We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“if Carlsberg did hotels......”
Review of Cliff House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cliff House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ballybunion
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“if Carlsberg did hotels......”
Reviewed 22 September 2010

had a brilliant weekend in this hotel for a recent golf break..Fiona and her staff can't do enough for you... nothing is too much trouble for them...all you have to do is ask..well worth a visit...

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colohare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    44
    17
    10
    10
See reviews for
57
36
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2010

lovely cosy bar good food but room we had was small and a bit shabby.loved the beach which is five minutes steep walk.our son had an ocean view with a balcony so recommend always to ask for one.some members of our family had single rooms which were tiny.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaynesslater45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2010

NIce hotel. Rooms are a bit shabby in 'old' part of the hotel ( horribly stained carpet). Ask for a balcony room,as they have stunning views of the ocean. Food is pretty good overall. Had the 'battered ticka chicken for a main cource one evening and this was almost inedible..really bad; but the starter and dessert were great.
Service can be slow in the restaurant and the staff look and act a bit comatosed.One morning all the tables were waiting to be cleared and there were three waitresses just strolling around aimlessly. I had to clear our own table. The tables were still waiting to be cleared as we departed at 9.30. When leaving, I watched as another lady had to do the same as I. A hot poker needs to be placed under these guys to get them to do a bit of work! Lovely location, right beside the beach. Fantastic views from the restaurant.
Bar staff were excellent.Nice entertainment at night . Would definately return.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cassiopeia1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tipperary, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2010

I am just back from a 3 night surfing trip to Ballybunion with my partner and 2 friends, all women in our forties. We were trilled to get rooms on the second floor with a spectacular view of the beach. The staff could not have been friendlier or more helpful. Lovely bar and the resident musician was very enjoyable. The restaurant looks onto the beach and the food was delicious. Parking is limited but plenty nearby if the designated area is full. The rooms could definitely have been cleaner especially the carpet., It was clearly dusty and was not hoovered for the 3 days we were there which was surprising. Bins and towels were replaced while we were at breakfast each morning and the bed was pulled up and that was about the extent of the daily room service. No hair dryers, irons or safe facilities provided in the rooms but well stocked with coffee/tea facilities.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank watchta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2010

I stayed here last weekend with a group of 10 golfers. For us, it was ideal and Fiona and her team could not have been more friendly and helpful (even organised a private surf lesson for two of our group post golf Saturday!). The Cliff House has a decent sized bar, superb restaurant (best in town for a group of golfers) and is about 5 mins walk from the main street in Ballybunion. We ate there on Saturday night as part of a package and the food and service was top class. If you are a group of lads considering playing Ballybunion then The Cliff House is ideal and great value too. The only downside is that parking on-site is tight. We will be back.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimmytheLaoisMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wicklow
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2010

My sister and I were astounded at the amazing hospitality, friendliness, efficiency and overall professionalism of the staff at Cliff House Hotel. Ashford Castle staff could learn a lot from Fiona and her team. Thank you all for making our stay so enjoyable and we will certainly recommend Cliff House Hotel to our friends and work colleagues.

Dympna Stack (Wicklow)

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dympnaWicklow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2010

Adrian and me booked to stay 2 nights at the Cliff House to enable us to play the 2 courses at Ballybunnion.. From the first minute to the last Fiona and her staff could not do enough for us. Excellent food and friendly staff especially Rachel she is so bubbly. Fiona is a very hardworking owner who never rests making sure the staff are never idle. We would recommend this Hotel to anyone especially Golfers.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WillieBhoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballybunion
9.2 mi away
Listowel Arms Hotel
Listowel Arms Hotel
#1 of 7 in Listowel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Tides B&B
The Tides B&B
#2 of 21 in Ballybunion
5.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
0.7 mi away
The 19th Lodge
The 19th Lodge
#1 of 21 in Ballybunion
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kilcooly's Country House Hotel
1.3 mi away
Teach de Broc
Teach de Broc
#3 of 21 in Ballybunion
5.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cashen Course House
Cashen Course House
#5 of 21 in Ballybunion
5.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliff House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliff House Hotel

Property: Cliff House Hotel
Address: Cliff Road, Ballybunion, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Ballybunion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ballybunion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cliff House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Cliff House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliff Hotel Ballybunion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing