We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ashgrove House
Nearby Hotels
US$174
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$168
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$99
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$146
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$197
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$107
Radisson Blu
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Banner Lodge(Ennis)(Great Value!)
US$65
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$94
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$92
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dromoland Castle Hotel(Newmarket-on-Fergus)
US$1,928
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (171)
Filter reviews
171 results
Traveller rating
141
19
3
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
141
19
3
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsirish coffeesconeswarm bedsspring flowersbunratty castleshannon airportmy home away from homecomfortable roomswonderful breakfastirish folkcountry roadlast nightold friendsmedieval dinnera wonderful place to staythe pubfrank
Filter
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 171 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2013 via mobile

Now Sheila & Frank and their lovely dog Sydney will provide you with a warm welcome to the Ashgrove House B&B. The personal and friendly atmosphere of this house make you really feel at home and part of the family. A stay with friends. And if you are a musicians or singer, ask for the guitar and do an audition for Frank. He will love it!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne-LotteP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Location: Approximately 1 mile from Bunratty Castle. Would be difficult without a car but I am sure Sheila could solve that problem.
Staff: Welcomed with an Irish coffee. Just like being at home having a chat with friends. They booked us in to the banquet at Bunratty Castle, which was fun & entertaining.
Accommodation: Clean & comfortable. Excellent full Irish breakfast served with home made warm scones – more than you could eat, Oh, alright, maybe another scone. Thank you Sheila & Frank.
Would I Recommend: Definitely – this is our 2nd visit

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jimmyd3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

We stayed at Ashgrove house for the first two nights of our trip to Ireland. Sheila had made connections for us to get there from Shannon airport, and arranged transport for dinner as well. The food was great, i think she made the best scones we had the entire trip. Bunratty Castle and folk park are just a short walk away. The rooms are comfortable and clean. She had good suggestions for exploring the area on our free day, and Irish coffee on our return. I would love to go back there.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RPreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

We stayed at Ashgrove House May 2-3 and 17, both at the beginning and end of our tour.

We can verify that everything the 5 star reviews said about Sheila, Frank and Ashgrove House is 100% accurate, though they might have put in a plug for Sydney, the official and adorable four-legged terrier greeter.

It is the absolute perfect location and experience for decompressing after a long flight from afar, and I would recommend staying there for a day or two of uninterrupted rest before embarking on your travels around Ireland. As noted above, we also decompressed there for a day after our two-weeks of touring and our schedule of "on the bus, off the bus" every few days.

Not only will you need the rest, but Sheila has a PhD in taking care of the tired and wrinkled. She will provide guidance in what to do in Ireland, and how to do it, if asked. She has and is a wealth of information on all aspects of the country, and is more than happy to hold forth on whatever you would like to know about it, particularly its history, past and present. It's like taking a university if not a graduate level class in the subject, with a huge break in the tuition, and no exams!

Great breakfasts, snacks, tea...

If desired, Sheila can arrange for a cab to pick you up at the airport (20 Euros) and take you back.

A perfect stay...comfortable rooms, heated mattresses, and the warmth of knowing you are well cared for.

There is only one Sheila and Ashgrove House, and you really don't want to miss out on the experience.

Richard Luros and Barbara Levin
San Diego

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RunonMD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Traveled with a family of four and myself. Sheila was so welcoming with delicious Irish coffees all around. Felt like we were visiting with a relative. Rooms were very cozy and comfortable (bed warmers are a great touch!). Excellent full Irish breakfast. Great location close to the Shannon airport for day #1 in Ireland. Definitely visit Bunratty Castle and folk park. We hesitated to book the medieval dinner at the castle but very glad we did - fun and the kids enjoyed the festivities. The castle and park are just down the road from the Ashgrove House. Definitely recommend Ashgrove House.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank romodog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews