We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A most wonderful place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Avarest Bunratty B&B
Ranked #9 of 25 Bunratty B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
La Sentinelle, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A most wonderful place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

We absolutely loved our stay with Deirdre and Freddie and their family. They all made us feel right at home. Everything that can be said about Avarest is positive. Definitely a five star experience. This was at the end of our two week vacation in Ireland and it was a great choice to be near Shannon airport. Deirdre was such a gracious host and I thoroughly enjoyed visiting with her. As both of us grew up on a farm, when I talked to her she seemed more like a neighbor rather than someone from the other side of the world from me. It was a delight! After eleven days of mostly meat and eggs for breakfast this was a perfect place. She offered the most variety for breakfast and she is a great cook! I loved sitting at my bedroom window and watching the rabbits running around the backyard. I also appreciated the shower which had great force and an abundance of hot water. Small things that you take for granted at home are nice when you find them on a trip. Stay at Avarest for a perfect B and B experience!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    21
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
79
87
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ballyshannon, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

We stayed here for one night and felt very welcome. A beautiful house with great comforts. Deirdre recommended eating in the Creamery in Bunratty which was a great choice. Will definitely return when in the area again.
A friendly, welcoming place to stay with a good breakfast to set you up for the day.
Go for it :-)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Njoy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albion Park, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

We booked 1 night at Avarest. We ended up staying for 3 nights. Deirdre, Freddy and the kids made us feel very very welcome. It really felt like home away from home. The bedroom we stayed in was huge. If you leave breakfast hungry then it would be your fault. Deirdre makes a large breakfast that will allow you to make it until a late lunch. There is a lounge room where you can chill out rather than having to spend all your time in the room. The lounge room also has a fridge which is dedicated to guest use.

Thanks Deirdre, Freddy and the kids for allowing us to share your home. :o)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

We stayed here one night after visiting the Cliffs of Moher. The owner was extremely nice and helpful giving us information about things we could go see nearby and when the best time was to take in the sights. Our room was both comfortable and clean with nothing to complain about. Location was extremely convenient as it wasn't too far from the Cliffs, but also let us get on the Motorway quickly in the morning on our way to Dublin. We got going so quickly that we were able to stop at the Rock of Cashel on the way.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeremy and Emil... B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

We stayed here on our last night after 10 days of B&B's across all of Ireland. It was the perfect place to wind down before flying out of Shannon. We had been up around the Cliffs of Moher all that day and it was an easy location to set up. Deidre had a great movie selection for us to curl up to and we even ordered pizza so we could veg and repack. It really felt like staying at a family members home or a good friends!!! I will be staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HollyK181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

Stayed for 3 days at the Avarest B&B. It was my third time and each time has been outstanding. The owners are extremely friendly, the food is wonderful and the location can not be beat. We were able to use Avarest as a base to see the Cliffs of Moher, Lahinch, Bunratty and all the small towns in the area.

Make sure you try the fresh pancakes!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank usuktravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2012

We told Deidre that she set the bar high when comparing her b&b to others in Ireland. She is close to Shannon airport and so we stayed there first on our vacation, and we stayed there last before flying out. The beds were the most comfortable, the rooms were the cleanest, and the service she and her family provided was the friendliest. It was great to be able to get friendly, personal information about things to do in the area. When we had to leave Ireland, our flight was very early in the morning. Deidre provided us with a cold breakfast that morning and her hot breakfast on our first stay there was lovely as well.. Deidre and family, Jim and Barb from Minnesota say hi!! If we are ever in Ireland again, we would probably book to stay at least half of our stay with you!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barb G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bunratty
1.2 mi away
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bunratty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,360 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bunratty Manor Hotel
Bunratty Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bunratty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Oakwood Hotel
The Oakwood Hotel
#2 of 3 in Shannon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Dromoland Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,052 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Courtyard
The Courtyard
#1 of 25 in Bunratty
5.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
4.0 mi away
Carrygerry Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avarest Bunratty B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avarest Bunratty B&B

Property: Avarest Bunratty B&B
Address: off the N18 dual-carriageway | Hurlers Cross, Bunratty, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Bunratty
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Bunratty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Purpose built luxurious home only 3 miles from Shannon Airport and Bunratty Castle. Approved 4****Bed and Breakfast. Large en-suite rooms, power showers, TV, telephone. Free Wi-Fi. Large guest lounge/library with tea/coffee, fridge and ice machine facilities. Awarded Certificate of Excellence 5*****Frommers Recommended 2011 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Avarest Bunratty B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing