We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We stayed longer because it was so wonderful”
Review of The Courtyard

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Courtyard
Ranked #1 of 23 Bunratty B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Salt Lake City, UT
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We stayed longer because it was so wonderful”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Mary and Michael Walsh run such a wonderful hotel and really make guests feel at home. The went out of their way so that my son could have gluten free and dairy free breakfasts and gave us tips for what to see and do in the area. The rooms are large and spacious and there aren't any stairs to haul luggage up. Great atmosphere!!

Room Tip: From what saw all are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyzander16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    37
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
59
108
19
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We stayed here with friends on the first two nights of a vacation with friends. Michael and Mary were wonderful hosts, making us feel at home. The rooms were clean and spacious. Breakfast was delicious! The Courtyard is located withing walking distance of shops and pubs, as well as Bunratty Castle. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

This is a big comfortable home run by a very nice couple. The room was large clean and comfortable with good wifi. Breakfast was very good and check in and out was efficient. Plenty of parking available to guests and its an easy walk to the sights of Bunratty.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CyndyPurchase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

The Courtyard is a great place to stay if you are visiting Bunratty or have an early flight out of Shannon. The location is great. The rooms are clean and spacious and the rates are very reasonable. Our hosts were friendly and helpful. We did not use the common rooms but they looked really nice.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank treesprite07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Our group of 14 family members stayed in 6 rooms here. The rooms were very nice size, clean, and comfortable. The owners (Michael & Mary Walsh) were very accomodating and hospitable. Proximity to Bunratty attractions, good pubs and restaraunts, and Shannon Airport make this B & B a very good choice for incoming and outgoing passengers. Definately will be a repeat lodging for our family.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ibjpw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Excellent place for regrouping the night before leaving from Shannon airport. Close to great restaurants and shops. The folks who run the place were very friendly and the rates were excellent. Also, one might want to get some real sleep after the short nap from the US to Ireland.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Brad4221x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany NY
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We chose this B&B because it is a very quick walk to Bunratty Castle and the Medieval Banquet. We had a basic but clean family room on the first floor. The proximity to a diesel station and Shannon made this a great stop for our last night in Ireland.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marnolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bunratty
0.2 mi away
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bunratty
1,417 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bunratty Manor Hotel
Bunratty Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bunratty
407 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Oakwood Hotel
The Oakwood Hotel
#2 of 3 in Shannon
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Shannon Airport
2.2 mi away
Shannon Springs Hotel
Shannon Springs Hotel
#3 of 3 in Shannon
333 reviews
6.9 mi away
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Dromoland Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
3,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Courtyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Courtyard

Property: The Courtyard
Address: Bunratty Village, Bunratty, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Bunratty
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Bunratty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Courtyard 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bunratty Courtyard Bed & Breakfast has 11 en-suite rooms and is ideally situated in Bunratty village. Our rooms are spacious and are equipped with TVs, Wi-fi, Power Showers and Telephones. Tea and Coffee Facilities are available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Courtyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Bunratty
Bunratty Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing