We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ParkHouse was a rare find.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
ParkHouse Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 25 Bunratty B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Beverly, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“ParkHouse was a rare find.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2010

If you need a place to stay near Shannon Airport, you can't go wrong with ParkHouse. We liked everything about ParkHouse and Shane and Sinead were perfect hosts. In addition - it's right down the street from Bunratty Castle and Durty Nelly's and also accessible to some great shopping. We had to leave very early for the airport and Shane made a point of putting out some food and coffee for us. We would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMouseK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    28
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
77
91
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2010

We where very happy with the Park House B&B. It is only 1/2 mile from the Castle and Durty Nellies pub. Not to be missed.
Your host, Sinead & Shane were the best. Great info on things to see. I would stay again.
The French Toast was the best.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank travelcouple000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2010

I had the pleasure of staying in this guest house recently as myself and my husband were attending a wedding in Bunratty . We were greeted enthusiastically before we even knocked at the door by both Shane and Sinead . We advised them that we were running really late for the wedding and after which sinead insisted that she would drop us over . The room was huge and very fresh and clean . We did not want for anything and certainly not at breakfast , which was a cure in itself . A spread for champion s cooked by shane .. a qualified chef .!!! I only wish we could have stayed longer !!!!!
First class in my opinion and ask my husband and he will tell you im very hard to please !!!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bingleybrogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2010

From my first call to Sinead and Shane O'Brien to inquire about room availability to my last day I was so very impressed with their gracious hospitality! Never having been to Ireland they were a wealth of information on things to see and do. Prior to my arrival they had even given me directions on what bus to take, what stop to get off and they even picked me up at the bus stop and drove me to the B&B. The room was wonderful with a lovely view! The bed was very comfortable and I had no problem falling asleep and waking up feeling refreshed. Breakfast was lovely with alot of choices from continental (fruit, juices, cereals, breads, toast, teas and coffee) to hot meals perpared by Shane (eggs, bacon, sausages, etc.). They recommended wonderful sites to see in the area from castles, churches and museums to excellent restaurants to dine at. The location is only a 15-minute walk from Bunratty Castle down a beautiful country road. Sinead and Shane made my Ireland adventure truely memorable! I would highly recommend staying at the ParkHouse B&B and fully intend to visit and stay with them again!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeutschKaninchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Homosassa, FL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2010

Three years ago we stayed in this B&B when it was under another owner and we wanted to start our holiday in the same place. Our flight arrived very early but Shane and Sinead had told us by email we could check in early. We checked into the same room as in 2007. A couple hours sleep and we were off to visit some local shops, etc. Our plans were to visit several sites in Ireland and return to Park House for our last night, but we covered what we wanted to visit and phoned to ask if we could check in a day early, spending our last two nights with them. Shane said yes and put us back in the same room. We rate this B&B tops in hospitality!! Shane and Sinead are ones we would like to see on a regular basis, to us they became more than hosts, we consider them friends. Unlike other B&B's we visited where the family remained behind closed doors, this couple was accessable all the time. They let us use the computer in their kitchen to check into our flight and book seats on the plane. The room was clean and comfortable, the food delicious. Unlike many B&B's, parking is ample. The B&B is minutes from Bunratty Castle, stores and restaurants. Access to N18 motorway is convenient. We arrived home last evening and already miss them. - Jimmie and Carol Barnes, Homosassa, Florida

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimmieBarron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bunratty, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2010

My three friends and I planned our eight night Southwest Ireland vacation with our first and last nights at Parkhouse in Bunratty, initially because of its easy access to Shannon Airport. Practicality soon gave way to delight!
Upon our arrival at the charming purpose built Bed and Breakfast we were greeted by Shane O'Brien and his percious infant son Cathal. After warm introductions were made we were shone to two lovely rooms with accompanying bathrooms, offering so much more than we could have hoped for. These along with a cozy sitting room and sun-filled breakfast room where scrumptious choice filled breakfasts were served, rounded out our wonderful accomodations. Both Shane and his positively delightful wife, Sinead, provided us with all the local travelers info and based on our first night alone we would have been sold.
However, as luck would have it, the Icelandic Ash Cloud extended our eight days to twelve and we were fortunate enough to spend our last five nights with the O'Brien family! In every conceivable way they eased our fears and confusion with comfort and good solid information. One example of this was the help they gave me in finding a doctor to prescribe needed medications for our extended stay. In addition, they made their computer available to us to keep abreast of the latest on flight information.
This site is not intended for lengthy tales such as this, but it is truly difficult to edit the numerous positive recollections of Parkhouse and the O'Brien family who hosted us there. Other trips to Ireland will definitely bring this traveler back to Parkhouse!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norma9114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2010

ParkHouse B&B is truly wonderful!! The rooms are cozy, clean and comfortable. The view from our window was beautiful. The B&B is convenient to the Shannon Airport. It is just down the road from several local attractions including Bunratty Castle and Folk Park, Durty Nelly's Pub, and The Blarney Woolen Mills. The best party of the B&B is that our hosts, Sinead and Shane O'Brien are as warm and inviting as their home is. They were extremely helpful to us in so many ways. Our stay at ParkHouse B&B was extended 4 nights because of the volcanic ash hovering over Europe. By the time we left, it felt like it was a second home and the O'Briens were a second family. With all of the stress related to us trying to reschedule our flight and the "unknown" aspects of when we would be able to head home, it was pure relief to have a respite from our worries at this beautiful B&B. Shane's breakfasts were delicious and filling. I already miss the O'Briens and their wonderful B&B, but I hope to return there again in the future.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcc6759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bunratty
0.5 mi away
Bunratty Manor Hotel
Bunratty Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bunratty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bunratty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,360 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Oakwood Hotel
The Oakwood Hotel
#2 of 3 in Shannon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Courtyard
The Courtyard
#1 of 25 in Bunratty
5.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bunratty Haven Bed and Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Dunaree
Dunaree
#4 of 25 in Bunratty
5.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ParkHouse Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ParkHouse Bed & Breakfast

Property: ParkHouse Bed & Breakfast
Address: Low Road, Bunratty, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Bunratty
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Bunratty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — ParkHouse Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your ParkHouse Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing