We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything was perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cashen Course House
Ranked #5 of 21 Ballybunion B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 September 2011

We are not golfers, but sailors who love the ocean. We have stayed at dozens of B&B's, and this was absolutely the best ever for facilities, service and price. Our room and bath were spacious and phenomenal--luxurious bed and linens, huge windows, whirlpool tub and tiled shower. The common areas are elegant. John and Deirdre are so gracious and breakfasts are made-to-order terrific. The location is serene and peaceful, and you are so close to the beautiful beaches of Ballybunion. Can't imagine a better place to settle into while you explore County Kerry.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sue b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2011

We went here so my husband could play golf at the famed Ballybunion golf course. Cashen House was right across the street and down the road. The owners made all his golf reservations and even put it on our room bill which just made things easier. The Cashen House is beautiful. Our room was huge and bright. The bathroom was the same with a lovely jacuzzi tub along with a shower. Their dining room features pictures of celebrities who played the course and the decor was perfect. Breakfast was pretty much whatever you wanted and tons of it! They could not have been more accommodating! It was just luxury for a great price. Make sure to take the scenic walk along the beaches--just beautiful!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ronjoduffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2011

Two of us on a golf trip through Ireland stayed at the Cashen House for a couple nights. The hospitality was exceptional and the rooms were spacious, clean and practical. We got great recommendations for dinners, and the breakfast was very, very good. Perfect location for Ballybunion golf club and the town as well. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank illinois59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2011

We booked the superior room with spa (#7)...room and ensuite were huge..certainly achieved the 'wow factor'. Great value for money. Bed comfortable and room very clean. A great place to stay for golfers as it's within walking distance to the club house. The staff were friendly and obliging. Easy parking. Wi fi connection available but not strong – laptop ok, iPad didn’t connect. Wouldn't hesitate to book this B&B again - well worth the money.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JulieFerrara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2008

I recently vacationed in Ireland with my husband and our two adult sons. The highlight of our trip was playing golf at the famed Ballybunion Golf Course. Since the town is so small I wasn't expecting much in terms of luxurious accommodations. Boy was I surprised! The Cashen Course House is magnificent!!! It's located directly across a tiny lane from the golf course, a very short stroll to a spectacular beach and a mere stretch of the legs to the tiny town itself which is as cute as can be. Our beautifully appointed rooms were huge, I'm guessing at least 18 feet by 30 feet, with two queen beds, a desk and a sitting area with a comfy leather couch. The very large bathroom was beautifully tiled and luxurious. The property seems to be only a year or two old and is spotless. The owners, John and Deidre and their children, were very welcoming and helpful. And it 's very reasonably priced. And all of this is surrounded by some of the most spectacular landscape we've ever seen! You will love it!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Bermuda081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2008

This was our second trip to Ballybunion, and I was disappointed that our first choice guesthouse (Teach de Broc, where we'd stayed previously) was full. I didn't think TdB could be topped, but I was about to be pleasantly surprised.
Cashen Course House is a large, sprawling detached house, with a great big driveway in front of it, separated only by a tiny little dead-end road, from the magnificent Cashen Course at Ballybunion Golf Club. However, the size of the house from the outside could not prepare me for the massive room we were shown to. It had a double bed, and 2 other single beds, and the bathroom had a large shower cubicle with power shower, 2-person jacuzzi tub and 2 sinks as well.
Deirdre was a very welcoming host, and my 11-month-old daughter had a splendid time playing with her.
Breakfast is served from 6am, and the buffet table had a good spread of what you'd expect: cereals, fruit, irish bread, cheese etc. Hot service is also offered, with a choice of irish fry-up, pancakes, french toast, and some others, all served in big quantities.
I was happy to discover that the beds were comfortable, being firm with good firm pillows as well, none of that crappy, about-to-die flat and empty kind you frequently find fobbed onto you on your travels.
The bathroom was also well stocked with shampoo, lotion, soap, cotton buds and balls, something I don't even find in luxury hotels, let alone a guesthouse.
Maybe the only thing I could have done with was a tea caddy, where I could have boiled my own water/tea.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leongis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2007

We recently spent 3 nights at Cashen Course House. Among our party of 3 couples, there were 3 golfers (the men) and 3 non-golfers (the ladies). The location of this B&B is perfect for playing Ballybunion. The rooms and bathrooms were huge and clean. Our room (#9) had 2 beds (a large bed and a small bed), a leather sofa, a large dresser, a large armoire, a small table w/ 2 chairs, a vanity w/ chair and much more! We had a great view of the golf course. Breakfasts were great and we enjoyed the honor bar in the guest lounge since there were no pubs within walking distance. We rarely saw our hosts with the exception of John, who took care of us during breakfast. Overall, this was a great place to stay for golf at Ballybunion.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Novicecruiser1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ballybunion hotels
0.7 mi away
Cliff House Hotel
Cliff House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ballybunion
192 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Tides B&B
The Tides B&B
#2 of 21 in Ballybunion
421 reviews
0 mi away
The 19th Lodge
The 19th Lodge
#1 of 21 in Ballybunion
1,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Teach de Broc
Teach de Broc
#3 of 21 in Ballybunion
192 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ocean Bar & Hostel
Ocean Bar & Hostel
#2 of 6 in Ballybunion
25 reviews
0.5 mi away
Harty Costello Town House
Harty Costello Town House
#7 of 21 in Ballybunion
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cashen Course House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cashen Course House

Address: Golf Links, Ballybunion, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Ballybunion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Ballybunion
Price Range: £74 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cashen Course House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run guesthouse overlooking Ballybunion's famous golf course, boasting spectacular views of the golf links, Cashen River and surrounding countryside. Tee times can be arranged for Ballybunion and local golf courses. Relax and unwind on a walk of Ballybunion's beautiful sandy beaches. We have 12 spacious bedrooms including suites with jacuzzi baths, a large comfortable lounge with baby grand piano and minibar and beautiful dining room. Perfect getaway location for groups, couples or families. Ample parking available for buses and cars, a stone's throw from the clubhouse and a short stroll into town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Cashen Course House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing