We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'Haven of Tranquility'”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kilcooly's Country House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 21 Ballybunion B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I was in Kilcooly's Country House for dinner with a few friends recently. We really enjoyed our meal. The food was delicious and the staff were so friendly. It is a lovely tranquil place to go with beautiful surroundings. I will be giving Kilcooly house another visit on my next trip to Ballybunion.
Would recommend highly.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Marie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 184 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014

I was in ballybunion for the weekend and went to Kilcoolys for Sunday Lunch, The staff were very friendly. It took 30min from when the starter arrived to when the main arrived at the table. It arrived and then had to ask for the veg. On the plates there wasn't a lot of potatoes and asked for more which they charged €3.50 for a small portion. Was very pricey so will not be going back there again.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Siobhan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

If you are traveling through or staying in Ballybunion, Kilcooly's Country House has a very good restaurant, pub and veranda to enjoy a beverage and/or a bite to eat. The old hotel atmosphere is quiet and relaxed along with a wait staff that is cordial. We enjoyed the glass enclosed veranda overlooking the garden and parts of the town square. For USA travelers, look for the statue of an American President in Ballybunion Square!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank LizEd243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Part of me does not want to write a review of here as I don’t want to spoil the secret that is Kilcoolys.
I have been here on several occasions when I am looking for some peace, quiet and to recharge the batteries .
The accommodation is quiet and peaceful and as it’s a small venue you feel totally relaxed from the moment you arrive. The area generally is fantastic the only problem is where to go to get the best views on the day as there are so many places to choose from.
Well done guys and am looking forward to my next visit already.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Was down for wedding that was held n hotel as a civil ceremony
Hats off to all you in Kilcoolys . We wanted for nothing excellent food service venue and rooms but most of all the sat night craic in the bar with the trad music, you are all what Irish hospitality is about, cannot wait to come back asap

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keepingit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

There is no better place in the world than Ballybunion. A large bit of this is due to the O'Connors who are the highly talented and welcoming proprietors of the Kilcooly's Inn. This was my second visit and next year when I come I will definitely stay at Kilcooly's again. The pub is everything you imagine an Irish pub to be. It is warm, inviting and every Guinness is poured using the local pull. I first went to Ballybunion to play golf, and now I go to play golf and to celebrate life at Kilcooly's.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brownwasthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We met up with old friends al Kilcooleys for Sunday lunch. We all enjoyed our meal, and the
service was good. This is a lovely period house, and it is excellently run by the family. We return at every opportunity.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank johnmossy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ballybunion hotels
0.2 mi away
Cliff House Hotel
Cliff House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ballybunion
192 reviews
0 mi away
The 19th Lodge
The 19th Lodge
#1 of 21 in Ballybunion
1,170 reviews
1.2 mi away
Teach de Broc
Teach de Broc
#3 of 21 in Ballybunion
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Tides B&B
The Tides B&B
#2 of 21 in Ballybunion
421 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cashen Course House
Cashen Course House
#5 of 21 in Ballybunion
71 reviews
0 mi away
Ocean Bar & Hostel
Ocean Bar & Hostel
#2 of 6 in Ballybunion
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilcooly's Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilcooly's Country House Hotel

Address: Main Street | Kerry, Ballybunion, Ireland (Formerly Iragh Ti Connor)
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Ballybunion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Ballybunion
Price Range: £104 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kilcooly's Country House, formerly known as Iragh Ti Connor. John &; Joan O'Connor invite you to relax in their luxury country house. The 19th-century building has recently been refurbished to the highest standard with all modern conveniences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Kilcooly's Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing