We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very welcoming hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bunratty Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bunratty
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level Contributor
237 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Very welcoming hotel”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Stayed here for a few days in august 2014. Reception was manned by Maureen who was most pleasant and helpful ,hotel has a very friendly feel and is more akin to staying with relations than being in an hotel. Just a short walk from the famous Bunratty Castle and Durthy Nellies pub its an ideal location. The food in the hotel is great and there are some restaurants close by if you fancy a change.All in all We enjoyed our stay here Just have to mention and thank Niambh for being bright and helpful with anything we requested

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kalimantsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    287
    74
    36
    4
    1
See reviews for
123
122
13
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Miltown Malbay, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I stayed for two nights with my elderly mother. The staff couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful but i feel it's a pity there were a number of little things that made our stay a bit disappointing. We booked into two rooms and I immediately noticed a bad smell. When I turned on bathroom taps dirty water came up the shower plug hole..a bit disconcerting! However we were immediately changed to new rooms and the drain specialists were there within half an hour to sort things out..full marks there. The rooms were spacious and spotless but unfortunately the phones were not working so I couldn't ring my mum to check on her last thing at night which was important to me. Between the wardrobe, chest of drawers, dressing table and locker I counted 17 drawers!...who needs that much space...but the bed was very comfy and it was a nice room. My TV remote didn't work and the choice of TV channels is dismal...several news channels, no rte1 or 2, just tv3 and it was the same in both rooms. You might think TV wouldn't be that important but it is to my mum who missed her soaps. There's a nice sitting room with a big TV and nice seating area in the back garden. It was terribly quiet in the hotel though and I thought maybe some nice background music would have been good. The rooms have big cumbersome keys instead of the more modern key cards and there was no information pack in the rooms to tell you mealtimes, booking out times etc. couldn't fault the food but would prefer the fare in the creamery and jp clarkes. It's a nice hotel but it could be amazing if they addressed some small little details...in the end it's the little things that set a place apart.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tina D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pottstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Staff was amazing! Everyone was so nice and helpful they really made a nice stay a great one. The hotel itself it smaller and somewhat dated but that doesn't detract from the quality. The room we stayed in was smallish, but clean. A huge plus is location, it's a 5 minute walk to Bunratty Castle which is the main thing to do in this small town. If there is any constructive criticism I could give is that the wifi was spotty in the room, we could never connect until we were downstairs and the water pressure in our shower was low. Those were non issues given the overall experience and the friendliness of the staff.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Secaucus, New Jersey
Level Contributor
178 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Yes, the location is very convenient to the airport, Bunratty Castle and within a short walk to a few restaurants but the rooms are in dire need of some very basic housekeeping. Our first issue was with the radiator in the bathroom which would not shut off – even after management said that they had shut the whole system down. It was absolutely sweltering in the bathroom – one way to keep anyone from hogging it! – and, even with the bathroom door closed, the room bedroom was uncomfortably warm. Three calls to the front desk, the last at about 12:15 AM, did not result in any remedy until they were able to move us to another room the next day. In addition to the heating problems, the first room was in serious need of a deep cleaning and repair: there was an 18" crack in the plaster on the wall by the door with large section of paint peeled away, 2 large cracks in bathroom tile, the windows looked like they had not cleaned in some time and there was a visible layer of dust built up in the wood foot boards of bed. The light over bathroom mirror was not working and one towel hook was missing with screw holes exposed and the 2 had both screws loose enough the hook was hanging away from the door. Hardware was missing on shower faucet exposing internal screws and there were large dust balls in radiator vents. I figured that moving to a 2nd room would give me a more complete view of the hotel but, as hard as it is to conceive, the 2nd room also had a towel hook missing with screw holes exposed and the 2 had both screws loose enough the hook was hanging away from the door.It was as if they had decided to replace all the towel hooks and stopped before completing the job. The 2nd room also had many dents and nicks in the walls as if someone had rearranged the furniture without consideration to damage and the carpets in both rooms were a couple years past replacement. While I do appreciate being relocated to another room I would not have my house looking like these rooms did if I had guests coming over to stay.

Room Tip: rooms 15 and 20 are the rooms referenced above with 20 being the 1st room we stayed in
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank hanleydouglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Our last night in Ireland before our flight out of Shannon the next day. Bunratty is a great location- less than a ten minute drive to the airport. The room was fine- nothing spectacular. The staff are very nice. We turned in early and it was a little loud- they play music downstairs until midnight. If you're looking for a quiet room I would recommend asking for one at the opposite end of the building from the bar.

Helpful?
4 Thank mike k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

This sweet little hotel was the perfect place to begin our trip to Ireland; not a b&b and not a "brand", it was just right. A short drive from the Shannon airport, this clean and comfortable room gave us a lovely starting point. A niceup to-date-bathroom with a great shower helped us adjust to the time change, along with a well made drink at the bar. The staff was especially helpful and friendly. Breakfast was great. Being within walking distance of the Bunratty Folk Park and near Cliffs of Moher was a plus. When we make our way back to the area, we will surely stay here again. (Sorry I didn't get a picture of the room, but it was truly very nice.)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Alamos, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Can not say enough about how wonderful this place is. Staff is amazing, especially Maureen at the front desk and Bryan at the bar. Exceptional people, affordable price, comfortable atmosphere. Free wifi and international call!!! Close to Bunratty Castle and Shannon Airport. If you are in Ireland this is a must stay location!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsten G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bunratty
0.2 mi away
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bunratty
1,396 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Oakwood Hotel
The Oakwood Hotel
#2 of 3 in Shannon
788 reviews
6.9 mi away
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Dromoland Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
3,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Shannon Airport
4.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
2.1 mi away
Shannon Springs Hotel
Shannon Springs Hotel
#3 of 3 in Shannon
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bunratty Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bunratty Manor Hotel

Property: Bunratty Manor Hotel
Address: Bunratty Village, Bunratty, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Bunratty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bunratty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bunratty Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in Bunratty, Bunratty Manor is a 20 Room Hotel and Restaurant. Providing great rooms and great food !! We pride ourselves on excellent customer service and aim to have every customer walking out the door happy ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Bunratty Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bunratty Manor Hotel Bunratty
Manor Hotel Bunratty

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing