We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks chef”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kilcooly's Country House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 21 Ballybunion B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Didn't have a reservation but it was very quiet at around 6pm on Sunday last when three of us popped in for main courses. Good food. Friendly service. Staff of four worked the bar and restaurant without a fuss.
Sea bass extremely good, steak sandwich very tasty and the fillet steak was perfect. Sun-dried tomatoes so much better in a side salad than the usual tasteless cherry variety.
Hats off to the chef who dealt very efficiently with some special requests due to allergy issues. It's refreshing when the chef can suggest ideas and compromises rather than waiting for the customer to try to come up with the answers all the time, as it all too often the case.
Happy to recommend Kilcooly's and hope to return.
One small gripe – the mobile blackboards featuring the specials are a little cumbersome and difficult to read when viewed at close range when the are brought to the table. A separate handwritten sheet might be an alternative or let the service staff tell the customers what the specials are

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank BuzzardBArnold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 184 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014

Group of 8 guys from all over US spent four nights at Kilcooly's Country House and had a great time. Owners John and Joan were fantastic and overly accommodating. Great breakfasts every morning before hitting the links, friendly, fun bar in the evening and great food in the main restaurant.

Located in the heart of Ballybunion and five minutes from the fantastic Ballybunion Golf Club this little inn is highly recommended.

Kilcooly's was our home base as we played courses in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank RANGER1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Wonderful owners and staff, made to feel really welcome,.....Lovely big spacious room, with great facilities. the food in the restaurant was excellent, lovely Sunday lunch, compete with any 5* fine dining resturant. Something for everyone and great fresh daily specials. Great entertainment in the night with wonderful Irish music.

Room Tip: Must eat in the resturant., 5 minutes walk to the beach and on the stop step to the main attractions...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaneLaferla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Travelled with 7 other golfers/friends and had a wonderful time. Nice, clean, fun hotel and restaurant. Food is very good. Service Excellent. Bar charming. Proprietor Joan is hands on with everything. Perfect location down the street from Ballybunion golf club, and down the road from Doonbeg. The town is great with a better than expected weekend nightlife, all within walking distance of 1-5 minutes. Great bars and music.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Greg T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I was in Kilcooly's Country House for dinner with a few friends recently. We really enjoyed our meal. The food was delicious and the staff were so friendly. It is a lovely tranquil place to go with beautiful surroundings. I will be giving Kilcooly house another visit on my next trip to Ballybunion.
Would recommend highly.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Marie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I was in ballybunion for the weekend and went to Kilcoolys for Sunday Lunch, The staff were very friendly. It took 30min from when the starter arrived to when the main arrived at the table. It arrived and then had to ask for the veg. On the plates there wasn't a lot of potatoes and asked for more which they charged €3.50 for a small portion. Was very pricey so will not be going back there again.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Siobhan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

If you are traveling through or staying in Ballybunion, Kilcooly's Country House has a very good restaurant, pub and veranda to enjoy a beverage and/or a bite to eat. The old hotel atmosphere is quiet and relaxed along with a wait staff that is cordial. We enjoyed the glass enclosed veranda overlooking the garden and parts of the town square. For USA travelers, look for the statue of an American President in Ballybunion Square!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank LizEd243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ballybunion hotels
0.2 mi away
Cliff House Hotel
Cliff House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ballybunion
192 reviews
0 mi away
The 19th Lodge
The 19th Lodge
#1 of 21 in Ballybunion
1,170 reviews
1.2 mi away
Teach de Broc
Teach de Broc
#3 of 21 in Ballybunion
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Tides B&B
The Tides B&B
#2 of 21 in Ballybunion
421 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cashen Course House
Cashen Course House
#5 of 21 in Ballybunion
71 reviews
0 mi away
Ocean Bar & Hostel
Ocean Bar & Hostel
#2 of 6 in Ballybunion
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilcooly's Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilcooly's Country House Hotel

Address: Main Street | Kerry, Ballybunion, Ireland (Formerly Iragh Ti Connor)
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Ballybunion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Ballybunion
Price Range: £104 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kilcooly's Country House, formerly known as Iragh Ti Connor. John &; Joan O'Connor invite you to relax in their luxury country house. The 19th-century building has recently been refurbished to the highest standard with all modern conveniences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Kilcooly's Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing