We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Choice!”
Review of Briar Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Briar Lodge
Ranked #6 of 23 Bunratty B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2013

This gorgeous property was recommended to us by a colleague who had toured southern Ireland the previous summer. Briar Lodge was, by far, my favorite bed and breakfast on the trip! When you drive up to the property, it is clear that the owners love and care for their home. There are gorgeous flowers everywhere, and every spot is perfectly manicured. We were greeted by Trish, who, I had been told, was an absolute joy. She was cheerful, informative, funny, and at-the-ready for any need that arose. The room we stayed in at the top of the stairs to the right was perfect for us. It had been recently finished, so the room was bright, spacious, and fresh. The breakfast provided by Trish was like having morning tea with the queen. She prepared an elegant table, asked for our preferences, then cheerfully delivered a five star breakfast to each of us. In truth, I would return to Bunratty just to stay at Briar Lodge.

Room Tip: Oops! I accidentally said the swimming pool was excellent, however there is no pool. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jwgriffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (92)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2013

I say make Briar Lodge your first stop in Ireland so it can set the tone for your entire trip. My sister Lisa has already extolled the virtues of Briar Lodge and Trish, its proprietor, but I have to add my two cents! Trish did all the things Lisa said and more. The lodge seemed to be magical, with a riot of colorful flowers and bright red accent pieces in the gardens. Not only was our room comfortable, but Trish made the lodge feel like our home. It was inviting. It was warm. It was welcoming. We were exhausted from a long flight and my luggage was lost, yet Trish made it all seem fine. I wish we could've spent more time there and if I'm lucky enough to visit Ireland again, I will certainly make Briar Lodge my first stop. We miss you, Trish! :) Joan and Lisa

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1A1D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

If you are looking for a wonderful B&B in Bunratty, then book a stay at the Briar Lodge. We spent a night there while we toured the nearby castle. Trish is amazing; the home is gorgeous; the service was wonderful!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

My sister and I chose Briar Lodge because of all the nice things people said about the proprietor, Trish!
And she was everything they said she was...and more!
Trish greeted us with tea and cake after our long flights! Delicious ...but we needed something less sweet. We asked for a slice of toast to tide us over until dinner. Trish brought out a basket of toast and scones, six different flavored of yogurt, fruit, and biscuits!
The airline had lost my sister's luggage and called us to come pick it up the next day. Trish refused to let us drive! She drove us herself! Then she told us not to worry about check-out time since we'd lost time going to the airport!
Yes, Briar Lodge is beautiful and clean. The Irish Breakfast is delicious, and the beds are the most comfortable on earth...but none of this compares to how wonderful Trish makes you feel when she welcomes you into her home!
Briar Lodge is a must!
Trish is a gift from heaven!
Lisa and Joan Martin

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samssocute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We stayed at Briar Lodge for 3 nights, our room and bathroom was spotless, beautifully maintained, well organised and the garden was lovely to sit out in the evenings. Breakfast was excellent, Trish was extremely knowledgeable with the area and gave us some great advice for our day trips. It was the best B & B we stayed at during our tour around Ireland and we will definitely return. We absolutely recommend it to anyone wishing to stay in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicci B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Briar Lodge was a little difficult to find, as the GPS coordinates in the book were a little off, but no worries: One call and Trish was in her car to come lead us in. The location near Shannon airport is very nice, but the real bonus was the well-run, clean, and extraordinarily friendly hostess. She helped us sort ourselves out, get the rental car prepared for turn-in, and served a wonderful breakfast. Of the nine B & B's we stayed at on this trip, her's was our favorite.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DRC406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

We stayed at Briar Lodge for 2 nights,Trish, our hostess made sure our stay was one to remember, the rooms and factilities were of an excellent standard. It is a lovely, friendly and welcoming B&B. Location is great, as near the airport and local tourist spots. Would definitely recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bunratty hotels
0.9 mi away
The Courtyard
The Courtyard
#1 of 23 in Bunratty
275 reviews
0.7 mi away
ParkHouse Bed & Breakfast
ParkHouse Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 23 in Bunratty
286 reviews
0.7 mi away
Headley Court B&B
Headley Court B&B
#7 of 23 in Bunratty
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bunratty
1,488 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bunratty Manor Hotel
Bunratty Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bunratty
429 reviews
0.6 mi away
Avarest Bunratty B&B
Avarest Bunratty B&B
#12 of 23 in Bunratty
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Briar Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Briar Lodge

Address: Hill Road, Bunratty, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Bunratty
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Bunratty
Price Range: £29 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dormer style bungalow situated 1.5 km from Bunratty village. Quiet Cul-de-Sac. Comfortable friendly home. Ideal base for touring Clare. Tea/Coffee in all rooms. Wireless Broadband. Guest Lounge and Breakfast Menu. Recommended by Lonely Planet and Brendan Vacations. Prices: Bed and Breakfast per person sharing: 35 euro Single rate: 45-50 euro ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers so you can book your Briar Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing