We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conveniently located comfortable B&B”
Review of Headley Court B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Headley Court B&B
Ranked #7 of 23 Bunratty B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We were referred to here by another local B&B owner who was full. Kathleen was a welcoming and friendly host. She responded quickly to my booking and confirmation emails. It is conveniently located 10 -15 minutes from the airport and about 1 mile from Bunratty Castle. Location was important to us as we were arriving after an overnight flight and were not used to driving on the left. We paid more for an early arrival to take a nap. ($110 instead of $70 and well worth it.) The B&B was quiet except for some guests arriving home late at night who woke us. Although they were not being particularly loud, our room on the first floor was adjacent to the staircase/foyer so talking in normal voices carried.

The entire B&B was spotless. The room was roomy, the two queen beds comfortable and the bathroom spacious. Good shower. Plenty of hot water. There was tea making equipment in the room. There is a large comfortable common room. My daughter enjoyed playing with the electronic chess set.

The breakfast room was bright and pretty. Good breads, preserves, juice. The scrambled eggs weren’t great and the coffee a bit weak. Unless you must have coffee in the morning, go with the tea.

Because the room was not charged at double the rate for early check in, we were asked (ahead of time) to pay in cash. We didn’t see a cash machine at the airport and the nearest cash machine was at the Woolen Mills next to Bunratty Castle.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Ripsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (216)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 216 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2013

I stayed in this Guesthouse last Saturday night with my wife and 6 month old baby. It was spotlessly clean all over. The room was very classy and elegant. It was excellent value at only 70 euros for a Saturday night. But what made it for me was the charming host, who was helpful in every way possible. We will be staying here again.

Room Tip: Call to book your reservation as you may get a better price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Nomadic_Mick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Kathleen, our hostess, had made this into the most delightful B & B that we stayed in. It is beautiful and welcoming and has everything that one can ask for. Even the en suite was huge and elegant! I really enjoyed the French Toast which was my choice for breakfast, and made an interesting variation on the breakfast theme. The coffee with which Kathleen filled our flask the next morning was piping hot even hours later, thanks to her taking the trouble to heat the milk. Lovely stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank HelenZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We had been staying for several years with Kathleen's mother-in-law Mary, who ran a wonderful B&B in Bunratty. When Mary stopped doing B&B last year, she put us with her daughter-in-law Kathleen, and we stayed with Kathleen again this past June. Kathleen's B&B is every bit as elegant as Mary's was, and Kathleen is a wonderful hostess. She is friendly, helpful, cheerful and energetic. The rooms are large, well decorated, clean and comfortable. Her rates are quite reasonable. Although we miss Mary, we are very happy to have found Kathleen.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank deedeetee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

My husband & I travelled arounf Ireland with my 87 year old mother and a couple of our close friends. We've visited Bunratty before and loved the place but this was our first stay at Headley Court and we were not disappointed. Kathleen was the perfect hostess, nothing was too much trouble for her, she did her best to meet all our needs -even went out to buy brown sauce specially for my husband and found us a Scrabble board game to use. The house was gorgeous with a lovely lounge just for the use of guests. My mother was thrilled with her room as often single rooms are small but this room was large, beautifully decorated with a lovely. ensuite. Breakfast was lovely and well presented.Special mention must go to Lauren(?) daughter of the house. She was charming and very talented, entertained us by singing and playing 2 songs in the evening -what a lovely touch that made our stay there evn more memoarble. Very reasonable charges. One of Ireland's hidden gems.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank jojoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

What can I say - staying at Headley Court is becoming a habit we really enjoy! Standards are consistently high. Once again, we had the most comfortable beds in very spacious and immaculately clean rooms. Breakfast made to order was fantastic and as we stayed two nights we were able to sample different dishes each morning. We will be back!!

Room Tip: Make a booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank bags55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

This summer my family, consisting of my husband, two teenage sons and myself decided to holiday in Ireland staying in a variety of accommodation. We had pre-booked Headley Court for one night. On arrival we were greeted by Kathleen who was so friendly and yet professional. Being so impressed with the whole place, within minutes of being checked in, we asked if it was possible to stay for the remainder of the week and to our delight Kathleen was able to accommodate us. We occupied two rooms which were more spacious and inviting than the 4 star hotel we had booked the previous two nights. Bathrooms were huge with great shower pressure. After a wonderful sleep and a fantastic breakfast (the best ever) my husband and sons left to play golf nearby while I decided to relax and catch up on my reading in such relaxing surroundings. The following days were spent touring the Bunratty Castle, Quinn,Craggaurowen, Loop Head and the Burren returning each evening to a wonderful atmosphere where Kathleen was always on hand to offer help without being intrusive. At one B&B we returned after a day at the shops to be greeted by the landlady with 'show and tell'. For us that was 'too friendly' and we like our space. Headley Court is a 4 star B&B which has the space of a 4 star hotel and we were very impressed. Next time we are in the South we will definitely stay with the Brownes.

Room Tip: My guess is that all rooms are perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Marie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bunratty
5.8 mi away
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Dromoland Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
3,522 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bunratty
1,482 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bunratty Manor Hotel
Bunratty Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bunratty
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Avarest Bunratty B&B
Avarest Bunratty B&B
#12 of 23 in Bunratty
227 reviews
1.0 mi away
ParkHouse Bed & Breakfast
ParkHouse Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 23 in Bunratty
286 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Courtyard
The Courtyard
#1 of 23 in Bunratty
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Headley Court B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Headley Court B&B

Address: Deerpark | Bunratty, Bunratty 00353, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Bunratty
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Bunratty
Price Range: £64 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Headley Court, your gateway to the West of Ireland. Conveniently located off the N18 & only five miles from Shannon Airport. It is truly your ideal base if making the most of your time in Ireland is paramount. On our door step one can tour the world renowned Bunratty Castle, or maybe enjoy a tipple in ‘Durty Nellie’s’, one of the most famous pubs in the world! The world famous Cliffs of Moher, The Burren, the quaint village of Adare, historical city of Limerick & the infamous Blarney Stone are merely a sampling of the activities at hand & all within an easy driving times (1 & 1/2 hours max). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Headley Court B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing