We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Service & Views”
Review of Cliff House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cliff House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ballybunion
Certificate of Excellence
Holywood
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning Service & Views”
Reviewed 24 May 2010

Just had a fantastic weekend staying at the Cliff House hotel, Ballybunion. The service was exceptional and the food excellent. The rooms were better than 3 star quality and the views stunning. Fiona and Kevin could not have been more helpful, a very personal and professional service. Didn't want to leave and can't wait to go back.

Niall, Holywood

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niall01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    49
    18
    11
    10
See reviews for
70
40
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Galway
1 review
Reviewed 21 May 2010

Stayed with a group of golfers over 3 nights and I could'nt say enough good things about the staff & owners of the Cliff House Hotel... lovely food, superb service and experts in homely hospitality.... Located in the heart of town and 2 mins away from the Beautiful Ballybunnion Golf Club... Great, Great service, back again next year in a heartbeat !

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAMD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork
1 review
Reviewed 17 May 2010

We has the most fantastic weekend in Ballybunion, epitomised to the max by the generousity, hospitality, courtesy and professionalism of Fiona and staff in the cliffhouse Hotel. We will be back again in the coming years

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnnyCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife
1 review
Reviewed 18 June 2009

Staff wonderful. Food amazing & cheap. Rooms recently refurbished & comfy. Excellent choice for breakfast. Stayed for 1 night on Saturday 6th June with my boyfriend and my parents. It was my mothers 70th birthday and we had a party earlier at the family home and came to Ballybunion for the night - what a wonderful finish to an excellent party. The receptionist was lovely and even though it was 9pm when we arrived they were more than happy to get us a table in the restaurant (which closed at 9.30pm). Because of special dietary requirements the chef came out to us to see exactly what we could/couldn't eat; he then came back to deliver the food & he came again to ask if we enjoyed it! Even the waitresses were amazed and were wondering where the chef was going as he rarely leaves the kitchen - and it was a very busy night with a 21st birthday party going on at the other end of the room. Then with dessert the restaurant manager and the traditional Irish singer came through and sang Happy Birthday to my mother! It couldn't have been better if it was planned. The food was amazing and only 90euro for dinner & dessert for 4. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BadgerCatFife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2008

Situated in excellent position overlooking the bay,and great sandy beach, a pleasant stroll along the cliff tops to the village with a few pubs and shops, bank,chemist. Not near any other points of Interest so mostly used by Tour groups.
Food is like good home cooking plenty of it, though restaurant cramped
Rooms average. but walls paper thin.At night live musician permeates through 75% of hotel rooms till 23hrs, regardless of requests to tone volume down.Do take ear plugs if you want an early night !!!

  • Liked — leaving
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluenile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2008

We stayed at the Cliff House Hotel on a short trip to County Kerry between weekends in London. Husband played one round of golf at Ballybunion and we spent the other two days exploring the Dingle Peninsula and Killarney National Park. Cliff House Hotel was great. Our room (#35) was comfortable for the two of us and 4-year old daughter. Room and en suite bathroom were smallish but not unreasonably so. Others on this website have posted that their room was not clean. Ours was spotless, and everything was in working order. The Irish breakfasts in the restaurant were excellent, as was the pub food and the evening meal in the restaurant. The pub and restaurant were very accomodating to our 4-year old's culinary whims. There was live Irish music one evening in the pub. Service was very friendly and efficient (except for one somewhat dour front desk clerk). The owner, Fiona O'Callaghan, was very welcoming to us and our daughter. We didn't find parking a problem but then again we were there before high season. The location is terrific - right across the street from the cliffs/beach and a short walk from the high street in Ballybunion with lots of restaurants and pubs. There is a very nice playground on the way into town. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Exceptionally friendly owners; food in pub/restaurant; location
  • Disliked — Limited parking
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rcbjnb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 20 October 2006

20 people on golf trip from London. Everyone on the trip loved the food and the hotel in general and rated it top class.
The entourage also loved the entertainment from Noel in the bar at night.

  • Liked — Clean room with great view and power shower !
  • Disliked — i put on too much weight !
  • Tips/Secrets — Talk to manager for local information
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Johncdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballybunion
9.2 mi away
Listowel Arms Hotel
Listowel Arms Hotel
#1 of 7 in Listowel
375 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Tides B&B
The Tides B&B
#2 of 21 in Ballybunion
413 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kilcooly's Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Teach de Broc
Teach de Broc
#3 of 21 in Ballybunion
188 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harty Costello Town House
Harty Costello Town House
#7 of 21 in Ballybunion
35 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ocean Bar & Hostel
Ocean Bar & Hostel
#3 of 6 in Ballybunion
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliff House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliff House Hotel

Property: Cliff House Hotel
Address: Cliff Road, Ballybunion, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Ballybunion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ballybunion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cliff House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Cliff House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliff Hotel Ballybunion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing