when my 4yr refused to eat her dinner,the waitress brought her stuff to occupy her and the chef offered to make her anything she wanted.such a lovely place.x

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jo2of5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre2011, Director of Sales at Bunratty Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Menber

Thank you for your lovely feedback.
We work hard at improving the product and service here at Bunratty Castle Hotel, and hope we are fulfilling this service to a high standard, but positive feedback like yours is wonderful to hear that we are on the right track and thank you for sharing your view.
We do hope we can welcome you back to Bunratty Castle Hotel again
Regards,
The Sales Team
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty
Co. Clare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We were travelling with a young child, so just 3 of us. I booked a family room, which I only needed an extra bed in one room. When we arrived, staff welcomed us happily and told us that we have two rooms. The beds are both king size and the space we had in the room was too big to make a mess. My child was so exited to sleep in a huge bed on her own. The food were served until 9.30pm, so we were delightful that after coming back from dinner, we were still able to order some dessert. Pool in this hotel is small, and there are only 2 shower cubicles in the changing room. It may not be suitable for a family with babies or young children as the building is very historical and we found lots of steps and doors to go to the reception from the room. However we had a great time here with the service we received, so I think we would come back again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TenkoMori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre2011, Director of Sales at Bunratty Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Menber

Thank you for taking the time to review Bunratty Castle Hotel
I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us & the interconnecting rooms we will be delighted to welcome you back to Bunratty Castle hotel in the near future again

Once again, thank you for taking the time to leave your review
Regards,
The Sales Team
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty
Co. Clare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bunratty
0.2 mi away
Bunratty Manor Hotel
Bunratty Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bunratty
403 reviews
7.1 mi away
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Dromoland Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
3,224 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Oakwood Hotel
The Oakwood Hotel
#2 of 3 in Shannon
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
1,113 reviews
4.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
4.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Shannon Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bunratty Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bunratty Castle Hotel

Property: Bunratty Castle Hotel
Address: Shannon to Limerick Road, Bunratty, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Bunratty
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bunratty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bunratty Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Bunratty Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing