We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place To Stay In Ballybunion”
Review of Cliff House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cliff House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ballybunion
Certificate of Excellence
Ballybunion, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best Place To Stay In Ballybunion”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Our favourite place in Ballybunion so much so that we held our wedding here, Fiona and Kevin made not just our day but the whole weekend so very special, Fiona worked tirelessly to make it a dream day for us, the meal was just perfect, absolutely gorgeous. Our guests just loved it and still talk about it. The location is just perfect, fabulous views, beside the beach and the Cliff walk, great food, beautiful rooms overlooking the beach with amazing sunsets. The staff are so friendly and helpful, a real family run, exceptional hotel, a little gem. You wont be disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room a balcony room overlooking the beach and enjoy the beautiful sunsets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katandjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fionamary O, Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Kat & Joe,

Thank you so much for your lovely write up on trip advisor, Kevin & I loved looking after you on your special day, mind you though it only seems like yesterday !

We have posted your wonderful write up on the staff notice Bord to remind the staff how great they are and how they are what makes the Cliff House so special ! so thank you for that !

Kindest Regards.

Yours Sincerely,


Mrs Fiona O Callaghan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    45
    17
    10
    10
See reviews for
61
36
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

For over 10 years our golf group has enjoyed staying with Kevin and Fiona at the Cliff House. Wonderful service, food and clean rooms. Great hot showers after a long day on the course in typical wet, cold and windy Irish weather. The staff is always ready to help with any and all requests.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
s.ireland.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

This house is proprietor run with four star quality, amazing views. The menu and reputation for excellent food is Legendary! Slight blip..incorrect photo.. Outside pic on T.A. shows the great Older Attic guest house on upper Main Street..great location but Cliff House is located over the Beach. It is absolutely Amazing and ity`s reputation is infamous... Excellent, classic and solo comfortably arranged bedrooms with Balconies..spotless hotel where both owners and staff have a smile for everybody! They run a consistently excellent hotel, restaurant and bar.!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderingirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We stayed here for one night as my friends' wedding reception was on in the hotel. Everything down to the last detail was just perfect. I would highly recommend the Cliff House Hotel as a wedding reception venue. It was just lovely. The hotel is the sister hotel of the Listowel Arms Hotel where the civil ceremony was held - again every little detail was just perfect. Not that we spent much time there but our room was spacious with a view overlooking the entrance which was ideal as we could see the bride and groom arriving from our window and this gave us the right amount of time to head downstairs to greet them on their way in. Ballybunion is a lovely beach location and we got to enjoy a walk along the beach the next day. Again I highly recommend this hotel as a wedding location. We will be back:)

Room Tip: Request a room with a sea view. The hotel faces the sea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DDee_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 September 2013

A party of four of us stayed in the Cliff House for a couple of nights during a golfing trip to the south west. We all really enjoyed the Cliff House and the wonderful hospitality provided by Kevin, Fiona and the team. The rooms we had were comfortable and clean with great sea views but the real highlight was the warmth of the welcome, the great food and the unbelievable service ; nothing was too much trouble with Fiona, in particular, readily offering to make bookings, check times and adapt the menu in their fine restaurant to meet the varying requests of our party! Kevin's wine expertise was also well appreciated ... We'll be back for sure

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank A J O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We recently stayed at the Cliff House for 2 nights with our 2 small boys and had a wonderful experience!! From the greeting on arrival by Fiona (who insisted on helping with our luggage!!) to all staff we encountered in the bar, restaurant and on reception, nothing was too much trouble. The staff were welcoming, pleasant and showed a genuine interest in ensuring that we enjoyed our stay. We sat in the restaurant in the morning looking out onto the beautiful Ladies Beach which would bring a smile to anyone's face. The rooms are comfortable and have all the necessary facilities. We will definitely return in the future and keep up the good work xx
Deirdre Hayes McCann

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeeKerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013 via mobile

I can't fault my stay in the cliff house. From the minute we entered the hotel we were looked after beyond anything I have experienced before. Fiona the lady that owns the hotel along with her husband Kevin are a breath of fresh air and other hotels could learn a lot from them. Thanks for a lovely stay and we will definitely be back xxx

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sineadcottrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballybunion
9.2 mi away
Listowel Arms Hotel
Listowel Arms Hotel
#1 of 7 in Listowel
363 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Tides B&B
The Tides B&B
#1 of 21 in Ballybunion
392 reviews
0.7 mi away
The 19th Lodge
The 19th Lodge
#2 of 21 in Ballybunion
1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Teach de Broc
Teach de Broc
#3 of 21 in Ballybunion
177 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kilcooly's Country House Hotel
0.7 mi away
Cashen Course House
Cashen Course House
#5 of 21 in Ballybunion
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliff House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliff House Hotel

Property: Cliff House Hotel
Address: Cliff Road, Ballybunion, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Ballybunion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ballybunion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cliff House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Cliff House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliff Hotel Ballybunion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing