We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Found by accident” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cliff House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cliff House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ballybunion
Certificate of Excellence
Bathgate
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Found by accident”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2012

We were looking for a hotel and came across this little treasure. Sure the rooms are pretty grim but clean and have a nice deep bath, and our balcony looked over the atlantic with stunning views. The food was AMAZING. The only real down point was that there was no lift, and is not fun carrying bags up 2 flights of stairs. well worth a wee visit for either golf or the horse racing.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LynseyCBathgate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    44
    17
    10
    9
See reviews for
55
35
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012 via mobile

The rooms may be old but clean , they do need a revamp.

There is no lift which is a pity as my mum is in a wheel chair.

The food was truly excellent.


This was my 2 nd time staying at the cliff and my 3 rd time rating there and I have to say the food is second to none and the wine selection is also impressive.

Good location . The staff were friendly and helpful.

Very happy with our stay.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rockhill1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alton, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2012

We stayed for a long weekend at the beginning of October. Fiona couldn't have been more hospitable and helpful. Breakfast was superb with fresh fruit salad, juices, cereals as well as cooked and would recommend her home made soda bread and banana bread. It really kept us going for the day. The bar staff were friendly and Noel Nash sang one evening, making it a truly memorable Irish experience.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with balcony and views of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

While on a golf trip with our husbands we stayed at this great little Inn. While the rooms could use an uplift the balcony room has a spectacular view. But best of all was the service throughout and the Pub and dining experience. The Pub was the best Pub of all the ones we visited in Ireland. True Irish! And the restaurant on site with a view of the water, what can I say except this was the best meal and wine on our trip. And they treat you so wonderful and they know their wine . So wives if you are on a golf trip in Ireland with your husband’s you should defiantly make this a stop for a true evening of winey and dining!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steffi l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

after a fantastic day at bally bunion beach we went to the cliff house for refreshments. Again we were overwhelmed by staff friendliness and willingness to help in anyway possible. lovely comfy bar area with big plasma tv to watch the football on.... just what was needed to relax in comfort with a nice refreshing drink and to keep the children entertained. we cannot wait to visit again and stay over breath taking views to wake up too and fantastically located in a perfect spot for everything you could possibly need on your holiday.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsm1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2012

Had a lovely break in the Cliff House Hotel, one night stay in a sea view room, large room with balcony overlooking the beach. Comfy bed! Really nice breakfast with a selection of cereals, fruit salad and hot food cooked to order, very tasty. The location of the hotel is great, at the top of the beach road. The decor in the room seems to have been recently done up (curtains, paint) but the carpets are a bit worn and dated (minor point only). Overall, lovely hotel in this beach location.

Room Tip: Seaview room is a must!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbug3Clare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2012

my daughter & myself had food in the cliff house on 3 nights of our holiday, the food was excellent but most important the staff michelle, daniella, trevor & reception staff were kind, friendly & very helpful. We booked in on the last day of our holiday because of the service we recieved. it is a beautiful hotel & I will be staying there on many more occasions

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Theresa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballybunion
9.2 mi away
Listowel Arms Hotel
Listowel Arms Hotel
#1 of 8 in Listowel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Tides B&B
The Tides B&B
#2 of 21 in Ballybunion
5.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
0.7 mi away
The 19th Lodge
The 19th Lodge
#1 of 21 in Ballybunion
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kilcooly's Country House Hotel
0.7 mi away
Cashen Course House
Cashen Course House
#5 of 21 in Ballybunion
5.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
1.3 mi away
Teach de Broc
Teach de Broc
#3 of 21 in Ballybunion
5.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliff House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliff House Hotel

Property: Cliff House Hotel
Address: Cliff Road, Ballybunion, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Ballybunion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ballybunion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cliff House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Cliff House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliff Hotel Ballybunion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing