We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best B & B in all of Europe !”
Review of Ashgrove House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ashgrove House
Ranked #13 of 23 Bunratty B&B and Inns
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“The best B & B in all of Europe !”
Reviewed 25 January 2011

The company of the owners, Frank and Sheila - are unsurpassed. They excel at welcoming you and making you feel like you are one of their family members. We were so happy staying with them - they even went to Durty Nelly's with us. A most memorable evening of laughter, singing and a few drinks. I can't say enough of these fine folks. If you want a true Irish experience - stay here. Frank's philosophy on world events are most interesting. We were a captive audience and the banter that goes between them is hilarious. A wonderful B & B - the best in my book !! Highly recommended to all.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foursquares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    19
    3
    5
    2
See reviews for
32
38
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2010

When you are so far away from home it's so lovely to come across such warm people as Sheila and Frank. B&B's start to feel like the same house after a while but not a the Ashgrove House. You will be as welcome as family here. On one visit I was taken to a traditional Irish concert by Frank. On my last visit they found out we were surprising my Dad with a trip back to his old village in an old stone cottage. They gave us a bottle of wine to help with the surprise. The breakfast is wonderful and the grounds beautiful. We will always return as long as they are still welcoming us!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ritagraceanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finksburg
1 review
Reviewed 28 October 2010

Rooms are clean and comfortable, breakfasts are fresh and made to order, scones are hot. Parking is ample and the grounds are beautifully kept.

Sheila & Frank are the best! More congenial hosts can't be found. They are quick to meet or anticipate your needs, offer advice, make bookings at the local attractions. Just ask.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank betsymurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traverse City, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2010

We were welcomed by Frank who was very friendly & very helpful. Our room was clean but you could hear everything from the other rooms which did keep us up at night. We were not offered any tea upon arrival. The eating area was in need of some TLC but the breakfast was very good. Sheila was very helpful in giving information & Frank went out of his way to make you feel welcome. We did love going to Durty Nelly's & the castle. There was some shopping in the area. We stayed for 2 evenings & if we go back to this area again we would find a different B & B in the same area. We do want to say Thank you for opening your home to us & for all your help in giving us information on the area you went out of your way to help us find our way around. Sheila had a computer set up for us to use which was a very nice. The drive to the castle was just a short drive & Frank did offer to pick us up if we needed a ride after going to the pub & with all the travel we did in Ireland he was the only one to do something that was so thoughtful & for our safety. Thank you Frank!!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ScotlandIrealand2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ossipee
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2010

Sheila & Frank Tiernan really know how to make a visitor welcome-Irish coffee upon check-in, no matter the hour. They were very helpful with directions, driving tips & attraction info. The dining room is the gathering place to meet with them & other travelers--good times, excellent breakfast. I would advise everyone to go by way of Shannon Airport & stay here (it's only 15 minutes away) & a good place to take your arrival nap! Seems to be an excellent place to use as a base for day trips, too.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thesweens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raleigh nc
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2010

Had reservations at park house, but they couldn't accomodate us properly in the two separate rooms we reserved. They could have split us up into two separate B&Bs, but our son was going to the airport the next day and we wanted to be in the same bldg as he. He wanted to be with us, too. The neighbor luckily couldn't accomodate us and we were referred 3 doors down to Ashgrove house...How wonderful. Frank was very accomodating, Sheila even more so if possible. They love people and will do anything for you. The best was that Frank's grandmother was related to his mother's family in Carrick through the Guckians. It was fun finding a family connection...it seemed meant to be

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baridgway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2010

This is the 1st time I've ever felt compelled to write a review.....so why am I doing it?

We arrived by bus in Bunratty from Shannon airport having not hired a car. We phoned Sheila & Frank to get directions to Ashgrove House but instead they said hold tight, we'll come and pick you up!

Frank came and got us in the car and we we arrived we saw Sheila elbow high in dough (making scones for breakfast the following day!). On arrival we were offered Irish coffee....great introduction!

The room was lovely, spacious and cosy! We had 2 of the most relaxing and undisturbed sleeps in that bed....and a few naps in between!!

Sheila sorted out our booking for a restaurant and even dropped us down there that evening!

Breakfast was lovely! Cereal, juice, tea, coffee, cooked breakfast, warm homemade scones (amazing) and homemade bread! A few lbs were piled on I can tell you!

Nothing was too much trouble for Sheila or Frank. Whether it was more towels, the heating turned up in the room to the offer of lifts & Irish coffees. I've read it before, but it was like going to stay with family.

If you're getting away from it for the weekend or travelling through Bunratty be sure to stay at Ashgrove House...you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidScott123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bunratty
1.0 mi away
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bunratty
1,431 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Oakwood Hotel
The Oakwood Hotel
#2 of 3 in Shannon
810 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bunratty Manor Hotel
Bunratty Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bunratty
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
1,573 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Courtyard
The Courtyard
#2 of 23 in Bunratty
259 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dunaree
Dunaree
#4 of 23 in Bunratty
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashgrove House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashgrove House

Property: Ashgrove House
Address: Low Road, Bunratty, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Bunratty
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Bunratty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ashgrove House is a full-service B&B, close to Bunratty Castle and Limerick City, and a very short drive from Shannon Airport. The Famous Durty Nellie's Pub is right beside Bunratty Castle. This is a traditional county where music and culture abound. Bring your instrument and join in a seisiún with the local musicians playing fiddles, pipes, concertinas and accordions. Your room will be warm with good beds, tea and coffee making facilities, television, clock/radios, hairdryers, curling irons. A warm welcome awaits you, with maybe something to warm the cockles of your heart. We can also arrange a b&b reservation for your next stop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Ashgrove House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing