We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very impressed indeed” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Headley Court B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Headley Court B&B
Ranked #11 of 25 Bunratty B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tarbert, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very impressed indeed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

Last month we attended a wedding in Bunratty and stayed at Headley Court as it was already booked by our friends. In my line of work I have occasion to regularly overnight in 'good' hotels. Headley Court would hold its own with any of them and surpass most. The large rooms and bathrooms are very well appointed and maintained to the highest standard, Breakfast was delicious and plentiful.

Room Tip: You won't find better
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joseph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    13
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
69
77
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
107 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

We were referred to here by another local B&B owner who was full. Kathleen was a welcoming and friendly host. She responded quickly to my booking and confirmation emails. It is conveniently located 10 -15 minutes from the airport and about 1 mile from Bunratty Castle. Location was important to us as we were arriving after an overnight flight and were not used to driving on the left. We paid more for an early arrival to take a nap. ($110 instead of $70 and well worth it.) The B&B was quiet except for some guests arriving home late at night who woke us. Although they were not being particularly loud, our room on the first floor was adjacent to the staircase/foyer so talking in normal voices carried.

The entire B&B was spotless. The room was roomy, the two queen beds comfortable and the bathroom spacious. Good shower. Plenty of hot water. There was tea making equipment in the room. There is a large comfortable common room. My daughter enjoyed playing with the electronic chess set.

The breakfast room was bright and pretty. Good breads, preserves, juice. The scrambled eggs weren’t great and the coffee a bit weak. Unless you must have coffee in the morning, go with the tea.

Because the room was not charged at double the rate for early check in, we were asked (ahead of time) to pay in cash. We didn’t see a cash machine at the airport and the nearest cash machine was at the Woolen Mills next to Bunratty Castle.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ripsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

I stayed in this Guesthouse last Saturday night with my wife and 6 month old baby. It was spotlessly clean all over. The room was very classy and elegant. It was excellent value at only 70 euros for a Saturday night. But what made it for me was the charming host, who was helpful in every way possible. We will be staying here again.

Room Tip: Call to book your reservation as you may get a better price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Nomadic_Mick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
213 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

Kathleen, our hostess, had made this into the most delightful B & B that we stayed in. It is beautiful and welcoming and has everything that one can ask for. Even the en suite was huge and elegant! I really enjoyed the French Toast which was my choice for breakfast, and made an interesting variation on the breakfast theme. The coffee with which Kathleen filled our flask the next morning was piping hot even hours later, thanks to her taking the trouble to heat the milk. Lovely stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank HelenZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
147 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

We had been staying for several years with Kathleen's mother-in-law Mary, who ran a wonderful B&B in Bunratty. When Mary stopped doing B&B last year, she put us with her daughter-in-law Kathleen, and we stayed with Kathleen again this past June. Kathleen's B&B is every bit as elegant as Mary's was, and Kathleen is a wonderful hostess. She is friendly, helpful, cheerful and energetic. The rooms are large, well decorated, clean and comfortable. Her rates are quite reasonable. Although we miss Mary, we are very happy to have found Kathleen.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank deedeetee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

My husband & I travelled arounf Ireland with my 87 year old mother and a couple of our close friends. We've visited Bunratty before and loved the place but this was our first stay at Headley Court and we were not disappointed. Kathleen was the perfect hostess, nothing was too much trouble for her, she did her best to meet all our needs -even went out to buy brown sauce specially for my husband and found us a Scrabble board game to use. The house was gorgeous with a lovely lounge just for the use of guests. My mother was thrilled with her room as often single rooms are small but this room was large, beautifully decorated with a lovely. ensuite. Breakfast was lovely and well presented.Special mention must go to Lauren(?) daughter of the house. She was charming and very talented, entertained us by singing and playing 2 songs in the evening -what a lovely touch that made our stay there evn more memoarble. Very reasonable charges. One of Ireland's hidden gems.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank jojoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlow
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

What can I say - staying at Headley Court is becoming a habit we really enjoy! Standards are consistently high. Once again, we had the most comfortable beds in very spacious and immaculately clean rooms. Breakfast made to order was fantastic and as we stayed two nights we were able to sample different dishes each morning. We will be back!!

Room Tip: Make a booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank bags55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bunratty
2.2 mi away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,031 reviews
6.5 mi away
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bunratty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,347 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Oakwood Hotel
The Oakwood Hotel
#2 of 3 in Shannon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,456 reviews
6.6 mi away
Bunratty Manor Hotel
Bunratty Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bunratty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Headley Court B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Headley Court B&B

Property: Headley Court B&B
Address: Bunratty 00353, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Bunratty
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Bunratty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Headley Court, your gateway to the West of Ireland. Conveniently located off the N18 & only five miles from Shannon Airport. It is truly your ideal base if making the most of your time in Ireland is paramount. On our door step one can tour the world renowned Bunratty Castle, or maybe enjoy a tipple in ‘Durty Nellie’s’, one of the most famous pubs in the world! The world famous Cliffs of Moher, The Burren, the quaint village of Adare, historical city of Limerick & the infamous Blarney Stone are merely a sampling of the activities at hand & all within an easy driving times (1 & 1/2 hours max). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Headley Court B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing