We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a a fantastic experience”
Review of The 19th Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The 19th Lodge
Ranked #1 of 21 Ballybunion B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 June 2009

This Lodge excedes all expectations. From check in to check out, Mary and James served our every wish with a smile and expediently. They were more than helpful and the restaurant reservations they made for us were great. The rooms were bright, cheery and CLEAN. The lounge provided a great venue for our group to relax and to recount our day's golf after dinner. After a wonderful sleep on a most comfortable bed, we had a great breakfast which was served quickly as we were on a tight schedule.

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank golfbuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,166)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,044 - 1,050 of 1,166 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2009

After a long day working at the Irish Seniors it was so good to come "home" to a warm welcome from Mark and James or one of their lovely children. Nothing was was any trouble - it was simply the most delightful place, scrummy breakfasts and a great shower! I do hope to go back and visit very soon.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cletters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2009

There is no other guesthouse in the country to rival the 19th Lodge in Ballybunion. It was recommended to me by a friend who had stayed there previously and he was singing its praises for the rest of the summer!
Immediately upon arrival I was greeted warmly by James & Mary Beasley who welcomed me into their luxurious home. The foyer is like that of a 5 star hotel. Very plush but with a warm, homely feel to it. 19th Lodge has successfully fused all the desirable qualities of a hotel with a guesthouse. The rooms were incredibly spacious, comfortable and clean. I had the most wonderful sunset views from my room window in the evening. The showers of the en-suite have to be experienced to be believed!!! I felt as if I had been transported to a spa! I must have stayed in that power shower for an hour!
How fortuitous I felt to be just a stones throw away from the Golf Course and many other local amenities which James kindly directed me to.
And as for the breakfast - I must admit I am very particular about my food - but Mary was most obliging and went out of her way to suit my fussy self, clearly taking great pride in the sumptuous breakfasts prepared for each guest. I have never written a comment before on a guesthouse but I felt compelled to share this hidden gem with the rest of the world - 19th Lodge really was the highlight of my trip and I plan to return there again very soon :)

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gra51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2009

Mary and Jame could not have been more hospitable. I would recomment the 19th Lodge to anyone. The location near Ballybunion is an added plus. The shower was great and rivaled the ones at Pine Valley Golf Club.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank propop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2009

I can not say enough nice things about The 19th Lodge, Mary or James. The accommodations were first class, the hospitality was second to none, the water pressure in the showers may be the best in Europe, and don't miss Mary's french toast. Whether you’re in Ballybunion for golf or just in the area on your travels this is unquestionably the place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JustSomeGuyFromSavGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2009

Really beautuful B&B right across from the old course at Ballybunion. Room was clean, nicely furnished and the shower was one of the best I've experienced in travelling in Ireland for 15 years. The best part of our experience was James and Mary Beasley. They were really friendly and very hospitable. They even helped me track down some lost luggage. Our breakfast in the morning was quite good with many choices.
I highly recommend the 19th Hole Lodge. I'll be back next year.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dwgolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2009

My wife and I showed up at the last minute for a 4 night stay. Our previous B&B, the Tides Guesthouse, failed to inform us they were closed due to a ruptured water pipe which caused some significant damage. Jim and Mary were so accommodating though. It was like being at home. We stayed in the Cashen Suite, which apparently, Tom Watson stays here when he's in the area. Everything about the experience was pleasant from the great service, setting up tee times, decent breakfast choices (we recommend the french toast), and a very clean, luxurious room. Jim and Mary went through exhaustive efforts to make sure every detail was perfect and we very much appreciated them and their hospitality. We agree that none of the other 4 B&B's we stayed at in the area even came close to the standard the 19th Lodge set.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LukeJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballybunion
0.0 mi away
Cliff House Hotel
Cliff House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ballybunion
191 reviews
0.0 mi away
Listowel Arms Hotel
Listowel Arms Hotel
#1 of 7 in Listowel
383 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Tides B&B
The Tides B&B
#2 of 21 in Ballybunion
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Teach de Broc
Teach de Broc
#3 of 21 in Ballybunion
190 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cashen Course House
Cashen Course House
#5 of 21 in Ballybunion
70 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kilcooly's Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The 19th Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The 19th Lodge

Address: The 19th Lodge The 19th Lodge The 19th Lodge Golf Links Rd, Ballybunion, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Ballybunion
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Ballybunion
Price Range: £85 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The 19th Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 19th Lodge is a Golfers’ Paradise. This Luxurious 4 Star boutique-style guest house enjoys an enviable location directly opposite Ballybunion Links and is home to one of the great names in golf, Mr. Tom Watson, when in town. Guaranteed tee times at Ballybunion for residents. Jacuzzi tubs and power-assisted showers to a dedicated computer for guests' needs with wireless access throughout. Residents' lounge + wine bar + golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The 19th Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
19th Hotel Ballybunion
The 19th Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing