We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wine and Dine like a Movie Star”
Review of Cliff House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cliff House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ballybunion
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 September 2012

While on a golf trip with our husbands we stayed at this great little Inn. While the rooms could use an uplift the balcony room has a spectacular view. But best of all was the service throughout and the Pub and dining experience. The Pub was the best Pub of all the ones we visited in Ireland. True Irish! And the restaurant on site with a view of the water, what can I say except this was the best meal and wine on our trip. And they treat you so wonderful and they know their wine . So wives if you are on a golf trip in Ireland with your husband’s you should defiantly make this a stop for a true evening of winey and dining!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steffi l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (190)
There are newer reviews for Cliff House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 190 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2012

after a fantastic day at bally bunion beach we went to the cliff house for refreshments. Again we were overwhelmed by staff friendliness and willingness to help in anyway possible. lovely comfy bar area with big plasma tv to watch the football on.... just what was needed to relax in comfort with a nice refreshing drink and to keep the children entertained. we cannot wait to visit again and stay over breath taking views to wake up too and fantastically located in a perfect spot for everything you could possibly need on your holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrsm1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Had a lovely break in the Cliff House Hotel, one night stay in a sea view room, large room with balcony overlooking the beach. Comfy bed! Really nice breakfast with a selection of cereals, fruit salad and hot food cooked to order, very tasty. The location of the hotel is great, at the top of the beach road. The decor in the room seems to have been recently done up (curtains, paint) but the carpets are a bit worn and dated (minor point only). Overall, lovely hotel in this beach location.

Room Tip: Seaview room is a must!!!
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelbug3Clare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

my daughter & myself had food in the cliff house on 3 nights of our holiday, the food was excellent but most important the staff michelle, daniella, trevor & reception staff were kind, friendly & very helpful. We booked in on the last day of our holiday because of the service we recieved. it is a beautiful hotel & I will be staying there on many more occasions

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theresa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We had 8 golfers stay for a night. The staff couldnt be more helpful and even organised for breakfast to be ready for us at 5.45am before our early tee time. The food was fantastic and the bar was a lot of fun with Noel Nash playing guitar. We will definitely be back

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

My family and I had a wonderful 3 night stay at the Cliff House hotel.From the moment we arrived we were made very welcome and felt relaxed and comfortable.Our room had a beautiful view of the beach and cliffs.As we spent a couple of days out seeing the sights of County Kerry, we only had the opportunity to eat in the restaurant on one of the evenings. The food was excellent and the service top class.Breakfast was delicious and again served with a warm smile from the friendly staff. On the food front, my wife cant stop telling people about Fiona' (owner) wonderful Banana bread, make sure ya try it.The best part of each day however was the evening's. The homely and welcome atmosphere in the bar was the perfect setting for unwinding with a few drinks and a sing-a-long.All in all an absolutely wonderful stay and we cant wait to go back.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stedar4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

A regular stopover place for me as a single room. Perfect location with the quality golf courses down the road. Not one for a romantic weekend. Yes, it's a bit tired and closure over winter means that the rooms suffer from a sense of damp. Nevertheless, the staff are chirpy and can't do enough for you and pretty reasonable

Room Tip: You must get a sea view room...knockout when the weather's good.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Kevin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballybunion
9.2 mi away
Listowel Arms Hotel
Listowel Arms Hotel
#1 of 7 in Listowel
379 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kilcooly's Country House Hotel
1.1 mi away
The Tides B&B
The Tides B&B
#2 of 21 in Ballybunion
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The 19th Lodge
The 19th Lodge
#1 of 21 in Ballybunion
1,161 reviews
1.3 mi away
Teach de Broc
Teach de Broc
#3 of 21 in Ballybunion
188 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cashen Course House
Cashen Course House
#5 of 21 in Ballybunion
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliff House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliff House Hotel

Address: Cliff Road, Ballybunion, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Ballybunion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ballybunion
Price Range: £103 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cliff House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Cliff House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliff Hotel Ballybunion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing