We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks for our Wonderful Stay”
Review of Cliff House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cliff House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ballybunion
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We recently stayed at the Cliff House for 2 nights with our 2 small boys and had a wonderful experience!! From the greeting on arrival by Fiona (who insisted on helping with our luggage!!) to all staff we encountered in the bar, restaurant and on reception, nothing was too much trouble. The staff were welcoming, pleasant and showed a genuine interest in ensuring that we enjoyed our stay. We sat in the restaurant in the morning looking out onto the beautiful Ladies Beach which would bring a smile to anyone's face. The rooms are comfortable and have all the necessary facilities. We will definitely return in the future and keep up the good work xx
Deirdre Hayes McCann

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeeKerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (192)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 192 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2013 via mobile

I can't fault my stay in the cliff house. From the minute we entered the hotel we were looked after beyond anything I have experienced before. Fiona the lady that owns the hotel along with her husband Kevin are a breath of fresh air and other hotels could learn a lot from them. Thanks for a lovely stay and we will definitely be back xxx

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sineadcottrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We did not stay at The Cliff House so this review is based solely on the our dining experience. The restaurant has the best view in town but at a price. The menu reads well but the food fails to deliver, in so far as, the portion size of some dishes is very small and therefore overpriced. I felt the kitchen tried to disguise this by over garnishing these dishes. Apart from this, what we ordered was nicely cooked and fresh.There was a starter called Italian Tapas, which I thought odd as it is my understanding that this dish is Spanish. Either way, it was badly executed and bore no resemblance to the real thing. On a positive note, the breads were delicious,the dining room has a nice French seaside feel, the aforementioned view, excellent, friendly service and a very good wine list. However, at the prices being charged I would expect a linen napkin.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cliona m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

I recently spent two nights in the Cliff House with a friend and our 3 children in a family room. Plenty of space despite being occupied by five people! Lovely staff, great views and fine food. Many thanks to Fiona who went was really obliging. Most importantly all were most tolerant of our children. We hope to make a return visit next year.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Margaret T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

The Cliff House is a lovely, long established, family owned hotel overlooking the sea in Ballybunion...The views while enjoying your "full Irish" breakfast are worth the stay. The food is fresh & delicious.The atmosphere and entertainment in the pub are both excellent. The staff is always friendly & helpful. Just steps to the Cliff Walk, the beach & main street...the famous Ballybunion " Old Course" is just a short 4/5 min away...For real Irish hospitality along the Kerry coast, you won't be disappointed with the lovely Fiona and her staff. at the Clliff House Hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MckennafromKerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We stayed in the Cliff House Hotel July 2013 for 1 night. Rang through the booking as couldn't book 3 rooms on line.Offered single room for 75euro, double rooms for 110.When we checked in we were given the rooms at a discount, 60 for the single and 100 for the doubles. Nice gesture. The CHH has been around for years. the bar has been refurbished as has the outside area, fab location just at the top of the walk back from the beach and a perfect place for a cold drink sitting outside. Local entertainment was a 1 man band. There was a function room hosting an event for 120 people. the room was spectacular to say the least. We hit the sack around 1am, you could still hear the music from the function room no matter what room you were in, got to sleep around 2 and it went on til around 3am. A bit naughty really, they could have turned it down. The rooms themselves are nice, bathrooms are modern, beds are comfy. double room had a double bed and 2 singles, kids under 16 are free which is a bonus and you pay 5euro for their full breakfast. Now breakfast .... great choice of fruit, bread, yoghurts etc etc. the waitresses however were run off their feet. we had to wait 40 minutes for our breakfast which is a shame but they were just so busy they needed more hands to deck. the full breakfast was delicious. Staff are very helpful and friendly in the CHH. Take the cheaper room if offered to you, over the bar area as you will hear the same noise as any other room. Manager was doing his duty, chatting to guests and welcoming.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CatherineK3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

There are so many reviews of this hotel already, and as expected, they are all written from a very personal standpoint with mostly glowing reports. Here's my two cent's worth: Fiona, the proprietor has such a warm and wonderful personality that all the little things that are not so great are happily overlooked by well-looked-after guests. Mr. Fiona, has an interest in wines that is evident in the winelist; my spouse is a wine expert (no, no, I don't mean he drinks a lot of the stuff) and he says that the wine list was not just very good but also keenly priced making it feasible to enjoy a bottle without feeling a pinch in the pocket. This is the hospitality industry at its best! Take off the rose-colored glasses and you see a slightly jaded building with a re-vamp that's a work in progress. For example, the newly decorated dining area is a lovely driftwood and seashell inspired room but is accessed through a dark and unappealing 80's style carpeted bar. In sum I would describe The Cliff House as a quirky home-from-home where you will be assured of a welcome and will find it easy to settle right in. We will be putting on our rose-coloured spectacles and checking-in regularly thru the season.

Room Tip: Look for a balcony room on the first level, balcony rooms on the second level are not as comfy.
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Fiona W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballybunion
11.6 mi away
The Bayview
The Bayview
#1 of 4 in Kilkee
391 reviews
17.4 mi away
Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa
9.2 mi away
Listowel Arms Hotel
Listowel Arms Hotel
#1 of 7 in Listowel
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
49 mi away
Glanleam House
Glanleam House
#2 of 2 in Valentia Island
53 reviews
16.8 mi away
The Ashe Hotel
The Ashe Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tralee
760 reviews
0 mi away
The 19th Lodge
The 19th Lodge
#1 of 21 in Ballybunion
1,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliff House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliff House Hotel

Address: Cliff Road, Ballybunion, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Ballybunion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ballybunion
Price Range: £105 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cliff House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Cliff House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliff Hotel Ballybunion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing