We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gallows View B&B - Bunratty Special”
Review of Gallows View

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gallows View
Ranked #12 of 23 Bunratty B&B and Inns
Horwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Gallows View B&B - Bunratty Special”
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Gallows view B&B is an excellent place to stay, with outstanding hospitality and the best Irish Breakfast you could wish for.
It is very convenient for a visit to Bunratty Castle and Folk Park, which are two must see places in this beautiful part of Ireland.
Shannon Airport is a short and easy drive away from Gallows View.
Highly Recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KJBHorwichLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    16
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
35
55
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canyon Country, CA USA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Every time I go to Ireland, I stay with Mary before flying home from Shannon airport. She's about 15 minutes away, but no airplane noise. Mary will greet you with a smile, help with your bags if you need it, and make you want to stay a very long time. Gallowsview has a great location near Bunratty Castle & Folk Park and Durty Nellie's pub, and many more sights close by.The rooms are spacious, and at least one has a deep bathtub for soaking, in addition to the shower. If you have an early flight, she'll fix you breakfast before the sun is up. She's one of my favorite people in Ireland and I can't wait to see her again.

Room Tip: It's a quiet street with good parking, so you don't have to fret over traffic noise. There a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzicooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Needham, Massachusetts, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Only 15 minutes from Shannon Airport and near Bunratty Caste and Dirty Nellie's Pub this is an excellent value. Very nice room, great breakfast and our hostess was very friendly, informative and added greatly to our last night in Ireland.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansdale, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

We only stayed one night; however, Mary did everything possible to make our stay a pleasant one. We arrived late & she served us tea & cake before we retired to a very lovely room, with the nicest bathroom we encountered during our travels. Mary knew we were leaving at 0 dark 30 in the a.m., so she made sure we had some OJ & snacks to take with us. A lovely place & a lovely lady!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
369 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

This B&B was very nice. The owner, Mary, was very friendly and accommodating. Rooms are clean. Located close to Bunratty Castle and a 20 minute drive to the Shannon airport.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beerstl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
springfield area, mass
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

We stayed at Gallows View on our last night in Ireland. We Had a very comfortable stay with Mary. Gallows View is very nice. Comfortable beds, decor is beautiful. Location is very good.
We enjoyed the dinner show at the castle, I have to say the food is much better than in years past. The show is the same but the Meal was very good. The dinner show is a fun way to end a trip. Great breakfast before leaving for the airport. Easy trip back to the airport from Gallows View. Enjoy. Thanks again Mary.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1964mky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 November 2011

This was our second stay at the Gallows View. We found it through friends of friends as you do in Ireland, and will be back every time we come to visit. The great location - 15 minutes from Shannon, a mile from Bunratty and Durty Nelly's - is combined with a very well kept house and a great hostess to make this a wonderful place to spend a night or more.

She waited up late for us to get in at night, got us settled and comfortable that night, and then woke up early to get us all and amazing Irish breakfast for our last night on the island for this trip. I cannot say enough about Mary and her home, please stay here when you need to and be happy!

Room Tip: Ask for the balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flywaldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bunratty
0.2 mi away
Bunratty Manor Hotel
Bunratty Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bunratty
407 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bunratty
1,418 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Oakwood Hotel
The Oakwood Hotel
#2 of 3 in Shannon
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Shannon Springs Hotel
Shannon Springs Hotel
#3 of 3 in Shannon
333 reviews
4.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
7.0 mi away
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Dromoland Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
3,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gallows View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gallows View

Property: Gallows View
Address: Bunratty East | Co. Clare, Bunratty, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Bunratty
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Bunratty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within the beautiful Bunratty countryside, this pretty 4-star chalet offers bright, elegant rooms and full Irish breakfasts. Shannon Airport is just 15 minutes’ drive away.Light and airy, each room at Gallows View includes a private bathroom with toiletries and free Wi-Fi. Rooms also include a TV, tea/coffee-making facilities, and modern wood floors. Some rooms also boast lovely countryside or garden views.As well as freshly cooked breakfasts, Gallows View also serves pancakes, smoked salmon, and a wide range of continental options.Free parking is available, and both Bunratty Castle and Durty Nellies Pub can be reached in a 5-minute drive along a scenic country road. Bunratty Folk Park, gift shops, restaurants and pubs are also just 5 minutes’ drive away. Please use the following directions to find the property - turn left between Bunratty Castle and Durty Nellies Pub onto Lower Road. Continue on for 1 mile, Gallows View Bed & Breakfast is the 7th house on the right ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Gallows View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing