We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hosts and Accomodations” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kilcooly's Country House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kilcooly's Country House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 21 Ballybunion B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Hosts and Accomodations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

I stayed here twice. Once with my sons and the second week with 19 friends on a golf trip. We recieved the same personal and excellent service from owners Joan and John as well as from their excellent staff. Everyone in our golf group concurred that this was the best and most fun of the five different hotels we stayed at during our 8 days in Ireland. We will definetly be back as Joan and John go above and beyound to make your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. The hotel,bar and restaurant are homey and real Ireland.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gmoore0125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    22
    5
    3
    3
See reviews for
38
35
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

A great location and the hotel was immaculate
The hosts were delightful and the food consist.ently of high quality.
We had an excellent few days and will definately be back to enjoy this fine part of Ireland.
Great golf within 5 minutes at Ballybunnion , a beautiful beach for a great way to walk off a super Irish breakfast .
Look forward to the next trip

Joe Gallagher

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joe0801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2011

Kilcooly's is centrally located and John and Joan are gracious and enthusiastic hosts. The rooms are spacious and the staff is attentive. We were 4 for a golf trip and everything ws great.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scrowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollywood, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2011

Myself and three other golfers stayed for 4 nights in May and the accomdations were great and the service and food was outstanding. I would recomend it to antone thanks John for a great stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john34296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2011

Arrived late but the staff kept the restaurant open until we had settled in. Great chowder and that came from our 2 Bostonians. John O'Connor was a professional and charming host who provided great flexibility to us for our early golf starts.
John's staff are top class; professional, friendly and no request was too much trouble..
Great room: spacious and spotless.
And the breakfasts were top drawer........recommend the porridge and honey to keep you going all day.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jameson12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollywood, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2011

I stayed with 3 other golfers at this location from 5/14 to 5/17th, 2011. John & Joan O'Connor are both great host as were allo their staff ( Denise, Michael etc,) we enjoyed their converstion, food and accomodations and would recommend this place to any golfers I know going to the Ballybunion area. we felt at home there and everyone was sincere and could not do enough to make our stay enjoyable. Highly recommended and will stay there again on my next trip to the area.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kiddocmhs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2010

This place was pwerfect for our golf trip! John and Joan were great hosts and saw to our every need, including laundry. The food was excellant and the pub was very relaxing. This hotel allows for you to be close to both Ballybunion and Tralee courses. I can't say enough about this place. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheesehead_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ballybunion hotels
0.1 mi away
Cliff House Hotel
Cliff House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ballybunion
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Tides B&B
The Tides B&B
#2 of 21 in Ballybunion
5.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
0.6 mi away
The 19th Lodge
The 19th Lodge
#1 of 21 in Ballybunion
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Teach de Broc
Teach de Broc
#3 of 21 in Ballybunion
5.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cashen Course House
Cashen Course House
#5 of 21 in Ballybunion
5.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Astor B&B
The Astor B&B
#8 of 21 in Ballybunion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilcooly's Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilcooly's Country House Hotel

Property: Kilcooly's Country House Hotel
Address: Main Street | Kerry, Ballybunion, Ireland (Formerly Iragh Ti Connor)
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Ballybunion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Ballybunion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kilcooly's Country House, formerly known as Iragh Ti Connor. John &; Joan O'Connor invite you to relax in their luxury country house. The 19th-century building has recently been refurbished to the highest standard with all modern conveniences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Kilcooly's Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing