We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Practically Perfect Promenade!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ballybunion
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Promenade Hotel
Ranked #14 of 21 Ballybunion B&B and Inns
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Practically Perfect Promenade!”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at the promenade hotel. The staff are so friendly, funny and helpful. We actually felt like they were our friends by the time we left. Happy memories. They went above and beyond in helping is to get to the airport, so thank you! We had a fantastic time in Ballybunion. The Hotel is in a perfect location and the service, food and accommodation is excellent. The rooms are modern, clean and comfortable. We had a 'sea view' room which I have to say is breathtaking. The beach is beautiful.
Overall we have very happy memories of our stay at The Promenade Hotel in Ballybunion. We will be back with the kids!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Loopy1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    10
    4
    4
    10
See reviews for
15
20
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We have just returned from our overnight stay at the promenade hotel Ballybunion. The staff were so helpful and friendly. The food was excellent both for dinner and breakfast. The room was modern, clean and overlooking the sea. Can't wait to return. We highly recommend this hotel within walking distance of all amenities.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ballinwillin_House
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We stayed with our 2 young children for a weekend in the family room.
The room was perfect, with a separate bedroom within the room for the parents.
We ate both nights in the restaurant and the food was amazing at a very good price.
Martina and her staff definitely went the extra mile to make our stay very pleasant.

The hotel provided a babysitter on the two night while we ate downstairs. This was perfect, as our children are still very young.

Room Tip: If you have children, make sure to ask for the family room. (Room 15/16)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JanPieter78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
listowel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

We had a surprise birthday at the Promenade for my mother as she had been there for dinner on a few occasions and adored the food, Namir couldnt do enough to accomodate us. We had a buffet for 45 and i could safely say it would have fed double that amount.The food was beyond fantastic and was the talk of the nite, the party ranged from 15 to 70 years in age, so that, was some fete. The bedrooms were very comfortable and had very thing you need in them, Fab nite,

On another note we had a young guy by the name of john o connor from tralee playing. He had a beautiful voice. Played modern to old. Lady Ga Ga versus christy moore. Definately a treasure to find. would highly recommend him to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MariaLy9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stellenbosch, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

This family run hotel went out of their way to accomodate us and make us feel very welcome. Their rooms are tastefully & newly decorated. We found the room and bathroom (good size shower) spacious, especially by comparison to a handful of other hotel rooms we viewed in the area. The service was great & the food excellent! The hotel is perfectly situated. We highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TMacKinnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
COUNTY LIMERICK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

We were attending a family reunion in Ballybunion and when sourcing accommodation, I found the Promenade Hotel. I had not stayed there previously and understand that it is under new Management since August 2011. The accommodation rates were very good and we decided to stay for two nights. I was really amazed at the standard of accommodation. Rooms were brightly decorated, linen and towels were pristine clean, but the very best part was the exceptionally friendly service. We enjoyed a freshly cooked full Irish breakfast each morning and the highlight was certainly the beautiful dinner on Sunday night. The Restaurant was fully booked on both nights and had a lovely atmosphere. The entire stay was great and it is the very best value for money that I have encountered - I have been in the tourism industry for over 25 years and am not the easiest to please! I wish the owners and staff every success - they certainly deserve it!

Room Tip: We had a beautiful veiw overlooking the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank katiedg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

My partner,father,stepmother and I found the Promenade hotel by accident last week whilst on holiday and would thoroughly recommend it to anyone.

We were really looking for a "pub grub" meal but the hotel was offering four courses for two people at 50 euros. The food was streets ahead of anywhere I've eaten and the service was fantastic. The waiter was very approachable,helpful and friendly and the chef came out to introduce himself and see how we were-even offering to cook and bring more chicken for my dish.

Thoroughly enjoyable experience. Relaxed and welcoming atmosphere, great value for money, top notch food and quite possibly the best craic we had in Ireland!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ballybunion hotels
0.4 mi away
Cliff House Hotel
Cliff House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ballybunion
171 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Tides B&B
The Tides B&B
#1 of 21 in Ballybunion
392 reviews
0.4 mi away
The 19th Lodge
The 19th Lodge
#2 of 21 in Ballybunion
1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Teach de Broc
Teach de Broc
#3 of 21 in Ballybunion
177 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kilcooly's Country House Hotel
0.4 mi away
Cashen Course House
Cashen Course House
#5 of 21 in Ballybunion
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Promenade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Promenade Hotel

Property: The Promenade Hotel
Address: The Promenade Hotel Sandhill Road, Ballybunion, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Ballybunion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Ballybunion
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to join us at The Promenade Hotel for an unforgettable and relaxing vacation at the most beautiful of settings in the famed seaside town of Ballybunion.In a world of rare beauty, facing the vast Atlantic Ocean, The Promenade Hotel welcomes families, tourists and business guests with professionalism and gracious hospitality.With its central location overlooking Ballybunion Castle and two of Ireland’s finest sandy beaches the Promenade Hotel has everything to offer you on your visit to beautiful Ballybunion. The Hotel boasts breathtaking evening sunsets and spectacular views of the sparkling Shannon Estuary. The recently renovated Promenade Hotel boasts 16 beautiful bedrooms with a contemporary chic style decor throughout. The sumptuous bed linen and the walnut furniture, enrich the ambience of each room.This style is continued in the piano bar where you can relax and enjoy a social drink while gazing out across the ocean or maybe join in a sing song with the locals. Our cosy Prom restaurant with its fine cuisine which chef has ensured has something for all tastes is a follow through from the bar area with the same tones and colours being used along with some unusual art decorating the facades.We at the Promenade Hotel would like to ensure all our guests a fantastic stay in our friendly quaint hotel on the south west coast of the Emerald Isle and hope you leave with some treasured memories of your visit and hopefully one day soon we will have the pleasure of your company again. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing