We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm, cozy, friendly B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dunaree

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dunaree
Ranked #4 of 25 Bunratty B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“Warm, cozy, friendly B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

We stayed one night with Penny and Kevin O'Connor at Dunaree in Bunratty on 7/18/13. It was the best B&B we stayed in during our trip - it was clean, cozy and very comfortable. Penny greeted us upon our arrival and we immediately felt like family. There was a TV and a blow dryer in each room. The en suite bath was a good size. Bunratty Castle is a short walk up the street. Our stay was topped off with a wonderful Irish breakfast that included homemade brown bread and scones...fabulous! Kevin and Penny greeted us in the morning and provided some local info. We could not have been happier with our stay at Dunaree. We highly recommend it for the cozy comfort, wonderful Irish hospitality and the convenience to Shannon Airport, which is only 10 minutes away. We'll be back to visit Dunaree again!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marge O O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    31
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
70
120
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nampa, Idaho
Level Contributor
153 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

We have stayed at Dunaree on two occasions now and have been very definitely impressed on both visits, with their grand welcome, the lovely home itself, beautifully appointed rooms and lounge, scrumptious breakfasts, and a wonderful location (just 3/4 of a mile up the road from the entrance to Bunratty Castle and Folk Park) and 1/2 mile from the Bunratty Winery. The house sits in a nice country setting and is ultra quiet at night, far away from N-18's traffic. If staying in Bunratty for the park or its banquets, or using it to visit all the local possibilities (Cragganowen, Quin Abbey, Ennis town and abbey, Cliffs of Moher, The Burren, etc.), we recommend Dunaree Bed and Breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irishwriter1916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

My family recently visited Bunratty at the conclusion of a two week tour around Ireland. We loved the country and particularly enjoyed our stay in Bunratty, and at Dunaree. We decided to spend our nights in local B&B’s, primarily for convenience and to experience the renowned Irish hospitality. We were so pleased that we did. We stayed in about 10 B&B’s over the two weeks, so got to know the differences well, and my reviews are relative to each other and not to other B&B’s in the area. Generally the B&B operators were local, knowledgeable about the area and they consistently demonstrated wonderful Irish hospitality. Our stay at Dunaree was no different. Penny and Kevin were wonderful hosts, and Penny was fun to be around. The B&B is located a few minutes’ walk from Bunratty Castle and the local pubs like the fun Dirty Nellie's. It's also very convenient if you are flying out of Shannon airport in the morning, as it's a short drive (or taxi ride). The B&B was easy to find; parking was convenient and check-in was very smooth. The comfort and quality of the rooms were adequate for our needs, and the beds comfortable enough. Our room and ensuite bathroom was spotless. We had to leave before the Irish breakfast we loved on our trip, but they left out a nice continental spread. Overall a nice stay and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flyingcolonel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moyock, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

Accommodations were clean and comfortable! Penny was the best host we encountered in our trip to Ireland. Her B&B is located close to Bunratty Castle and a great pub called Dirty Nellie's. Can't say enough about this beautiful B&B and the wonderful people who look after you while you visit, even when it is only for one night! Would return again and again!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
124 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

I booked this B & B on the recommendation of another hotel in the area and after reading reviews on Trip Advisor. I was not disappointed. The house, built in 1998, is immaculate in every way and the proprietors, Kevin and Penny O'Connor, were the perfect hosts. My friend and I arrived in the early afternoon and were greeted warmly. After checking in, we were treated to tea and scones in their kitchen which was spotless. Our room was small, 2 single beds but adequate and the bathroom was immaculate. The gardens are impeccably manicured and there is a lovely seating area in the back garden. Penny even arranged for someone to drive us to our restaurant in Bunratty that evening and offered to pick us up after our meal so that we could have a few drinks. The latter was not necessary but when we got back to the B & B, our hosts were in the kitchen with 2 guests and invited us to join them for a glass of wine. Beds were extremely comfortable and we woke refreshed to a terrific Irish Breakfast. Because I was happy with the B & B, I tried to book it again 2 days later but unfortunately they were completely sold out. at 70 Euros for the room and breakfast per couple, this was excellent value.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbaraCCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corning, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

We could only stay one night at Dunaree, but we were very pleased with our accomodations. Rooms were clean and comfortable and Penny was a wonderful hostess. Dunaree is in a quiet country setting, but in easy walking distance to Bunratty Castle and Durty Nellie's pub, which we did. I had a delicious traditional Irish breakfast and Penny was happy to prepare a complete vegan breakfast for my daughter. I highly recommend Dunaree B&B and would definitely stay there on a return trip.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeland, Tn
Level Contributor
117 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

Excellent b&b! We spent 4 nights with Penny and highly recommend. The breakfast is great, the room is very quiet. Bunratty Castle is quite interesting. Lots of interesting sights within easy driving distance, Cliffs of Moher, the Burren, Adare, and a number of interesting nearby castles and monasteries, some off the beaten path.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SweetTone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bunratty
0.7 mi away
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bunratty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,347 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bunratty Manor Hotel
Bunratty Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bunratty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Oakwood Hotel
The Oakwood Hotel
#2 of 3 in Shannon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Courtyard
The Courtyard
#1 of 25 in Bunratty
5.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.1 mi away
ParkHouse Bed & Breakfast
ParkHouse Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 25 in Bunratty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bunratty Castle Mews
Bunratty Castle Mews
#5 of 25 in Bunratty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunaree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunaree

Property: Dunaree
Address: Low Rd., Bunratty, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Bunratty
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Bunratty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunaree 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bunratty Dunaree is a traditional style residence, custom designed to provide a high standard of accommodation and comfort in a non smoking home for all visitors. Located on the Low Road, close to Bunratty Castle it is operated by the O’Connor family. Built on the eastern slope of Bunratty Hill close to the famous castle, it has panoramic views over the Owenagarney River and beyond to the hills of Cratloe. A warm friendly welcome awaits all guests. Dunaree is renowned for its fresh tasty breakfasts and now has free wifi throughout. The interior has a spacious relaxing lay-out and is decorated with a relaxing blend of modern and antique furnishings, complemented by an interesting collection of original artworks, prints and antique maps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Dunaree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing