We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm beds and clean, fuzzy towels”
Review of Dunaree

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dunaree
Ranked #4 of 23 Bunratty B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 October 2012

We had a most wonderful romantic weekend here. Penny greeted us warmly and we were happy to hear that we could choose a time to have breakfast at. Her pancakes are delicious and there is no lack of food in the morning. Coffee is also great. No bed is ever as great as your own but ours was as good as I've had at a B&B or hotel. The shower really is a power shower. Just make sure to turn it on fully or else there are some odd noises from the pump. The room was bright and spacious and warm.
They're easy to find and located just a short walk from Bunratty Castle and Folk Park. Perfect when going to the medieval banquet as we could both drink our mead and not worry how to get back. The pubs and restaurants are about the same distance away. We would gladly stay here again!

Room Tip: All the rooms we saw were lovely and bright
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sonmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (280)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 280 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2012

Our room was really spacious and comfortable. The shower was a bit wonky but we figured it out (and there was plenty of hot water). Penny fixed a hearty, delicious breakfast in her lovely dining room. There was a tea station available all night which was nice to have while packing to go home. Penny was a gracious host.

Dunaree is within minutes of Shannon airport and a short walking distance away from Dirty Nelly's.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irelandfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

As soon as we drove into the driveway, we knew we had picked a great B&B. Penny and Kevin O'Connor make you feel like family the minute you walk through their door. It's the perfect place to stay as a home base while you explore area attractions, and Penny has suggestions on out of the way places we would not have found on our own. Dunaree is just down the road from Bunratty Castle and the town center. The room was perfect, nice and clean, as was the bathroom. Breakfasts were cooked to order...Kevin makes great French Toast. I highly recommend this property and would stay there again.

Sandy Richards, Harlingen, TX

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank essare2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Dunaree B&B at the end of July while honeymooning in Ireland. When I originally picked this B&B from the catalog (we did a self-drive tour through CIE), I was a little worried about the rating being "Approved". This quickly diminished the minute we drove up the driveway! This place was BEAUTIFUL!
We were greeted at the door and there was a wonderful smell of fresh baked goods in the air when we arrived. We were quickly shown to our room and given some very helpful information about where to eat in the area.
We had a queen size room which was super comfortable and the bath was very clean and much larger than most of the others we stayed at while exploring Ireland. The wifi worked well, which made email communication that much easier :)
The B&B is very close to Bunratty Castle and the town center where the restaurants. You could definitely walk if you were up for the stroll!
Breakfast was delicious and very filling. This was one of my favorite B&B's we stayed at! Overall, it was a great stay at the end of our trip and I highly recommend this B&B to anyone staying overnight in Bunratty!

Room Tip: If you are facing the front of the house. We had the room furthest to the right upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wiley1597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

This was our 8th B&B during our trip through Ireland and was clearly one of the best. Only a stones throw from Bunratty Castle, it was convenient for us to do shopping at the Blarney Woolen Mills, tip a pint at Durty Nellies and then take in the medieval dinner at the castle. Beautiful manicured property and home with bright cheery rooms, clean and cozy with ample parking. Peggy was a warm and wonderful hostess. We were warmly greeted and well cared for during our stay. Breakfast was great with a few more selections available than normal B&B menus. Felt right at home and will stay again on future trips!

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

I have visited Limerick many times and this is by far the best B&B in the Bunratty area. The rooms are comfortable, food is excellent and the hospitality offered by the owner Penny O'Connor is second to none. They could not do enough to make sure our trip was great.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank megfromboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Myself and three friends stayed at Dunaree for two nights during July and I can only praise the quality of our stay. we were received with open friendliness from our hosts Penny and Kevin.
The house is beautifully presented and the homliness was a refreshing change from hotel stays. The rooms were spotless, spacious and comfortable and the breakfasts were fresh, tasty and filling. We left feeling as though we had made new friends and I will be advising any and all who may be travelling through Bunratty to choose Dunaree as a place to stay. Thank you so much to Penny and Kevin for making our stay such a terrific experience.

Room Tip: The only tip I can give anyone is STAY HERE YOU WILL LOVE IT. Ps, I clicked swimming pool by accide...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bradsyd62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bunratty
0.6 mi away
Bunratty Manor Hotel
Bunratty Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bunratty
429 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bunratty
1,489 reviews
6.7 mi away
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Dromoland Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
3,544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Courtyard
The Courtyard
#1 of 23 in Bunratty
275 reviews
0 mi away
ParkHouse Bed & Breakfast
ParkHouse Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 23 in Bunratty
286 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bunratty Haven Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunaree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunaree

Address: Low Rd., Bunratty, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Bunratty
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Bunratty
Price Range: £69 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunaree 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bunratty Dunaree is a traditional style residence, custom designed to provide a high standard of accommodation and comfort in a non smoking home for all visitors. Located on the Low Road, close to Bunratty Castle it is operated by the O’Connor family. Built on the eastern slope of Bunratty Hill close to the famous castle, it has panoramic views over the Owenagarney River and beyond to the hills of Cratloe. A warm friendly welcome awaits all guests. Dunaree is renowned for its fresh tasty breakfasts and now has free wifi throughout. The interior has a spacious relaxing lay-out and is decorated with a relaxing blend of modern and antique furnishings, complemented by an interesting collection of original artworks, prints and antique maps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Dunaree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing