We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old with a musty smell”
Review of Cliff House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cliff House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ballybunion
Certificate of Excellence
Mallow, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Old with a musty smell”
Reviewed 25 July 2012

This hotel is very run down staff are friendly,the view is lovely but the quality of the hotel is very poor should only be a two star hotel. At the time I had a broken leg and I couldnt use the stairs and I was told there was no elevator Disgraceful NON WHEELCHAIR FRIENDLY

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank PaulWalsh_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    45
    17
    10
    10
See reviews for
61
36
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Western Springs, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Our group of 8 golfers was very pleased with our 3 night stay at The Cliff House. The location is ideal for walking into the town or beach, just a few minutes drive from the great golf at Ballybunion. We enjoyed our breakfasts (wonderful bread) from the dining room overlooking the beach & the young hotel staff could not have been more attentive or delightful under the tutelage of the proprietors, Fiona & Kevin. We had several delicious dinners at the hotel as well. The cliff walk across the street among the most spectacular scenery of our trip, which included several days on the Dingle Peninsula. We had to depart at 5AM to catch flights from Dublin, and Fiona was there to send us off with fresh coffee and fruit, and had made us breakfast sandwiches for the ride. Thanks again for a memorable stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markham, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

We had been delayed by road construction, so we headed to the closest town, which was Ballybunion, to get a hotel for the night. Since the golf season had not begun yet, the only hotel open, was the Cliff House, which turned out to be a gem. The rooms were comfortable, although we were on the third floor and there were no lifts, which made it harder for my mum & elderly aunt. There is a great pub on the main floor and a dining room which has a beautiful view of the water. The food was fabulous and the service was friendly and quick. The summer student working there, whos's name was Thomas, made our stay very pleasant, as he was organized, helpful and always had a smile on his face. It was easy to find and was a short drive to the ferry @ Talbert.

Room Tip: There is no lift, so if you have a problem with stairs, choose a room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

This is not a great hotel, the rooms are clean, very small and could do with renovating. We stayed one night our room was on the 1st floor and the when the residents in the room above us came in we could every thing like they were in the room with us, every foot step, flushing the toilet ,the conversation we even heard them snoring!!! I would not stay in this hotel again, the only positive thing I could day is that the breakfast was nice and the service was good. But was really not happy to hand over 100 euro for the night.

Room Tip: Stay on the second floor as you will not have anyone overhead you!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Vlong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

For our annual golf trip we stayed for four nights at the Cliff House Hotel in Ballybunion and couldn't reccommend it high enough. I have stayed in many 5 star hotels and for different reasons I would put this hotel right up there. Although it is a 3 *** Hotel the owner Kevin and his wife Fiona run a very welcoming and professional operation. The bedrooms were immaculate and very comfortable, Kevin's education of food and wine is second to none and the chef produced the most amazing French cuisine. The staff were extremely friendly and the service superb.This hotel has the typical Irish friendly atmosphere about it and I would not hesitate in reccommending it to anyone who intends travelling to County Kerry.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co. Clare Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Stayed in the Cliff House Hotel for 4 nights during race week (September 2011). Having stayed in a number of hotels across Ireland and Internationally this hotel equals the standard of a 5 star hotel. We had dinner in the restaurant one evening and the food was superb! What makes this hotel unique is their amazing staff, they couldn't do enough for you and they were always willing to go above and beyond! This is a family run hotel which clearly makes a significant difference. I would highly recommend this hotel and definitely will be back!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fionamary O, Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review, 14 November 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for you lovely comments on The Cliff House Hotel,
I remember chatting with you on the morning of your departure when you personally complimented me on food and indeed the amazing staff, I have to agree we have wonderful team here at the hotel.

We look forward to having you back in the hotel again.

Kind Regards.

Fiona O’Callaghan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neston,wirral,england
Level Contributor
221 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Stayed here for 4 nights with National Holidays.
The hotel is in a prime position, & we had a balcony room overlooking Ballybunion beach.
The room was clean & a good size, the en-suite was very good. The only problem with the rooms were the paper thin walls, we were kept awake from 5.30am on the first morning by a bad snorer in the next room, luckily for us we were informed that the snorer was leaving that day & it was OK after that.
The food was excellent, except for a bread & butter pudding which was awful.
The staff were all a delight, but with our coach party being the first this year at the hotel, they were a bit haphazard.
Ballybunion is lovely with great walks either way from the hotel.

Room Tip: Balcony with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cliff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fionamary O, Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review, 14 November 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel.

I am certainly disappointed that your night’s sleep was not all that it could have been.
Our standard procedure in this event would be to offer you an upgraded room away from the snoring guest.

I am sorry that our bread & butter pudding was not up to its usual standard on the night you had it, our team of chef’s in the kitchen ware informed and I can assure you that the next time you visit, the bread & butter pudding will be just as excellent as the rest of our food.

I am disappointed that you thought the staff to be a bit haphazard serving you, and I would like you to know that I have raised this with our entire service team as part of our training. I am pleased that you did think the staff to be delightful.

Thank you for your lovely comments about Ballybunion itself; it is indeed a lovely seaside town, with great walks.

Once again, thank you for all your comments.

We look forward to having you back in the hotel again.

Kind Regards.

Fiona O’Callaghan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballybunion
9.2 mi away
Listowel Arms Hotel
Listowel Arms Hotel
#1 of 7 in Listowel
363 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Tides B&B
The Tides B&B
#1 of 21 in Ballybunion
392 reviews
0.7 mi away
The 19th Lodge
The 19th Lodge
#2 of 21 in Ballybunion
1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Teach de Broc
Teach de Broc
#3 of 21 in Ballybunion
177 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kilcooly's Country House Hotel
0.7 mi away
Cashen Course House
Cashen Course House
#5 of 21 in Ballybunion
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliff House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliff House Hotel

Property: Cliff House Hotel
Address: Cliff Road, Ballybunion, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Ballybunion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ballybunion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cliff House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Cliff House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliff Hotel Ballybunion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing