We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Banquet”

Bunratty Castle Medieval Banquet
Experience for Yourself
More Info
US$62.53*
and up
Medieval Banquet at Bunratty Castle
Ranked #2 of 7 things to do in Bunratty
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Join the Earl of Thomond for a glorious banquet at this majestic 15th century Bunratty Castle. The Earl’s Butler welcomes guests from the four corners of the world toasting an era of great Irish taste with excellent food, fine wine and honey mead.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities
Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Banquet”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

The experience of a Medieval Banquet is quite something. The entertainers do a wonderful job. Just be sure you are not the one they throw in the dungeon. For the most part the food was good. the ribs were a little salty but edible. All the eating is done with your fingers, no utensils. A great time was had and it is highly recommended.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    507
    179
    53
    15
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Entertainment was great, food average”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The evening entertainment was very good, however the food was a little disappointing.
You are only given a steak knife or you could use your fingers to eat your meal with.
The seating is a little cramped and bench type.
Overall a good night, more of an entertaining experience than a culinary adventure!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank AussieOrchid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
61 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A must see and do experience!”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We did the late seating at this dinner (8:30) and we arrived about 20 minutes early so it provided us with an opportunity to walk around the attached Folk Park, even though it was closed. It was so cute we wished our travel time would have allowed us to come back when it was open. But the castle dinner was so much fun! The actors wore beautiful costumes, sang cute madrigals and carried us back in time. The first room we saw of the castle was furnished with beautiful antiques and tapestries. The dining hall was arranged with long banquet tables and the food was served family style. The meal was served in four courses and went with the telling of a story. The food was not as I had feared. It was actually quite good. There were pitchers of red and white wine freely available to all. It was a fun evening that I would highly recommend if you are in the area.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sbow2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Just an amazing medieval experience”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

The evening in the Castle with the medieval Banquet was amazing , excellent food with lots of wine. The staff is excellent Great Music in Irish and English & Entertainment” .Atmospheres was historic! was amazed enjoying the beautiful harp and violin music performed by period costumed musicians a fabulous night. A must to see in Ireland specially when you are in Bunratty :)

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Claudia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammamish, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Entertaining”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We weren't sure whether the Medieval Banquet would be a waste of time and money or actually entertaining and worthwhile. We were pleasantly surprised. The authentic castle had beautiful period tapestries. We learned some historical facts, were entertained by a talented violin player and harpist as well as a group of singers with lovely voices. The mead (wine) was good, We had the opportunity to get acquainted with travelers from other parts of the world as we broke bread in the dining hall. Take time prior to the Banquet to visit the folk museum outside the Castle demonstrating farm and village life of bygone years.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bunratty Castle Medieval Banquet also viewed

Bunratty, County Clare
Bunratty, County Clare
 
Limerick, County Limerick
County Clare, Province of Munster
 

Been to Bunratty Castle Medieval Banquet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing