We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay at” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gallows View

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gallows View
Ranked #10 of 25 Bunratty B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
St Helens, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay at”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2012

We came to Ireland for our friend's wedding and we stayed at Gallows View for 3 days.
Mary, our hostess was so friendly and welcoming, she helped us a lot - especially with sorting out the hire suit for my husband who has forgotten to pack his own :( She has also offered to return the suit for us as we were leaving on Monday (bank holiday) and the store was closed.
The breakfasts were delicious and kept us going for at least half a day:)
The room was clean and warm. We did not have problems with Internet connection.
All in all it was just great. We would definitely recommend Gallows View to the friend and everybody who wants to stay in a beautiful house with the nicest hostess:)

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    15
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
33
52
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hayling Island UK
Level Contributor
73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

Arrived Shannon airport and collected our hire car quite late and stayed one night with Mary & John in Gallows View. They were very accommodating and had a flask of tea and buttered scones ready for us. Rooms were spacious and clean. Mary's breakfast was excellent. Very close to Bunratty Folk Park and Bunratty Castle and Woollen Mill shop and Durty Nelllie's Pub. Good Irish hospitality and if we flew into Shannon again we would definitely visit Mary & John. Their house was elegant and stylish. All in all an excellent start to our driving tour of Southern Ireland.

Room Tip: Mary will always advise you by email if you have queries.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Holidaywise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2012

All the wonderful things everyone said were absolutely true, so I won't reiterate them. Evidently there was another couple upstairs, but I never heard them. I saw them as we were leaving.
Mary even made my daughter a little breakfast to eat in the car, so she could sleep a little longer. I really appreciated Mary's thoughtfulness.

There were only two downsides. (1) I could not get internet anywhere but the living room. I was in the downstairs front bedroom. This was a huge annoyance to me planning my route etc. for the next day. (2) There were no blackout curtains, so it was light in the room until 11pm and sunlight at 5:30am again. We were there in July. If I would have remembered sleeping masks, it wouldn't have mattered.

So, if you need internet stay elsewhere. If you don't, this was like staying at your favorite aunt's house. It is great for visiting Bunratty.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank callista77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

Our only complaint was that the walls are paper-thin and we could hear voices early on and then loud snoring all night long from the adjacent room. To top it off, we heard voices again and the roar of a hair dryer about 5:30 am. We did not get a good night's rest. Aside from this, the room and bath were large, clean, and comfortable, Mary was very hospitable, and breakfast was generous and tasty. There is free Wifi, although because of a storm that night, our connection was spotty.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
Helpful?
Thank Marian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

Gallows view B&B is an excellent place to stay, with outstanding hospitality and the best Irish Breakfast you could wish for.
It is very convenient for a visit to Bunratty Castle and Folk Park, which are two must see places in this beautiful part of Ireland.
Shannon Airport is a short and easy drive away from Gallows View.
Highly Recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KJBHorwichLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canyon Country, CA USA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

Every time I go to Ireland, I stay with Mary before flying home from Shannon airport. She's about 15 minutes away, but no airplane noise. Mary will greet you with a smile, help with your bags if you need it, and make you want to stay a very long time. Gallowsview has a great location near Bunratty Castle & Folk Park and Durty Nellie's pub, and many more sights close by.The rooms are spacious, and at least one has a deep bathtub for soaking, in addition to the shower. If you have an early flight, she'll fix you breakfast before the sun is up. She's one of my favorite people in Ireland and I can't wait to see her again.

Room Tip: It's a quiet street with good parking, so you don't have to fret over traffic noise. There a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzicooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Needham, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

Only 15 minutes from Shannon Airport and near Bunratty Caste and Dirty Nellie's Pub this is an excellent value. Very nice room, great breakfast and our hostess was very friendly, informative and added greatly to our last night in Ireland.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bunratty
0.3 mi away
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bunratty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,347 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bunratty Manor Hotel
Bunratty Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bunratty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Oakwood Hotel
The Oakwood Hotel
#2 of 3 in Shannon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Courtyard
The Courtyard
#1 of 25 in Bunratty
5.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bunratty Castle Mews
Bunratty Castle Mews
#5 of 25 in Bunratty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bunratty Meadows Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gallows View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gallows View

Property: Gallows View
Address: Bunratty East | Co. Clare, Bunratty, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Bunratty
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Bunratty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within the beautiful Bunratty countryside, this pretty 4-star chalet offers bright, elegant rooms and full Irish breakfasts. Shannon Airport is just 15 minutes’ drive away.Light and airy, each room at Gallows View includes a private bathroom with toiletries and free Wi-Fi. Rooms also include a TV, tea/coffee-making facilities, and modern wood floors. Some rooms also boast lovely countryside or garden views.As well as freshly cooked breakfasts, Gallows View also serves pancakes, smoked salmon, and a wide range of continental options.Free parking is available, and both Bunratty Castle and Durty Nellies Pub can be reached in a 5-minute drive along a scenic country road. Bunratty Folk Park, gift shops, restaurants and pubs are also just 5 minutes’ drive away. Please use the following directions to find the property - turn left between Bunratty Castle and Durty Nellies Pub onto Lower Road. Continue on for 1 mile, Gallows View Bed & Breakfast is the 7th house on the right ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Gallows View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing