We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and convenient.”
Review of Ashgrove House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ashgrove House
Ranked #13 of 23 Bunratty B&B and Inns
Bristol, Connecticut, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Friendly and convenient.”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Our hosts for our recent visit to Bunratty were very accommodating. Shiela even went to the bother of looking up and booking accommodations for us on the next part of our trip to the Kerry region. The only reason I gave this B&B 4 stars instead of 5 was because the room we had was very cramped, my wife had to crawl over me to get out of bed as it was pushed right up against the wall. Other than that slight flaw it was a very friendly and comfortable stay.
As far a walking the the castle, it's quite a hike especially at night. The castle had free parking anyway.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Michael V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    19
    3
    5
    2
See reviews for
32
38
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cork
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

We stay here every time we are in Bunratty. Frank and Sheila are the epitome of Irish hospitality. Always a warm welcome and a fantastic stay. The Guesthouse is in a great location as it's only half a mile from Bunratty town but far enough away to get a good nights sleep. Don't miss out!

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Dara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loveland, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We've stayed with Frank and Sheila 6 times, always at the beginning and end of our trips, and our conversations with them continue to be our fondest memories of Ireland. It feels like staying with friends, and their breakfast is the best we've ever had. Sheila's little dog, Sydney, deserves a medal for cheering up our daughter when she was feeling homesick. Beautiful roses, wonderful people, walking distance to Bunratty Castle . . . everything you need for a great start and a relaxing end to your trip in Ireland.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank mccentric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed with two kids in a nice room. Very pleasant host lent baby cot fot free. Breakfast was good and rich. House is close to castle by car. Definitely recommendable if you're in Bunratty. Booking was made by phone without any prepayment.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcipo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventabren, France
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We spent the whole day in Bunratty castle and went to this B&B at only 5 mn
Our guests were very nice,
Welcome with Irish coffee and scones.
Very nice rooms
Near pubs and restaurants, very convenient.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back of the house have a direct access to the garden and parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maryline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013 via mobile

Now Sheila & Frank and their lovely dog Sydney will provide you with a warm welcome to the Ashgrove House B&B. The personal and friendly atmosphere of this house make you really feel at home and part of the family. A stay with friends. And if you are a musicians or singer, ask for the guitar and do an audition for Frank. He will love it!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne-LotteP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamberoo, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Location: Approximately 1 mile from Bunratty Castle. Would be difficult without a car but I am sure Sheila could solve that problem.
Staff: Welcomed with an Irish coffee. Just like being at home having a chat with friends. They booked us in to the banquet at Bunratty Castle, which was fun & entertaining.
Accommodation: Clean & comfortable. Excellent full Irish breakfast served with home made warm scones – more than you could eat, Oh, alright, maybe another scone. Thank you Sheila & Frank.
Would I Recommend: Definitely – this is our 2nd visit

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jimmyd3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bunratty
1.0 mi away
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bunratty
1,433 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Oakwood Hotel
The Oakwood Hotel
#2 of 3 in Shannon
811 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bunratty Manor Hotel
Bunratty Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bunratty
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Limerick Strand Hotel
Limerick Strand Hotel
#3 of 20 in Limerick
2,544 reviews
11.8 mi away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
1,576 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Courtyard
The Courtyard
#2 of 23 in Bunratty
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashgrove House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashgrove House

Property: Ashgrove House
Address: Low Road, Bunratty, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Bunratty
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Bunratty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ashgrove House is a full-service B&B, close to Bunratty Castle and Limerick City, and a very short drive from Shannon Airport. The Famous Durty Nellie's Pub is right beside Bunratty Castle. This is a traditional county where music and culture abound. Bring your instrument and join in a seisiún with the local musicians playing fiddles, pipes, concertinas and accordions. Your room will be warm with good beds, tea and coffee making facilities, television, clock/radios, hairdryers, curling irons. A warm welcome awaits you, with maybe something to warm the cockles of your heart. We can also arrange a b&b reservation for your next stop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Ashgrove House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing