We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderfull holiday.”
Review of Gallows View

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gallows View
Ranked #10 of 23 Bunratty B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
england
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“wonderfull holiday.”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Thank you Mary for a wonderfull stay at Gallows View.5 days spent here,wonderfull place,balcony room with views of her lovely garden and beyond.Food great and Mary was so helpfull and pleasant.A fantastic time was had by us and we were sorry to leave.We will be back next year.Thanks again.Linda and Peter ,Southport

Room Tip: All are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary M, Owner at Gallows View, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Thank you very much for your wonderful review.
Your kindness is very much appreciated,
Best regards,
Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    16
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
35
54
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

I picked this B&B for it's name alone. (I love to read mysteries.) It had good reviews and it was close to Shannon Airport. But all my expectation were surpassed. Mary was a delightful hostess and told us about the name. I actually had the front room which had a private balcony and spectacular sunset later on (not a view of Gallows Hill). However, we happened to be there on one of the warmest days Ireland had had, and the room was actually too warm until later in the evening. But it was delightful to be able to sleep with the balcony door open.

We went with an easy breakfast as we had to an early time to return the car rental. Mary gave us very good directions to get to the airport.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary M, Manager at Gallows View, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review.
I am happy you enjoyed your visit.
Hope to see you again,
Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buscoldo (MN)
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We spent one night only but really good experience. Bunratty castle is really close, as well as pubs.. Lovely house, perfect hospitality! Warm house, lively host and really good choice in breakfast! Well done!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBonalds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary M, Owner at Gallows View, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Thank you very much for your wonderful review.It is very much appreciated.
Hope you had a wonderful visit.
Would love to have you stay next trip.
Best regards,
Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We love Mary! What a wonderful lady! My family stayed here on the evening of my parents 50th Wedding anniversary and my birthday. Mary put out fizz and cakes on arrival, and left our champers to chill for when we got back from dinner. Mary is totally charming as is her home and hospitality - and breakfast will keep you going all day. Would recommend a stay with her! We left her to go to Dromoland Castle - though in many respects we would have been just as happy to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheila m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary M, Owner at Gallows View, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Thank you very much for your review.
Glad you enjoyed the birthdays, and champers.
I will have some more on ice for the next one if you come back.
Regards to all,
Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vernon
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

My friend and I started out trip in London and then flew to Shannon. We were moving on to Clifden for a longer stay, but we weren't sure if we wanted to try driving from Shannon to Clifden at night after a late flight. So we booked a night a Gallows View. We didn't know how long it would take us to reach the B&B, and didn't think we would arrive until very late. We arrived much earlier than expected, and Mary was ready for us and had even left us some sandwiches and tea in our room. The next morning we enjoyed a full Irish Breakfast homemade by Mary and enjoyed visiting with the other travelers in the dinning room. Gallows View B&B was clean, quiet and comfortable. When I travel back to the Shannon/Bunratty area I look forward to staying here again and will stay for a longer trip.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Devon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary M, Owner at Gallows View, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Thank you very much for your wonderful review.
If you do come back to Ireland again it would be great to see you,
Best regards,
Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando
Level Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

My wife and I stayed at this delightful bed & breakfast, and enjoyed our stay very much. The hostess, Mary, was extremely helpful, gracious and went well out of her way to make us feel right at home. She's a great cook, and made a scrumptious breakfast for us. Her home is beautiful and she has one of the best bed & breakfasts at which I have ever stayed. I would heartily recommend their bed & breakfast as a great place to stay on any trip to Ireland.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LawyerJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary M, Owner at Gallows View, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Thank you so much Jim for your wonderful review.
Hope you enjoyed your visit very much.
It would be great to see you again,
Best regards to both of you,
Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

My husband and I stayed at Gallows View for 2 nights. We found that it was very comfortable and clean. Mary is an outstanding hostess!! The breakfasts were terrific and the location was excellent! Just a short 1-mile jaunt from Bunratty Castle and Folk Park (and Durty Nellie's of course!) and only 10 minutes from the Shannon airport. I highly recommend a stay at Gallows View!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary M, Owner at Gallows View, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Thanks for your wonderful review, it is very much appreciated.
Hope you had a good visit to Ireland.
Lovely people in Ohio.
It would be great to see you again sometime.
Best regards,
Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bunratty
0.1 mi away
Bunratty Manor Hotel
Bunratty Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bunratty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bunratty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,379 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Oakwood Hotel
The Oakwood Hotel
#2 of 3 in Shannon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Courtyard
The Courtyard
#1 of 23 in Bunratty
5.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
0.9 mi away
Avarest Bunratty B&B
Avarest Bunratty B&B
#11 of 23 in Bunratty
5.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bunratty Castle Mews
Bunratty Castle Mews
#6 of 23 in Bunratty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gallows View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gallows View

Property: Gallows View
Address: Bunratty East | Co. Clare, Bunratty, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Bunratty
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Bunratty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within the beautiful Bunratty countryside, this pretty 4-star chalet offers bright, elegant rooms and full Irish breakfasts. Shannon Airport is just 15 minutes’ drive away.Light and airy, each room at Gallows View includes a private bathroom with toiletries and free Wi-Fi. Rooms also include a TV, tea/coffee-making facilities, and modern wood floors. Some rooms also boast lovely countryside or garden views.As well as freshly cooked breakfasts, Gallows View also serves pancakes, smoked salmon, and a wide range of continental options.Free parking is available, and both Bunratty Castle and Durty Nellies Pub can be reached in a 5-minute drive along a scenic country road. Bunratty Folk Park, gift shops, restaurants and pubs are also just 5 minutes’ drive away. Please use the following directions to find the property - turn left between Bunratty Castle and Durty Nellies Pub onto Lower Road. Continue on for 1 mile, Gallows View Bed & Breakfast is the 7th house on the right ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Gallows View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing