We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place”
Review of The Courtyard

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Courtyard
Ranked #1 of 23 Bunratty B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New Britain, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Comfortable room, genial hosts, good breakfast, well-decorated. On top of that it's within staggering distance (believe me) of the castle and nearby bars. And the price is right. Recommended without qualification.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    37
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
59
107
19
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California, United States
Level 6 Contributor
709 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 389 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Though it was just 1 night, this was the BEST place we stayed during our 9 day Irish Holiday.

PROS:
-Clean BIG room and the BIGGEST bathrooms in all of Ireland
-Best decorated interior areas: reception, hallways, lounge, breakfast room
-Friendly staff/owners
-Short walk to Bunratty Castle, restaurants, and shopping area.
-Only 70 euro/night midweek! :)
-Nice hearty breakfast...I think my wife and I were the only ones staying that night, but they brought out the entire spread, the Irish know breakfast!

CONS:
-Not a lot to do in Bunratty except see Bunratty Castle.

I wish the Courtyard was in every city, town, and village I visisted! Maybe they should create a franchise chain? :)

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballylickey, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I have stayed here several times and have never been disappointed. Mary and Michael are wonderfuls hosts and will go out of their way to make guests feel comfortable. Rooms are exceptionally clean and the breakfasts are fantastic. It's within crawling distance of the castle and shops.
Soundproofing is very good, I never hear noise from other rooms.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shicklestotle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We stayed at The Courtyard the night before our early morning flight out of Shannon. The Courtyard was very convenient for us because we did not have a car. Because the B&B is located in town, we could walk to wherever we wanted to go: restaurants, the castle, shops. The bus stop is only about a couple of blocks down the street from the B&B, so arriving by bus was not a problem for us. Also restaurants are nearby, and the Bunratty Castle is about a 10-15 minute walk down the street.

Our reasonably priced room was clean, quiet, and comfortable with a country-like decor. It was located on the ground floor. We paid cash for the room and it was slightly cheaper than if we had used a credit card. Although we didn't spend much time in the common areas, they were inviting and attractively decorated. We had our choice of several hot and cold items at breakfast.

Michael and Mary were very friendly and helpful. Before our trip, I emailed Michael several times with questions and he always responded promptly. They also called a taxi, which was driven by a very entertaining man, to take us to the airport in the morning - a great way to end our trip. Before our trip, we had thought about staying at the hotel at the airport and just walking to the terminal in the morning. The morning we left it was pouring rain! Another reason we were glad we stayed at the B&B instead.

If you're looking to stay in the village of Bunratty either before or after a flight -with or without a car, The Courtyard is a nice, comfortable, convenient B&B.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hulagirl74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We spent last night at the Courtyard...room 10. Very comfortable. Agree with the other reviewer that the shower was the best we found in Ireland. Very clean. Quiet sleeping, bed was comfortable except the blanket seemed a little too short. Great location with easy access to get to Shannon Airport for early flight. That said, we left at 5:30 and were not able to avail of the breakfast. We had the evening meal at JP Clarkes Pub which was right next door. On the other side is the gas station to fill up the rental car before return. Would return and recommend to others.

Room Tip: Bring a flashlight to walk to restaurant after dark or to leave early before sun up as outdoor light...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

Carrie and I had a wonderful time, we enjoyed the hospitality, food and lovely old school châteaux styled interior...hard to beat in such a beautiful location...most powerful shower in all of Ireland :-)

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank carrie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innisfil, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
290 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

The Courtyard Guesthouse met all of our expectations. It made for easy access to various locations, such as walking distance to Bunratty Castle.

Easy access to the Shannon airport.

Mary and Michael were lovely hosts.

The rooms are very clean and spacious. Lovely history to this guesthouse.

Breakfast was one of the best ever.

We definitely recommend The Courtyard to anyone visiting this area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valli C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bunratty
0.1 mi away
Bunratty Manor Hotel
Bunratty Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bunratty
406 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bunratty
1,414 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Oakwood Hotel
The Oakwood Hotel
#2 of 3 in Shannon
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Dromoland Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
3,281 reviews
0.6 mi away
ParkHouse Bed & Breakfast
ParkHouse Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 23 in Bunratty
269 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dunaree
Dunaree
#4 of 23 in Bunratty
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Courtyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Courtyard

Property: The Courtyard
Address: Bunratty Village, Bunratty, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Bunratty
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Bunratty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Courtyard 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bunratty Courtyard Bed & Breakfast has 11 en-suite rooms and is ideally situated in Bunratty village. Our rooms are spacious and are equipped with TVs, Wi-fi, Power Showers and Telephones. Tea and Coffee Facilities are available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Courtyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Bunratty
Bunratty Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing