We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dismal food”
Review of Cliff House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cliff House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ballybunion
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

We ate in the hotel, 4 of us. The service was average at best. Our starters were nice, but 3 out of the 4 mains were terrible. The fish was over cooked, the chips were from the end of the pan all burnt and greasy. The peas were unseasoned. Just really not worth the price. We said it to our server, she just apologised, said there wasn't anything she could do.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vlong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fionamary O, Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post you opinion on Trip Advisor, all comments are welcome so that we can improve on our standard and our service.

It was unfortunate that your experience was now up to our usual standard. Should you wish to visit us again, please let me know so that I can personally look after you.


Yours Sincerely,

Fiona O Callaghan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (192)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 192 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014

Stayed in Ballybunion for a week last week and spent most of the week in this restaurant. We ate here almost every night. The food was excellent and the staff couldn't do enough for us! They were so child friendly with was a huge plus. Highly recommended and will 100% go back here again

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Llass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fionamary O, Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write on trip advisor, your lovely comments are much appreciated, I would have to agree with you ,that staff are all really friendly and accommodating and always go above and beyond , I think that is what makes the Cliff House so Special ! The Team of Chef's ware trilled to hear you enjoyed their food so much you ate with them almost every night ! Thank you !

I look forward to your return visit.

Yours Sincerely,

Mrs Fiona O Callaghan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We booked that hotel online as the photos and assesments looked well.

Once we arrived: There is no hotel specific parking space. So you need to be very lucky to get one, as the closeby beach with their visitors occupy anything available.

Once we entered the hotel lobby: There is a fat filled air that welcomes you, originating from the kitchen and pub/restaurant. The lobby is not really a lobby.

Once we received the keys: We decided first to take a look at the room. The pictures from the owner are not really showing the condition of this place. The bath room had no window and so the fungus et al takes its toll. The beds had seen better days as well. Most anyoing: the carpets, and you don't want to know what's living in there.The balcony had seen no maintenance for a while. Gras is grwoing in where possible, and you have the road right in from of your balcony. Yes, you can see the beach. But do you also need the noise from people down there and the cars passing by? We defenitely not.

Once we been back to the lobby: We decided not to sleep here. The lady on the reception had no clues what to due and insisted on the full price. So we asked for the manager(in), and she told us a strange story about the commission she had to pay for the online booking company, and if we pay 50 Euro, we are done. So we did and left this place as quick as possible and promised never to come back to this miserable place.

BTW: The town isn't worth a trip. It has the charme of on English style beach village from the 70ths with lots of casino and kid entertainment on the main road, to park the kids when the parents doing something different or whatever. Also - it's hard to find a reasonable restaurant in that town.

Dear traveller: If you are not up for golf - you better miss this place at all.

BTW2: The restaurant at the golf club is very lousy. Beliefe me - My family owned and operated a hotel & restaurant. So I know what I am writing about.

BTW3: Sorry, I missed to took some pictures of this plae. I was so shocked and looked at my wife shaking her head that we head over heels left it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fionamary O, Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write on Trip Advisor, I am sorry that you did not like Ballybunion, it is indeed a pity as the town has loads to offer, the two beautiful blue flag beaches , the two green schools, newly refurbished 150 year old church, stunning cliff walks, the traditional seaweed baths, Surfing, bike riding, heritage walks, flora & fauna walks, the newly built leisure center , a theater and of course the famous golf course.

Ballybunion is family friendly seaside resort with all the facilities one would need to enjoy a break away, the locals are extremely friendly and very accommodating, we have some great restaurants and bar's with live music most nights, I am disappointed for you that you did not allow yourself the time to experience what Ballybunion was really all about.

I meet with you when you viewed your Balcony room and did not like it because it looked onto the road that runs between the beach and the hotel.

Last minute Canceled rooms are normally charged full price, I charged you less that half for yours.

The Cliff House Hotel is a small family run business with a great restaurant, that has a very good reputation for good food and excellent service, the "fat filled air " you referred was the wonderful aroma of good fresh local produce being prepared for by our team of chef's who are highly offended by your unjust comments.

Once again, I am sorry that you did not give Ballybunion or the Cliff House a change to add something very special to your holiday.

Yours Sincerely,

Mrs Fiona O Callaghan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Our favourite place in Ballybunion so much so that we held our wedding here, Fiona and Kevin made not just our day but the whole weekend so very special, Fiona worked tirelessly to make it a dream day for us, the meal was just perfect, absolutely gorgeous. Our guests just loved it and still talk about it. The location is just perfect, fabulous views, beside the beach and the Cliff walk, great food, beautiful rooms overlooking the beach with amazing sunsets. The staff are so friendly and helpful, a real family run, exceptional hotel, a little gem. You wont be disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room a balcony room overlooking the beach and enjoy the beautiful sunsets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katandjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fionamary O, Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Kat & Joe,

Thank you so much for your lovely write up on trip advisor, Kevin & I loved looking after you on your special day, mind you though it only seems like yesterday !

We have posted your wonderful write up on the staff notice Bord to remind the staff how great they are and how they are what makes the Cliff House so special ! so thank you for that !

Kindest Regards.

Yours Sincerely,


Mrs Fiona O Callaghan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

For over 10 years our golf group has enjoyed staying with Kevin and Fiona at the Cliff House. Wonderful service, food and clean rooms. Great hot showers after a long day on the course in typical wet, cold and windy Irish weather. The staff is always ready to help with any and all requests.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

This house is proprietor run with four star quality, amazing views. The menu and reputation for excellent food is Legendary! Slight blip..incorrect photo.. Outside pic on T.A. shows the great Older Attic guest house on upper Main Street..great location but Cliff House is located over the Beach. It is absolutely Amazing and ity`s reputation is infamous... Excellent, classic and solo comfortably arranged bedrooms with Balconies..spotless hotel where both owners and staff have a smile for everybody! They run a consistently excellent hotel, restaurant and bar.!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wanderingirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We stayed here for one night as my friends' wedding reception was on in the hotel. Everything down to the last detail was just perfect. I would highly recommend the Cliff House Hotel as a wedding reception venue. It was just lovely. The hotel is the sister hotel of the Listowel Arms Hotel where the civil ceremony was held - again every little detail was just perfect. Not that we spent much time there but our room was spacious with a view overlooking the entrance which was ideal as we could see the bride and groom arriving from our window and this gave us the right amount of time to head downstairs to greet them on their way in. Ballybunion is a lovely beach location and we got to enjoy a walk along the beach the next day. Again I highly recommend this hotel as a wedding location. We will be back:)

Room Tip: Request a room with a sea view. The hotel faces the sea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DDee_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballybunion
9.2 mi away
Listowel Arms Hotel
Listowel Arms Hotel
#1 of 7 in Listowel
390 reviews
17.8 mi away
Ballyseede Castle
Ballyseede Castle
#4 of 14 in Tralee
1,165 reviews
0 mi away
The 19th Lodge
The 19th Lodge
#1 of 21 in Ballybunion
1,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kilcooly's Country House Hotel
1.1 mi away
The Tides B&B
The Tides B&B
#2 of 21 in Ballybunion
421 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean Bar & Hostel
Ocean Bar & Hostel
#2 of 6 in Ballybunion
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliff House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliff House Hotel

Address: Cliff Road, Ballybunion, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Ballybunion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ballybunion
Price Range: £104 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cliff House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Cliff House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliff Hotel Ballybunion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing