We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best”
Review of Teach de Broc

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Teach de Broc
Ranked #3 of 21 Ballybunion B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Portlaoise
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Best”
Reviewed 31 October 2012

We booked this Hotel because it was so near Ballybunion Golf Course. It exceeded our expectations in every regard. When one finds yourself sick and away from home it can be a daunting experience. Aoife & Seamus did everything possible to help us. They were welcoming, friendly and extremely helpful. The hotel is comfortable and the food excellent.We look forward to returning next year and hopefully get to play Ballybunion golf Course this time.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    22
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
22
52
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, CT
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2012

For anyone wanting to experience true Irish hospitality, this is the place. The Brock family make you so welcome that you feel as though you are staying with good friends. Everything is done for your comfort without being overbearing or pretentious. For golfers, Teach de Broc is unbeatable. Unlike most Irish establishments, it serves an early breakfast for those who want to get out on the links and it has a bar and a dinner menu for those too tired to move at the end of a day! It truly is a stone's throw from the entrance to Ballybunion, which in addition to two challenging golf courses has wonderful sandy beaches.

This was our third stay over nine years and we can only say that each time we were sorry to leave this "home away from home".

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheila J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
267 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

We had a spacious room on the first floor, clean and comfortable. The staff and owners were warm, welcoming and helpful. Nothing fancy, but perfect for weary travellers and keen golfers. Wifi was available and CNN on the lounge's tv.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary Frances S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poway, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012

Loved our stay at this hotel which is a stone's throw from Ballybunion links course.

The innkeepers, Shamus and Aiofa, as well as the rest of the knowledgeable staff made this lodging experience one of our best. Not only would I rate them high in service, but their friendly attitude and helpfulness toward all the guests made me feel like we had known this staff for many years. Another big plus was the Teach de Broc restaurant offered the best food during our three week golf trip through south west Ireland. If you love lamb, theirs is wonderful with some of the best fish dishes we tasted in Ireland. I came back to the US comparing Teach de Broc restaurant with some of the best restaurants in the US.

The rooms were very nicely appointed, clean and up to date.

Room Tip: As far as I could tell all the rooms were on the second floor and I only saw our room. The room had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maggiephotonut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
270 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Clean, comfortable & new. Directly down the driveway from Ballybunion Golf Course and directly across the street from the Ballybunion driving range. A true Irish experience. Owned and fully operated by Aoife & Seamus Brock. They are hands-on and assure that everything during your stay is perfect. Breakfast, cooked by Seamus, is perfect. Complete menu. Drinks in the living room as peaceful and comfortable as it gets. Dinner excellent with a wide range of choices. The stay at Teach de Broc was one of the highlights of our Irish Golf trip. Staying at this guest house gives a real feel of Ireland. Can't rate it high enough - simply perfect.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doubleeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rensselaer, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Wonderful experience. We were an hour late arriving, and they kept the restaurant open for us and fed us a full dinner! Friendly, family owned and run facility. Shamus and Aiofa are excellent hosts. They socialized with us in their bar after dinner and in the living room before and after dinner. The rooms were spacious and clean. The bathrooms were spotless and updated with excellent facilities.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012 via mobile

What a great place! My friends and I have been coming here for ten years and it is just terrific. Right next door to the great Ballybunion golf club with the practice range just across the road so the position is perfect. But the real treat at Teach de Broc is the Irish hospitality. Seamus and Aoife are wonderful hosts with nothing too much trouble. Just visit!

Stayed July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ballybunion hotels
1.3 mi away
Cliff House Hotel
Cliff House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ballybunion
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.7 mi away
The 19th Lodge
The 19th Lodge
#1 of 21 in Ballybunion
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Tides B&B
The Tides B&B
#2 of 21 in Ballybunion
5.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cashen Course House
Cashen Course House
#5 of 21 in Ballybunion
5.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kilcooly's Country House Hotel
2.2 mi away
Seashore B&B
Seashore B&B
#6 of 21 in Ballybunion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Teach de Broc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Teach de Broc

Property: Teach de Broc
Address: Link Road, Ballybunion, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Ballybunion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Ballybunion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Teach de Broc 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a popular restaurant and fully stocked bar, Teach de Broc is located directly across from Ballybunion's world-famous golf courses and driving range. Tralee and Dooks golf courses are a 40-minute drive away from the house. The elegantly decorated rooms all offer an en suite bathroom with free toiletries and a hairdryer, freshly laundered bed linen and hypo-allergenic pillows. Each room also provides free bottled water, free Wi-Fi, and cable TV. A laundry service is available daily. Award-winning full Irish and buffet breakfasts are offered at Teach de Broc, while Strollers Bistro uses fresh ingredients and local seafood in its varied and often-changing menu. Oven-fired pizzas are also available each day. Teach de Broc is located right next to Ballybunion Old Course and Ballybunion Cashen Course, and can arrange tee times for guests. The beautiful beach is located just a short walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Superbreak UK, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Teach de Broc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing